We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Day at Villa Azalea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm

Save Saved
You added Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Barra de Navidad Km. 184., Puerto Vallarta 48400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Day at Villa Azalea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Last week spent the day at Villa Azalea. I love traveling, and grow most of our own produce organically. in CA. Villa Azalea tapped into both of my favorite things! The farm was amazing, tomatoes, lettuce, carrots, onions, asparagus, celery, and herbs. We harvested the produce and they prepared a 3 course lunch for us. Lunch was set up riverside, and began with a crisp flavorful salad harvested by us, followed by a chicken lasagna made with the most delicate pasta that melted in your mouth, filled with spinach, poblano chilies, cheese, and a white sauce, topped off with a dessert a citrus tiaramisu.

The rest of the day was spent exploring the grounds, and relaxing poolside, or riverside or in the hammock amongst the trees. They have chickens, turkey's and a large pond that they raise talapia in. There were a group of Orange Faced Parakeets that were hanging out in the trees on the grounds for most of the afternoon.

Looking forward to staying in the lovely well appointed rooms next Feb. We will definitely be taking the cooking classes in the outdoor kitchen. Hope they will teach us how to make the lasagna!

If you like any of these: comfort, great food, growing food, a birder then this is your paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

An enchanting location that is a great getaway from the beaches of Vallarta. Dulce, the owner, greets her guest with a charm and flair that is second to none. Located near the botanical gardens, lunch is a must if you are not staying overnight as we did. Here you pick a salad that you will relish! Be sure to also sample the house tequila....and close off your meal with a keelime pie that will please even the most disconcerting pallet

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Before staying at Villa Azalea, I had no idea what to expect in terms of the accommodations and food. There are a lot of times where the photos and description look great, but end up disappointing. This is not one of those experiences.

It may sound cliche, but the property is even more beautiful and pristine than it looks in the photos. As someone who is leery about cleanliness, everything was spotless.

Dulce, the proprietor, goes above and beyond to make sure that you have a fabulous stay. The grounds are gorgeous and lush and I loved looking at all the flowering trees and her herbs.
The food is definitely a reason to stay. Coming from San Francisco, I'm pretty spoiled with the availability of fresh and varied ingredients, but her cooking was amazing. Breakfast may have been my favorite meal of the day, although it was all scrumptious. She always sets it somewhere idyllic on the property - and it starts with the fresh juice of the day, followed by flaky, warm croissants and your choice of three homemade jams, followed by delicious eggs.

Definitely book at Villa Azalea for a one of a kind experience. The personal attention, the customized food and the tranquility makes for a truly wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I had the good fortune to visit Villa Azalea for an afternoon tour and gourmet meal. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the owner, Dulce, who gave us a tour of the grounds and showed us their extensive plantings of native vegetation including many fruit and nut trees. She also led us through a lovely organic vegetable garden full of tomatoes, lettuce, fennel, carrots, herbs, and so much more and encouraged us to pick the ingredients for our future salad.
The villa itself and the surrounding grounds are simply spectacular. The villa is expansive, bold with color and filled with extraordinary art - each room decorated perfectly. I actually was rather awestruck.
After a taste of the villa's own tequila, Dulce served us a late lunch that was absolutely gourmet delicious. Our luncheon setting was a table right by the side of a sweet flowing river and couldn't have been more picuresque.
We did not spend the night, but I can imagine the luxury and hospitality that would be part of that experience. As it was, both my husband and I found the afternoon's excursion most memorable. I recommend the Villa Azalea most highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Azalea for two nights recently, and were delighted by the hospitality and so impressed by the hard work and imagination that has gone into this property. The setting is wonderful, with a small river tumbling down the mountainside at the lower edge of the garden. The main villa contains both public spaces and private rooms and suites. All beautifully decorated, clean, and comfortable - justifiably luxury accommodations. The grounds and gardens are extensive, beautifully laid out, and planted with a huge variety of fruit trees, many of them labeled.
There are three large shade houses where a wide variety of organic vegetables and herbs are cultivated.
Those fruits, vegetables and herbs show up immediately for your pleasure in the form of blended drinks, refreshing mint water, and delicious meals. Our table was set in a new and interesting location for each meal. When we decided to make an expedition to the beach, a picnic lunch appeared within minutes.
Dulce, the owner, noticed our interest in Mexican cuisine, and suggested that she arrange a cooking class for us with a chef/instructor. This several hour cooking extravaganza happened in Villa Azalea's outdoor kitchen, using beets, avocados, herbs, nopales and many other ingredients grown on the grounds. The gracious Chef Wendy was an excellent teacher. We made three amazing dishes - our best ever cooking class experience.
We highly recommend the Villa Azalea. It is easy to get there from Puerta Vallarta, and the mountain setting makes an invigorating change from the beach hotels. The only way you could get a better value for your luxury hotel dollar would be if there were more hours in the day. We didn't even have time to sit by the pool, explore the grounds, eat all that good food. Thank you to Dulce and her staff for the wonderful service, and for sharing the rich and beautiful environment you have created.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a beautifull place! It's a lovely boutique hotel, surrounded by organic fruit and vegetable gardens. We went to take a tour of the grounds and were taken and shown around by the owner herself. There is a fantastic array of fruit trees. There is also a creek running thru the back of the property, that is suitable for swimming. The hotel is modern, and decorated with great works of art, sculptures as well as paintings. They have a gift shop with homemade jams and their own brand of tequila. As a guest you can pick whatever fruits and vegies you want and the kitchen will prepare them for your meal. They also offer cooking classes. You can stay at the hotel and enjoy all the ammenaties or get a day pass and spend the day, or even just come for a tour of the grounds and the property for a nominal fee like we did and that also includes a fabulous homemade refreshing drink.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and i spent the weekend here recently to celebrate our 5th Anniversary. Wow! What an amazing place. We were first surprised how easy it is to get to from Puerto Vallarta. It is only two kilometers south of the Botanical Gardens. We drove but you could take the El Tutio bus there as well. The grounds are gorgeous. We were met by Dulce who was very welcoming. She showed us to our suite (STUNNING!) and then offered us a fresh lime water with basil. Delicious! We were then showed around the grounds and organic farm and then brought to the "outdoor" kitchen for cooking classes with her chef, Wendy. We were able to pick some fruits and vegetables to use in our creations. We learned how to make fresh cheese- salsas: A delightful roasted chile sauce from Acapulco that we used on check wrapped in banana leaf and rosa mole that we used for our salmon. We also learned how to make a nopal salad to use with our fresh cheese.The class was very well planned and lunch was fabulous. Even my husband, a non-cook loved it!

Later we went back to our room which was gorgeous. Super clean, large and comfy. Big walk-in closet, flat screen TV with HUGE video library, beautiful art all over, in our room and throughout the hotel and media room. The bathroom was very nice with great amenities (no hair dryer) and nice linens. The bed....heavenly! Most comfortable bed in Vallarta.

We had a continental breakfast the next morning,. We lounged at the pool and played in the river - later we took a trip to El Tuito for a few hours of wandering, lunch and some shopping. We spent the rest of the day relaxing. We enjoyed two dinners at Villa Azalea. Both were EXCELLENT and we had great wine, Both meals were very romantic and we loved sitting on the balcony and listening to the river, as well as the table inside under the stars, next to the "black pool" and surrounded by art. We cannot say enough about Villa Azalea. It was peaceful, blissful, romantic and the service was outstanding! We highly recommend it to anyone looking for a couple of days away.

Room Tip: Ask what they have available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Brenda, it was great to have you with us! Thanks for sharing those amazing pictures of your stay. We are really grateful that you accepted to participate in the cooking class & it's great to know that you and your husband enjoyed the experience so much. Congratulations again for your anniversary. Hope you come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm

Address: Carretera Barra de Navidad Km. 184., Puerto Vallarta 48400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a small luxury hotel with world class service at Villa Azalea, an intimate, secluded property, located 20 miles south of Puerto Vallarta, in western Mexico; considered as one of the best resorts in Puerto Vallarta. Come and enjoy this couples oriented hotel, designed for the most demanding travelers as it was first conceived by its owner, a Swiss entrepreneur who has invested mind, heart and efforts for years and offer us now: Villa Azalea, a place that blends elegance, nature and good taste for the most eco friendly, relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Azalea, Inn & Organic Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.