We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our absolute favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuale Paradise

Cuale Paradise
manantial #372 Col. Buenos Aires, Puerto Vallarta 48370, Mexico
322 222 4225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cualeparadise@yahoo.com
Bedford
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our absolute favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our every trip to Puerto Vallarta includes numerous stops to eat here. The food is excellent (try the Olympia Special) and the people the friendliest, warmest and most accomodating. It takes a little effort to get there -- but it is worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    6
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

First time at the restaurant and what a joy. We had reservations and we were lucky enough to get a table on the island. Service was excellent and you never had the feeling of being rushed. Drinks are top notch. Four of us had shrimp prepared different ways, and all four dinners were fantastic. After dinner we really enjoyed the show of making us flaming coffee. It did start to get a little chilly, and they brought serapes out for the ladies. The only downside is after a few Margaritas and a flaming coffee, you have to walk back in the dark over the narrow bridge lined with candles. Have to say, all four of us mad it back dry. This will be on our must go to list every time we come to PV.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Kept Secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you ask around......many folks will say they have never been nor heard of this place. If you find it....you will be as close to Paradise as you can be! This is a true well kept secret, and I have been lucky enough to have found it! It is worth your effort to seek it out! Dont miss out on the Mexican Coffee after dinner.....it is simply the BEST! Plan on making an evening of it. Not a rush dinner and move on type of night. They are in now hurry. Definately on Mexican time. Its romantic, and they want you to enjoy the experience. They can accomodate large parties, but take a sweater or a wrap. The 13 of us were happy to stay longer, but after sunset, it can get a little cool on the water, and those without extra layers were getting chilly, and wanted to go.
One of my MUST DO's every time we are in PV.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“not sure we would go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant is stunning. The setting is just beautiful. It took us about 15 minutes to get there by cab.The ride is very interesting and you get to see where the real people live in Puerto Vallarta. Given security concerns in Mexico, the rest of our party said they wouldn't go back. It seems risky to be in a cab that far out of the way when everyone knows the cab has tourists in it.
Now, the food and the service. We like to order appetizers first, sit and chat and then order main courses. We ordered seafood salads and scallops. Both dishes were large, filling and fresh. We thoroughly enjoyed them. The problem was nobody came back to our table to take our order for main dishes for 1 hour. Nobody checked to see how we were doing, etc. My husband actually went to the bar to get us more bottled water. When they finally took our order for main courses, it took 30 minutes to get our food. In the meantime, my husband had begun to feel bad and everyone decided they were full. When the food came, we explained that it had just taken too long. They earnestly showed me that we had ordered at 8:03 and they brought the food at 8:35. They didn't seem to comprehend we had actually been sitting there since 6:30. They were pleasant enough, took the main courses off our bill (we didn't eat them). Overall, it just wasn't an experience that left any of us eager to return.
That said, if you're adventurous, it's worth a try as the food was good and the setting lovely.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The food here is amazing, the setting is out of a movie. We like to go at dusk under the twinkle lights and drink flaming coffees in the river. The prices are a little high, but the experience is worth it, try the Mister Shrinp!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuale Paradise also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Cuale Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuale Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.