We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the River Cuale, very nice natural setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuale Paradise

Cuale Paradise
manantial #372 Col. Buenos Aires | Take Bus 04 and Its Takes You to the Door, Puerto Vallarta 48370, Mexico
322 222 4225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 736 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cualeparadise@yahoo.com
EAGAN, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“On the River Cuale, very nice natural setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

If you have the opportunity to visit this restuarant you will not be disappointed. The location, the food, the service, the atmosphere are all superb.
Beyond a doube they serve the best jumbo shrimp in PV.
We highly recommend Cuale Paradise.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    14
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delightful, romantic, riparian dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

The restaurant is located at a quiet bend in the River Cuale upstream from the Malecon. Tables are outside on both sides. The ambiance is wonderful and is matched by the food. It is out-of-the-way, so expect to pay a bit extra for the cab ride (not the food). This a family owned and run restaurant with great Mexican atmosphere and food at fair prices. We enjoyed interesting Mexican style seafood of various kinds. This was our first visit to Cuale Paradise; we will repeat next year.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san miguel de allende, mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Shocking that more people, even locals, don´t know about this gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I´ve been eating at Cuale Paradise since it opened 12 years ago. Located at a bend of the Cuale River half a mile upstream from Vallarta Centro, it has what many consider to be the finest, freshest seafood - as well as a creative variety - in the area. Family run by Nic, Olympia and their family (he used to be a Daquiri Dick), their twin palapas on the river, filled with flowers, candles and twinkling lights at night, and a footbridge over part of the river to tables on a tiny island, together with lots of heron and other interesting birds on the river, make for a sublime setting in which to enjoy their delicious, cooked-to-order dishes. Fish filets, fish tacos (!!), shrimp fajitas, great guacamole and strong margaritas - what more could one ask for!? It long been my absolutely favorite place to eat in PV. Some taxi drivers don´t even know about it - but just ask them to take you to the bridge over the Rio Cuale at Paso Ancho and they will find it. You won´t be sorry. Also, it makes for a great day out of the noise and bustle of the city, even though you are just 10 minutes from Centro.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Il
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Where were you?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We have eaten out most nights in PV for 25 years. Only this out last week of our timeshare did we discover this gem that pays for you ride out (100 pesos) west of the old town along the river which gurgles between tables set up on either bank completely hidden from the road. Its been there 14 years but wow! Clean, lantern lit, multi-levels of tables down to the river, family built and staffed to serve lots of the typical Mexican fare with at least 7 variations of giant, tender prawns including tequila, bacon and pineapple (our winner!), mango, etc.Great big appetizers and bigger margaritas (banana won!) Prices average for this type of all Mexican menu followed by bananas flame better than our previous favorite from Le Bistro and ended with a Mexican Coffee show that had us laughing our sides off and admiring the skill..oops, almost forgot the Mexican poppers, one by one around the table, the standard end to a fun, funny and delicious night with a cab called ready and waiting. Dinners this week at our old favorites Olla, Tapas B, Red Cabbage, Vitea, Leche, and Elizabeth at Madison, El Arrayan and the broasted chicken from Soriano's were all high value meals with lots of different tastes, but CP topped them as the best all around. We should have known when we waded into our giant appetizers--seafood soup to die for, shrimp stuffed in avocado and a greattt octopus salad. A great vacation in Puerto Vallarta, the best restaurant city in Mexico! We will have to return especially for the Cuale Paradise total night to remember.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The most Romantic Restaurant in P.V.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The most romantic restaurant on the banks of the Cuale River in Puerto Vallarta. at night is an experience unforgettable dishes are meat and seafood, which include, the MR. SHRIMP and OLYMPIA'S SPECIAL.

The Best Flamed Coffee..

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuale Paradise also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Cuale Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuale Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.