We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Property & Wonderful Staff made Amazing Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Now Amber Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Courtenay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Property & Wonderful Staff made Amazing Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I chose the Now Amber Resort in Puerto Vallarta to celebrate our 10-year wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. There are several great things to mention about this resort but I will hi-lite the important things first. Now Amber is connected to Secrets Vallarta Bay, which is an adult only resort. Since my husband and I were traveling without our children we were able to take advantage of the restaurants on the Secrets side for dinners. We were also able to enjoy the Secrets pool, spa and fitness studio at our leisure, which was a sweet bonus to our vacation. As we arrived to the resort we were greeted by the friendliest staff that welcomed us with a glass of champagne and a cool wet towel (which was very much appreciated as it was hot! hot! hot!). We were whisked down to the preferred club, which I highly recommend and check in was a breeze. There was no standing in line for checking in at all. We were mingling in the preferred club lounge enjoying a second glass of champagne when Nayeli (the sweetest preferred club staff member) came to us with a clipboard and checked us in. Raul the preferred club manager who made sure that we knew that we could contact him at any time if we needed anything at all personally greeted us. My husband and I went up to our room and were absolutely wowed! We had booked the ocean view suite and I have never seen a more beautiful room. Raul knew that it was our 10-year wedding anniversary and had the room setup for us in a very romantic way. The bathtub was filled and there were beautiful red rose petals sprinkled all over the tub. Two champagne flutes and a bottle of champagne on ice were waiting for us and there were rose petals in the shape of a heart on the bed. I was in love! Not to mention that the room was an impressive 640 sq ft and the patio had a Jacuzzi tub on it for those romantic nights where we just wanted to relax and listen to the waves crashing along the shore.
I know that some reviews say not to bother with the upgrade to Preferred Club. I completely disagree and believe the upgrade is completely worth it. Having Benny (Benito) in the lounge every morning to greet us and offer me the Queen Juice (a veggie & fruit concoction) and my husband the ABC coffee (Amaretto, Baileys & Kahlua) was a great way to start our morning. We enjoyed eating breakfast in the Preferred Club lounge, as there was fresh fruit, yogurt, buns and a few hot items to choose from. It was never very busy and having Benny there with his big smile and willingness to provide excellent service made us feel utterly spoiled. The lounge in the Preferred Club was always a nice place to go to get out of the heat and grab a fast snack or cocktail.
The resort has an excellent selection of restaurants and everything except for Carnival was a la carte. My favorite restaurants were Castaways, Himitsu, Tamarindo and Oceana. The food was amazing and the staff was very doting. Manual & Yuan became our favorite servers at Castaways making sure our drinks were always refilled and that we were happy with our meal. Our other go to restaurant was Oceana where again the seafood entrees were fantastic and Ricardo went above and beyond to make sure our meal was the best.
The pools on both Now Amber and Secrets are a great place to spend the day. We would spend several hours on both sides and were spoiled rotten by Carlos, Jorge, & Fernando who would always be there to refill our drinks or bring us snacks. The drinks are very good and the resort would have food stations set up near the pool where you could grab a quick snack (or of course Carlos or Jorge would offer to grab for you.)
I highly recommend the spa for their hydrotherapy. The spa itself is beautiful, quiet and very peaceful. I did the hydrotherapy twice and loved it.
The lounge on the third floor overlooking the pools was our favorite place to relax. Every night there was some sort of live entertainment to watch and our favorite server Cynthia was there to greet us every night and offered exceptional service. We were so disappointed on the one night when Cynthia was off and we didn't have our smiley girl to talk to.
A couple of things I would highly recommend to do are to go in and walk the Melacon and do the Rhythms of the Night excursion. Our doting tour guide Martin from Sunwing vacations suggested the Rhythm of the Nights excursion and it was the most amazing romantic evening I have had in a long time. One more thing.... If you are celebrating your anniversary or getting Married I highly recommend the Now resort. My husband and I renewed our vows while at this resort and Fatima (wedding coordinator) set everything up for us. We had a beautiful ceremony in the gazebo overlooking the ocean, which was very romantic and very special to us. We celebrated with Champagne and had the resort take photos for us, which turned out very well. Overall this resort is exceptional and I would not hesitate to return again.

Room Tip: Definitely Preferred Club is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    243
    72
    29
    17
See reviews for
390
382
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Now Amber for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience. We were celebrating my 30th birthday and were pleasantly surprised when they brought cake and sparkling wine to our room! They also surprised us at dinner with special drinks and cake whenever we mentioned we were celebrating my birthday. In general, the staff was really amazing and attentive.

This is a brand new resort; so the rooms and grounds are immaculate. We were staying in a junior garden suite (a.k.a. the most basic room) and it was beautiful with a jacuzzi, separate shower, and separate enclosed toilet room and private balcony. They have these really awesome dividers that you can move around to create an enclosed bathroom around the jacuzzi or you can keep it open for an open concept look.

Even though we were on the 2nd floor in the standard tower we still had a partial view of the ocean through the palm trees. If you look at the pictures of this resort from the brochures and website, you are usually looking at the spectacular view from the lobby on the 3rd floor. Basically any room that is 3 floors or above in the standard towers will be above the palm trees and will have an unobstructed view of the water.

The interesting thing about this resort and the adjacent one (Secrets) is that the standard towers (as opposed to the preferred towers) have a more direct view of the ocean (unless you book one of those rooms that are directly on the ocean). If you were to imagine the towers creating a U shape, the standard towers for both resorts are at the base of the U, so they overlook the pools and straight out towards the ocean. The preferred towers are on the sides of the U and face towards each other. This means that some preferred rooms only have a partial ocean view because they partly face the preferred tower of the opposite resort (e.g. Secrets) as well as the ocean. To have a fully unobstructed view in the preferred towers, you would need to book one of the rooms that is oceanfront or near ocean front at the top of the U shape.

One of the things that we loved about this resort as a couple was the freedom to move between the Now Amber and Secrets side. It was like having access to two resorts for the price of one. From what we could tell, there were very few differences between the two resorts for a couple without kids because of all the shared amenities (restaurants, gym, tennis courts, amphitheatre, business centre, coffee shop, etc.). We even spent a half day by the Secrets pool to see what it was like. We found that we preferred the Now Amber side because it was more energetic, with better party music and a more lively crowd. Although, if we wanted to nap by the pool, the Secrets side was a good option. We never had a problem grabbing a lounge chair by the pool or on the beach on either side.

We weren't bothered at all by the kids at the resort--especially since they were mainly out with the Explorers Club doing fun activities. There are also separate seating areas in the restaurants for families with kids too so dining was relaxing.

From what I understand, there is usually more of a difference in quality between Secrets and Now but this resort was designed to make it not obvious since they are linked together and share amenities. Even the decor was designed to be similar yet distinct with the Secrets side evoking a sense of muted and sophisticated elegance with a purple palette, while the Amber side was warm and elegant with an amber coloured palette. If we were to plan our next trip, we would just book whichever option was cheaper (Secrets or Now Amber) since we could move between the two and the rooms are almost identical.

We had a lot of fun doing tennis lessons with Salvadore. Although the tennis courts could use a little bit of love, since they were very sandy and lacked any greenery to create natural shade.

The food was pretty good for an all inclusive with a lot of different options. That being said, we did find that the food at Dreams Puerto Vallarta and Sandals Whitehouse (Jamaica) was much better. Our main complaint with the dining experience is that some of the a la carte meals seemed like they were pre-prepared because the seafood appetizers often tasted overcooked and came out very quickly. I found the seafood entrée dishes to be delicious though. My husband who is vegetarian was really happy with the vegetarian options--although not all of the restaurants had a vegetarian main on their menu. Our favourite restaurants were Tamarindo and the Teppanyaki experience at the Japanese restaurant (it is both a meal and a show).

This was our second time at an AM resort (they own Now, Dreams, Secrets). As per usual, some things that we loved about the AM resort brand were: the amazing staff that was very attentive and would cater to your every request; the 24 hour room service; the mini fridge which was stocked daily; the twice a day cleaning/turn down service; the waiters who bring you drinks on the beach/by the pool; the wonderful entertainment staff, the swim up bar; etc. We love how all of these things are included at the base rate since we know that other resorts (e.g. Sandals) charge extra for some of these things. You can also get some resort credits if you do the vacation club presentation--we used this to pay for a Rythms of the Night excursion.

Again, this was a very gorgeous resort with a wonderful staff and I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: For the best view, either book a high floor in the standard tower or a room on the ocean in the pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place was incredible. I've never had such a beautiful experience in a hotel stay. The room was spacious and beautiful, great balcony w/ personal hot tub, and view of the ocean, mountains and pool- from every room, I believe. The staff was awesome!- Alfredo around the pool was wonderfully friendly and attentive; Roberto and Antonio in the Italian restaurant Capers were great. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Marya at check-in was very nice and helpful. Atef and Marilyn and everyone at the concierge were so friendly and sincerely concerned with making our stay awesome. Everyone at the curb at the entrance were also so wonderfully helpful- Roberto specifically went the extra mile for us. You know, they are hotel staff and doing their jobs- but they really did everything to make you feel like family. And the food in the stand alone (and included) restaurants: seafood at "Castaways" overlooking the pool and ocean, the Italian "Capers, and the French "Bordeaux" were fantastic culinary experiences- definitely 5-star. Their food was so fantastic! The room was cleaned and spotless everyday; free minibar stocked with whatever we wanted. I can't say enough about how friendly and attentive the entire staff was- at the restaurants, the front desk, room service, pool waiters, at the curb, everyone.
For couples, I might suggest to stay at the partner hotel right next door- literally. Some of the services were shared and we could go over there for restaurants, the bar, the gym. I would assume it has the same quality service. But it is couples only- no children.
Please make sure you tip the staff- they work so hard to ensure their clients have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Let me start by saying that the hotel and staff here are perfect! We chose this resort to get married in last year and we had never been there. I can not express how amazing and beautiful it was. The reviews do not lie on this one! We just recently got married on the resort at now amber and we stayed there for a week with 50 of our closest friends and family. The accommodations and the stay was absolutely fabulous. We arrived on Saturday the 21st of September 2013. Although it was rainy season the days were still beautiful. I can not express how at home and how "pampered" our entire group felt. From the time you get there and receive your champagne to the moment you walk into your door it's just beautiful. The dining experience on the resort is top notch and I would recommend it to anyone who loves good food and great atmospheres. The staff....words can not express how much fun and how well we were treated the entire week. Hands down the most fun all-inclusive we have ever been to. Our wedding planner was the most helpful and wonderful lady we have ever had the pleasure of meeting (Fatima). I don't normally write these reviews because we travel a lot and I prefer to figure out how I like a place on my own but this time I could not resist. They deserve all the thumbs up and ratings a place could get. It was wonderful and we definitely be back in the near future!!! Thank you Fatima our special day was perfect because of you! And to future travelers...GO TO THE SPA - you will think me later! Have fun!

Room Tip: Go with preferred club...they have a great snack bar open till 11 and a hidden bar that is great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First, let me tell you, that I have been to PV 2 dozen times - and this by far is the nicest hotel around. It's stunning in architecture, ambiance and comfort. BUT, don't post a bad review before you go - during our week stay, our room was only cleaned once, our FREE mini-bar was never restocked after multiple requests, the food is average at best and RULES, RULES, RULES. So many rules to follow while on vacation - which restaurant is closed and dress code attire. The pool stops service at 6pm - but the sunsets are 7:30. Pool closes at 8, including all the hot tubs - so what's the point? They outright kick you out! Oh and the vendors selling stuff - outright continued annoyance.

They tested the smoke alarms 4 times a day, beginning at 9am. I don't know about you, but when I'm on vacation, my mornings are quite sleepy - and always interrupted by the smoke detectors on this trip.

Preferred Club - don't fall for it....means nothing other than, you can have a snack 24 hours a day (you can have this anyway!)

Our room had a great view, and the layout of the room was stunning.
1. Don't sleep with your doors open so you can hear the rhythm on the ocean all night....the lobby music starts promptly at 8am which plays throughout the resort.
2. The shower floods the room - they all did in every single room. So don't leave anything on the floor you want dry.
3. Shampoo and conditioner was great, and they provide 15 sunscreen also - but again, if they don't restock it, what's the point?
4. Stay away from channel surfing around the channel 36 - 24hour porn service delivered right to your room.

Have you ever been on a cruise ship, where you just can't escape? Where everyone is stuffing their faces and over-drinking to get their monies worth? This was it. The pool was full of middle-aged drunken fools, serving shots and dedicating their nights to vomit. Remember though, 8am music and 9am smoke detector tests makes for a rough morning.

Some service was phenomenal - the wait staff and manager at Bordeaux - amazing and worth the stay at this resort. Alfredo and Miguel at the pool worked so hard making sure the drunks, got drunker - all in 90 degrees and humidity. And Fabiola at guest services ROCKED.

Spa prices out of this world. So if you are looking for a massage, walk outside the gate to your left, where you'll find $25/hour $35/90 minutes of professional and great massage.

When we reserved our stay, we were to have $400 resort credit. Bahahaha - they stuck it to us once again. Their idea of spa credit is coupons - $10 off wine, $40 off massage (that is $180 mind you).....really lame and not what was disclosed.

Elevators were out of service. Oh and did I mention, the AC was out of service for an entire day - and yes, they did close the pool during this evening of smouldering and humid heat. Rooms were dripping with humidity - and several of my guests slipped and fell. They didn't care. Our laptops, cell phones and kindles all wet and in need of repair - no AC means humid and dripping rooms.

We traveled in town each day/night - to escape. We left our hotel 2 days early, and checked in the Casa Magna, Marriott where it was filled with buganvilla, sunsets, quiet, R&R and wonderful service.

I love PV and will return, but avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Now Amber Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
ShelbyDart,

Greetings from Now Amber,

First and foremost thank you for taking the time to express your sentiment towards our staff and resort. Indeed, our modern architecture, friendly and well-appointed comforts create for the utmost Unlimited-Luxury® experience in all of Puerto Vallarta.

Now Amber has five (5) different gourmet dining options, a café, our very convenient Barefoot Grill for quick snack poolside, bars and lounges. As part of the Unlimited-Luxury® privileges , guests have the option to enjoy Sip, Savor & See which provides access to complimentary dinners, drinks and live evening entertainment at nearby participating resorts from 6 p.m. to 1 a.m. Aside from the mentioned, guests are sure to enjoy exclusive high end culinary experience every-time, every night on and off the resort ant the following nearby sister resorts. Guests may choose from the following:

• Secrets Vallarta Bay with four (4) additional dining options (Adults only)
• Dreams Puerto Vallarta with seven (7) dining options
• Dreams Villamagna in Nuevo Vallarta with 5 (five) contributions.

This fantastic privilege provides sixteen (16) more dining options to expanding your horizons and culinary experiences throughout your stay.

Dress Code: We courteously ask that gentlemen participate with an attire fitting for their gourmet experience by wearing long pants, collared shirts with sleeves (Polo shirts ok) and closed toe shoes to our air conditioned restaurants.

Pools: The safety and health of our guests is monumental. We invite our guests to please join us at Moments Lobby bar for a front row seat of our breathtaking sunsets where our friendly waiters cater to you with your favorite top shelf drinks while our pools and areas are thoroughly cleaned so they are fresh and ready for sunrise.

Preferred Club: Personalized attention with your very own concierge team and VIP status makes for an Unlimited-Luxury® experience unlike any other.

These “rules” are put in place to enhance your experience, not hinder it. It is regretful that our resort did not meet your expectations in spite of all of our efforts.

We are thrilled that you love our home, Puerto Vallarta and look forward to welcoming you and sharing our beautiful city with you again in the near future.

All the best from Now Amber,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was the second visit to the now amber! We booked the swim out suites and could never ask for anything better. Spend the extra for the preferred swim outs, you will not be disappointed. Leonardo and Carlos will take great care of you. This resort is by far the best resort we have stayed at, 2 years in a row. Please bring some extra cash to tip your servers as they work very hard and deserve a little extra!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our first experience with an all inclusive. I loved it! Everything is beautiful, so many fun things to do, great food, great bar service. The customer service was excellent, house keeping was awesome and very on their game. The doors slam pretty hard and the shower leaks. There was a great selection of excursions and the pools are to die for. I loved staying here and want to go back the next chance I get! The pool has a bar service and you should try and get Leonardo "Leo" he is great! When we first arrived we were shown how everything works by Fernando, he is very nice and a great person to get taken care by. All in all I really don't have too much to complain about.

Room Tip: There is no need to upgrade every room has a great view and its hard to believe there is a bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Amber Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.