We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service, perfect for a family break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Now Amber Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous service, perfect for a family break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We recommend NOW Amber without hesitation! We are fans of Karisma resorts and NOW Amber is a comparable alternative to Karisma. Preferred Club check-in was a breeze and we were poolside within 20 minutes of arriving with bags in the room. The resort is gorgeous, clean, and has a very crisp, modern aesthetic with a lot of warmth thanks to rustic wood treatments and warm lighting. We loved being on the Pacific side - the sun lasts forever and the sunsets are second to none. The pools are great - the kids pool is divided in two: one side is 4' deep with a fun slide and the other side is waist deep on a 3 yr old so the younger ones can have fun, too. The swim up pool is spacious and has an amazing view of the Pacific + another pool for basketball/swimming. We heard the resort was at 70% capacity (3/10-3/17), and we never felt crowded and never had to rush down for great poolside spots. We had impeccable service and this is what truly made our trip so great. I hope their staff is commended often because they work very hard and always with a smile. It seemed like everyone was already thinking of what we needed or wanted. Here are the best of the best! The greeter & waiters at Carnival: Nayealy, Carmen, Cynthia & Alejandro; omelet chef at Carnival: Luz; Explorer's Club: Nancy, Vanessa, Lizbeht, Sofia; Spa: Raul; Preferred Club: Violeta, Adriana, Benigno (our 3 yr old loved seeing him each day!); Pool Service: Gustavo (seriously overdelivered and always attentive and kind), Jose; Capers: Hugo & Jose (brought out an extra chair when our 3 yr old fell asleep at dinner & sang a fabulous Spanish b-day song to our son). The Explorer's Club was AMAZING. Our kids loved the fun activities, but more than anything, they truly loved the teachers. Such caring, fun ladies! Our kids are still talking about each of them! They have movie night for the kids each night which was the perfect chance for us to get a few quiet couples-only dinners. Overall the food was very good - Karisma edges NOW Amber out slightly, but definitely not a deal-breaker. Thank you so much to the wonderful people at NOW Amber for making our family holiday amazing!

Room Tip: We liked the Preferred Club - smaller bank of rooms with private entry and concierge and it was a sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    296
    86
    29
    20
See reviews for
466
443
25
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I first have to say that the service is absolutely phenomenal! It was like arriving in paradise and all of the staff was completely focused on us (more on this later).
Now comes the however...while the service, food and property were worth every penny that I paid and then some, I did not pay thousands to be stalked and harassed by a timeshare salesman. For three days, he showed up everywhere on property that we were to increase his incentive, which in turn made our kids want to do all of the great trips that he dangled in front of them for free if my husband and I would "just sit through a short presentation". He showed up at the bar, at the kids club, in the shopping area and of course lurking in the lobby that we had to enter to get to our room. My teenage son is convinced he had us on GPS from the NOW app loaded on his phone. So, we spent the first half of our vacation in relative hiding. For the second half, he gave up and just gave us dirty looks every time we saw him.
Contrast that with the excellent service we received from Angel and Gilberto at the pool bar, Nayela in the restaurant, Benigno in the preferred lounge and even Alan from the entertainment team. The kids club staff was wonderful, virtually everyone on property knew us by name by day three, and everyone recognized my sons birthday. I would say that the food in the buffet and the steak and seafood restaurant were definitely better than the Italian and Mexican ala cartes (although service was impeccable...my young son asked for something not on the menu and our waiter was so funny, he said "just give me a few minutes and I will run to Walmart and get it for you").
Rooms were very comfortable, we had good housekeeping service (they could probably do away with turndown though as it was usually pretty late).
Vendors on the beach were worse than in other parts of Mexico, at times we couldn't even see around or through them to watch our kids play in the water. The hotel staff tries to keep them at a distance and will appear out of nowhere if they pass their designated area.

Overall, it was the best property that I have stayed at, but I will have to think long and hard about booking a NOW property again based on the timeshare issue.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Now Amber Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Williams89,

We appreciate for taking the time of your way to write us a review. On behalf of Now Amber Puerto Vallarta Management and Staff please received our deepest apologies about this unacceptable situation. We would like to share with you that strict actions have been made with this gentleman and he will not interfere with other guests.

We wished that you had addressed this situation before your departure in order to take the proper measures by our Management. We do appreciate that you had reply to us all the giving information about this.

Although, your overall experience was not completely satisfactory we hope that you can gives us the opportunity to have you visit us soon. Be sure that you will not encounter this situation again.

Kindly,

Mauricio Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Pros:
- The breakfast buffet was excellent, the restaurants were very good. We went to the Japanese restaurant (excellent duck), French Restaurant (excellent lamb) and the Italian restaurant ( appetizers were good, the rest so so)
- The drinks were good, but the slushy ones at the pool didn't taste like there was any real fruit just artificial flavours. I enjoyed the Martinis in the lobby bar or I asked for drinks not on their menu.
- The bed was very comfy.
- The swim out room was awesome.
- The service in the restaurants and around the pool was excellent.

Cons:
- They put us in room 1153 with a swim out pool. It sounded like a train was going through it. We asked for another room and we were told that machinery is under the floor of 1151, 1152 and 1153. Ridiculous! They then gave us 1157 and it was better. The man who brought the new key told us that the couple in 1152 went to a room on the 12th floor to get away from the noise.
- The beach is very small and there are lots of rocks in the surf.
- There is no set times for when they clean your room. Sometimes it was in the morning and once I had to call because it was after 3:30pm and not cleaned. I also had to call to have a turn down which is standard at most hotels we have been to.
- Oh ya we never had enough toilet paper.

Room Tip: Do not get room 1151, 1152 or 1153 with the swim out pools. Very, very loud machinery under them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

i have been to many AI in Mexico and nothing compared to this one.
clean and beautiful ground, great food best buffet anywhere, and great service
a true vacation since my daughter is having so much fun in the kidsclub here she states this is the best place we have been
we will be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went during March break (9th to 14th). Booked trip on own so took a cab from the airport which was easy. Greeted by friendly staff and a glass of champagne. Conceirge whisked us inside and went over our reservation and told us our bags would be brought to the room. Everyone was so kind, friendly and said, "It is my/our pleasure" when they bring you anything! 24 hour room service, beautiful, clean, modern room, clean lines, beautiful rooms from every room. The pics on the website really do it justice, it really does look like them. Pools were warm and very nice pool bar with awesome drinks all brought to you with a smile. Comfortable beds, beautiful white cotton robes and slippers, and a stocked fridge bar with lots of water/drinks. Had my 15 year old daughter with me and she loved it too. Would recommend in a heartbeat! However, it is the Pacific ocean with lots of waves and undertow at times. Lifeguard on duty but we rarely saw anyone in the ocean, although the last two days were calmer and they had an inflatable island and slide, kayak tours and lots of beach volleyball. Really safe for kids as well. Beautiful landscaping and architecture to look at. Went to the big boardwalk (the maracon) as a little outing off the resort -worth doing!

Room Tip: Any room is great, all have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went to this hotel for a week in January 2013 with my boyfriend and we loved it. It was such a relaxing place. The resort was always pristine clean, the food was beyond excellent and the service was perfect. Check in was so easy as we were welcomed with a cold towel and sparkling wine. We had a room located on the 11th floor, facing the beautiful sea. Don't bother upgrade your room to have ocean view as all rooms are facing the sea the way the hotel is designed.

The hotel location was very convenient, just a 6 US $ taxi ride to go to the Malecon or a 15-20 min. brisk walk. The beach is not as nice as on the East coast, but if you enjoy bathing in the waves and if you have water shoes, swimming is fun. I especially liked the proximity between the pool and the ocean which are juste next to each other.

I really enjoyed my vacation at Now Amber PV. Wether we ordered room service for snacks in the afternoon or breakfast, or we ordered drinks and snacks at the beach, or at any restaurant, we were always welcomed with respected like preferred guests.

Room Tip: Rooms on the eleventh floor had a beautiful view on the ocean. Don't bother upgrading for a ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loved this resort. The food was great and not having to book for the restraunts was the best. Room was lovely, we stayed in a junior suite in the preferred section. When we go back we would probably just stay in a regular room as they are just as nice with ocean views on the higher floors. That being said we will miss Benny in the mornings, he was amazing and an asset to the resort. Beach service was also quick and they were all pleasant especially Jose who was the best. All of the staff is very friendly and accomodating. We had a late flight and still had access to the whole resort with a half hour time to shower and get ready to leave, very nice. The entertainment staff was the best that I have seen on a resort. Any negatives I have are not worth mentioning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Amber Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.