We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“how could it be better?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Now Amber Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #10 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersGold level
edmonton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“how could it be better?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

i am presently at this resort in fantastic pv.this hotel is 1st class ,the food is lovely,the room we are in (5th floor ocean view)is very nice,the maid just came in and turned down our bed for us,cause that is too much for us to do ,lol.we r going to the japanese restaurant for dinner at 8,and as we have been sitting on the balcony drinking canned corona's,since 4:30,when we got back from our 50$ couple's massage,(2minute walk from hotel),we ordered some wings and nacho's from room service as well as several more beers, hey were vacation.the buffet restaurant is top notch,if you can't find something you like there ,i don't know what could make you happy.the staff here has been unfaillingly pleasant,and extremly friendly.the only issue i have had is that the atm isn't working and i had to use my credit card to get cash from the front desk ,for which i had to pay a 10% commission,which seemed like robbery.after all i needed cash for tipping.anyhow as i write this rambling missive, the sounds of mexican music is wafting over the sounds of wave's as we sit on the balcony.the pirate ship is drifting by(got to do that tour one of these years)and its time to turn japanese,mor e on this fine hotel later

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    318
    93
    33
    21
See reviews for
524
493
26
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Currently at the Now Amber, can't say enough about the place, it is perfect. Free calls to Canada from the room, room service 24 hrs. We are on the 5th floor, ocean view, as are all rooms, it is lovely, have jacuzzi tub in room, most comfortable king size bed I have ever slept on, even has pillow menu!! Food is good, brand name liquor, serving Grey Goose vodka! Spoiled, spoiled, spoiled. Do not hesitate to stay here, you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: The fifth floor has HUGE balconies, but has concrete half wall, cannot see beach or ocean if sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just returned after a weeks stay at the Now Amber in Puerto Vallarta. We stayed Dec 1-8 in a Master Oceanfront suite. Overall, the resort looks great. Our room as amazing, beautiful decor. I`ve never written a review before. My husband and I are average people, that travel somewhere every couple of years. Got a great deal at this resort, and now we know why.

The two main things that bothered me at this resort, was the food and the maid service. The food was terrible... my husband and I are not picky people. At the Mexician restaurant, the waiter is commented that the food wasn`t good. I seriously ate 2 bites of my supper. When he came to take my plate, he said of, someone else doesn`t like the food here. Buffet was good for breakfast. Supper was disgusting. Seriously.

As for the maid services. We always tip the lady that cleans our room. The problem with this room, the maid came, took the money and left. No making of the bed, new towels.. nothing. I called down at 6 pm asking why our room was not cleaned. Was told her was. But it wasn`t. Same thing happened the next day. Finally, we said screw this. I am paying someone to not clean our room. Staying in one of the top room categories, you`d think they would clean the room. Not impressed. Complained a couple of times. Finally on day 4, our room was cleaned for the first time.

Waiters on the beach are wonderful. Really great people. Watch out for the vendors on the beach.Will harass you all day.

Was told we had a $400 resort cerdit. When we arrived, told it was only $200. Even after showing the papers, from a lady nmed Karen from the Now Amber resort, still wouldn`t give us the $400. Was a totally waste. Only can use it on certain things. Like $20 off a $200 massage. Walk out the main resort doors. There is a little spa there that charged $25 for a 70 minute massage. Its wonderful.

Resort is about a 30 minute walk to the boardwalk. Very nice. Great little shops and placed to eat. The cheeky monkey was awesome. Go there.




As

Room Tip: The Master Suite was amazing. Minus the horrible, dirty tub on the deck. Never used it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Now Amber Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Aimee B,

We would like to thank you for your preference and for your time to post a review to our Resort. It is regretful to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and know that your comments are very important to us in order to identify our opportunity areas and make the proper actions to correct them.

It concerns us to hear that you had this type of comments from someone of our staff, please know that this type of behavior is not the proper one from our staff. Be sure that we will make the investigations to avoid this type of situations. We sure will share you feedback to our Food and Beverage Manager in regards to our Mexican restaurants. We regret to know that we did not met your expectations with our food selection and truly concerns us this situation since we have the highest standards in order to please every guests taste.

We will follow up your reports with our Housekeeping department since this is not a standard in our regular operation. This service must be provided every day in all the suites occupied of our Resort. For this matter we extend our sincere apologies that you encountered and wished that this had not happened to you.

Once again, we appreciate all the detailed information that you kindly mentioned in your review, we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to our property allowing us to redeem ourselves to provide you a wonderful experience.

Warm regards,

Mauricio Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

From the moment we checked in, we received excellent service from all of the staff. The rooms are spacious, clean and have a wonderful view. The pool and beach area are fabulous. The food was delicious. The location was great as it was only a few minutes travel by bus from and to the airport, and walking distance to the Malecon area. All the little extras were very appreciated. A wonderful place to stay and no complaints whatsoever.

Room Tip: My only recommendation would be not to stay on too high of a floor as the elevators can be crowded a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from Now Amber.It was for sure a 5 star resort. We stayed on the preferred side on the 7th floor the rooms were very nice.I liked having wi-fi in our room and we had our own bar on the second floor which served premium drinks (grey goose,crown royal ect).All the staff were excellent our room was cleaned daily in a timely fashion and they came every night and turned our bed down (not that we really needed that done). They had 7 restaurants the Japanese and the French were our favourites.We always tipped the staff but a lot did not I will not say we're these people were from but most readers on here can proubley figure that one out! Overall it was a very enjoyable stay,and would highly recommend Now Amber.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

First the normal positive stuff. Great food, great service, perfect weather, great beach, fabulous room and very few hassles from the condo selling crowd and the beach vendors. The place is new and the doors, patio doors, safe and bathroom were all first class. The bed was huge and comfortable. The room had all the amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel and the air conditioner was silent as was the ceiling fan. The temperature was between 25c and 30c every day and night. The super air conditioner made sleeping, wonderful. Dinner was very nice in all the restaurants but the portions were a little on the small side. You also get an appetizer and dessert so if they were to provide Canadian portions you might go home 10 lbs heavier. I am not sure if this is a complaint or not but I would add that you won’t go hungry.

Now for the real purpose of this post. I am a Canadian as were about 80% of the guests for the 10 days we stayed there from Nov 25, 2012 – Dec 5, 2012. On the web site for Westjet Vacations, it listed all the things included in the price and it also said “All taxes and gratuities”. I would think that the people at the resort would be very well paid compared to other resorts for tips to be included. They are NOT! I am not about to tell the management of Now Amber how much to pay their staff. The employees definitely weren’t forced to work there, however, tips are definitely not included.

When Canadians go out to a nice restaurant for supper, they normally pay about 15% of the bill to the waitress as a tip. I am not advocating that a tip is required if the service is lousy but you won’t find lousy service at Now Amber. Canadian waitresses also make about $10 per hour in wages while their “just as competent” counterparts at Now Amber make as little at $5-$10 per day. Yes, per day. Even a $1 tip is significant to these wonderful people.

I recommend taking at least $25 American for each day of your stay. A dollar for a drink for you and your partner, $2 for breakfast, $3 for lunch and $5 for your supper. Leave at least $3 per day for the lady who cleans your room. Don’t provide these tips as a way of getting preferred service over other guests. Do it because it is the right thing to do as these people will give you an excellent vacation. It is Canadian and it will make you feel better about yourself AND you won’t have to hide the fact you are a Canadian. If you don’t want to tip, please pretend to be something other than a Canadian. Don’t embarrass the rest of us.

I spoke to one of the head waiters and he said only about 1 in 5 give a tip. If you can’t afford a few hundred extra dollars for a week or more in heaven, then please just stay home. I was appalled when I found out just how cheap all these fellow Canadians actually were. Stop it.

If you visit Now Amber yourself and you agree with me, please include your take on tips in your revue so that all Canadians that visit will read that taking tip money isn’t optional.

PS My wife and I aren’t rich, just very average, like most Canadians. We just believe that the people at this resort deserve our respect and a little financial thank you that won’t hurt us and will definitely help them. To all my new friends at Now Amber, thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Higher up is better. 14 floors and most if not all rooms have a wonderful ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our first (and last!) stay at Now Amber resort. Very first impression about it was: “Great! I love it!” as the entrance and main lobby look very poshy. Beside that, there was nothing impressive.

Entertainment was next to nothing. Aquatic activities were totally unsupervised – they never even bothered to update the warning flag at the beach. Kids club offered nice activity for our 5 years old daughter, but our 10 years old son was bored to death.
Somewhere in reviews it was mentioned in management reply that entertainment is going from 9:00AM till late evening. Not really true! I saw “entertainment” guys no more than twice during the day – once at about 11:00AM for 15 minutes water aerobics class and second time in the evening taking credits for somebody else performance.

Sleep quality: beds and mattresses are good to excellent. But there is VERY noisy exhaust system at the neighboring hotel installed just a few meters away from Now Amber building. It is so loud – we had to yell outside our room to hear each other. And we were living on the 7th floor!

The most disgusting thing about Now Amber is that it is infested with greedy timeshare crooks. Now Amber management claims they have no connection to them and therefore has no responsibility for their actions. We went for presentation and purchased Unlimited Vacation Club membership. The next day we went to cancel our purchase and that’s when we realized that UVC membership is nothing but total junk.
Watch this video ( goo.gl/iueQc ) where UVC rep admits - it is worthless resale! It took us one month, huge stress and lots of phone calls and emails to get our money back. So, please, be aware - Unlimited Vacation Club membership is nothing but trouble, stay away from it!

Room Tip: Do not pay extra to upgrade from gardenview to oceanview room. I did not notice any gardenview rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Amber Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.