We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Now Amber Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Winnipeg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just returned from a one week stay at Now Amber. We got the rooms and location we had requested and check in was quick and easy. The rooms were beautiful and always kept very clean. Any problems that were encountered were quickly solved in a timely manner, such as extra coffee or water. One of the rooms had a broken chain on the door and it was fixed in less than an hour. The all included long distance calls were a huge bonus as was the free internet in the cafe on the 3rd floor. There were no issues with elevators as has been mentioned in previous reviews. The buffet was always great for both breakfast and any time it was open for dinner we found it to be very good with a lot of variety. All a la cartes that we experienced had good service and great food. All four of those in our party felt that the amount of food was more than enough with buns, soup, salad, main course along with nice selection of house wine - far better than most resorts - as well as water or choice of drinks and delicious desserts - in fact we found that by dessert we were too full.

The service around the pool was most excellent and the waiters were so lovely to my parents and always making sure they had a drink or water etc. Always extremely respectful and more than helpful. At lunch there are many choices from Castaways pool service or restaurant, the grill or the specials that were served every day by the other bar at the north end of the pool.

Entertainment staff work very very hard to involve people in various activities during the day and always engaged in conversation with hotel guests to ensure we are all having a good time. Hi to Jorge!

There is a lovely lounge on the main floor (3) with great views and cool breezes. Did not get to the disco in the evening, but those who attended a live band on one evening said it was great.

Dinner our first evening was on the beach with a live show. The buffet meal was fantastic with so many choices and included ribs, fresh fish etc. Very well presented and excellent!

All in all this is a beautiful new resort in a great location close to both the malecon to the south by bus or cab or a longer walk, and to the north the marina vallarta, marina terminal and flea markets. Bus is a short 1\2 block to walk. My only comment is with regard to the ramp at the front of the resort - this was a bit of a difficult jaunt for older patrons of the resort who want to walk around the area and so forth. It is quite a long way for older people to walk up and for those with difficulty walking may be a problem. Suggest maybe a golf cart at the bottom of the ramp could be used to help older people to get back up to the top? This is the only reason for the four star rating (rather than 5 star).

Dress codes are well advertised and did not seem unreasonable, adding to a nice atmosphere in the a la cartes. Buffet dress codes were much more relaxed and is always an option for those not wanting to wear long pants and collared shirts to dinner, and included in the two dinners through our week stay that were served right on the beach.


Rooms all included iron, ironing board, self-keyed in safety deposit box, hair dryer,coffee maker, shampoo, robes, and a well stocked mini fridge. Spoke as well to parents with children in the kids club and they were extremely impressed with the club and activities.

Room Tip: Always be polite and respectful to the front desk staff when dealing with room location issues. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    244
    72
    29
    17
See reviews for
390
384
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great beach out front. I did expect to have a private pool staying in the Preferred Club section since that has been the case at other hotels I have stayed at but no private pool unless you book the swim-out suites which are expensive. All told a great holiday.

Room Tip: Very noisy during day on the Now Amber side even in the Preferred Section as all the rooms face out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just returned from a trip to this resort Nov 18 to 25. I was travelling with one daughter and have to say we had a wonderful trip. The rooms were very comfortable and exceptionally clean, the daily service was top notch. We found the service around the pool to be fantastic especially Gustavo who did a tremendous job to keep us hydrated. We were disappointed when he moved over to serve the other side of the pool at the later part of our vacation but not enough to follow him to that side to sit in a deck chair. All the a la carte's were very good and my favourite was the Tapanaki which we ended up eating at twice. Throughly enjoyed the entire trip and can not say enough about the service and care we received.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor which was listed as a garden view but we had a beautiful view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Now Amber Resort & Spa in PV. Although there were a few issues, being a fairly new resort, we had a wonderful time and would definitely go back. The rooms are modern and nice (although the bathroom lighting could be brighter), beds comfortable and there is free internet and long distance calling in each room. Restaurants and food were amazing, although we didn't like the buffet for dinner. Definitely try the tapanaki (Japanese restaurant) as it is excellent. Loved the french and Italian restaurants too! They could ease up on the dress rules for men during the day, as they are very strict on the attire - men must wear t-shirts with sleeves for all meals (no tanks/muscle shirts allowed, which is inconvenient if you are around the pool). We did not like the lobby bar, as there wasn't any ceiling fans (or air conditioning, since it is an open room), and it was quite hot. We would go down to the disco to cool off in the evening. The staff at this resort are extremely nice and very helpful, but our favorites were Jan from entertainment crew, Silvia (hostess at the buffet), Violetta (concerierge ) and Benigno/Benny (host) who were both at the preferred building. We would not upgrade to "preferred" next time as it wasn't worth the extra money.

Room Tip: All the rooms were the same, and all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was the nicest resort that my hubby and I have ever stayed in. The grounds were beautiful, the staff very welcoming and friendly and the entire resort was very clean! I had never went into a bathroom where I wasn't impressed by the cleanliness!
Some people just HAVE to have something to complain about and you're never going to have everything perfect but our stay was pretty darn close! This place was amazing and you won't be disappointed...whether you are travelling as a couple or family. There's a great kids club which allowed the parents to enjoy beach volleyball, water basketball, water polo and drinks at the swim up bar! Staff was always accomodating with service, and tipping very much appreciated as staff make very little money. (My advice....bring many US dollar bills.) Unlimited phone calls to US and Canada and fee 24hr room service!
A little shy on the entertainment but we managed to keep ourselves very entertained, meeting some great people and dancing at the disco, ziplining and ATVing in the jungle and tequila tasting!!!!
BEWARE the sales presentation! They will say its not a time share but if you're not interested just walk away! Its practically the same thing. They will try to bribe you with a free breakfast etc or coupons for the hotels services....take the coupons and run! LOL! Only deal with your Airline for outings and tours.

Room Tip: DO NOT UPGRADE TO THE OCEAN VIEW ROOM!!!! THEY ARE ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS! ALL OF THEM! I made that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed from Nov 10 - 17. Based on much travel experience, this is not a 5 star hotel. I would say 3-4 stars. Certainly some aspects are wonderful, including the pool and bar areas, the ala carte restaurants and most of the staff.

However the whole experience was severely tarnished when four of our group of five couples did not get the rooms we booked and paid for 6 months before. Five months after booking and paying in full, we were told the one ocean view swim up room was suddenly no longer available. Obviously the price had gone up since we booked and they sold it to someone else. Both the travel agent and Air Transat were unable to assist, blaming the Hotel, so we ended up with a garden view swim up room. Three of the four "Ocean view" rooms booked actually faced the pool, not the ocean, and two had a concrete wall on the balcony so they had no view at all! After two days and much hassle, we got the two couples moved to rooms that at least had a side view of the ocean. This is really inexcusable as the Hotel was clearly not near capacity. I could not recommend staying in a Now Resort anywhere because of this experience.

Other problems included the fact they only had one key card per couple; the restaurant reservation policy is inconsistent - our group of ten was always able to book a reservation for the restaurants, but sometimes when we showed up, the hostess denied we had a reservation; the buffet was no where near 5 star in variety or presentation.

Also there was a large outdoor wedding right in front of the rooms one night and another night a convention on the Secrets side of the hotel. Both of these had loud music that played until late. It would have been nice if the Hotel had warned us in advance. I feel sorry for the parents with young children who would have been trying to sleep. The grounds are too close to the Hotel rooms for these type of events. Also note that the wedding took place between the pool/beach and the rooms and other hotel guests had to pass through, so it is not private.

I notice some reviewers complained about the slow bar service by the pool. We found that tipping the waiter a couple of dollars first thing resulted in great service the whole day. No problem either if you asked for premium liquor.

The house red and white wines were good and the restauarant wine list was far better than I expected. The food in all of the ala carte restaurants was excellent - our favourite was Bordeaux.

The spa was expensive but massages just outside the hotel were a big hit for only $25.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Now Amber Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mutt7S3,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us at Secrets Vallarta Bay. It is important to us and we appreciate all the feedback that we receive from all our guests which gives us a better understand where improvements may be necessary to main consistency in our standards. We would like to highlight each point that you have kindly mentioned to us.

We have made the investigations in regards to your review and see that you have mentioned all the types of situations that made you become uncertain about our services. Please allow us to clarify your room situation which you were upgraded to Secrets to the same category of room that you were originally booked. The other rooms were moved to Secrets as well to a Preferred Club Junior Suite Ocean view and in fact the 4th floor of our building has a larger balcony overlooking the ocean.

It sadness us to hear that there was a miscommunication between our Food & Beverage Staff of certain Restaurants with your reservations; for this situation we extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced in our Restaurants.

We had a sold out group during the weekend that you visited us and had one private event during the evening as well as the wedding that was not extended up until 10:00 p.m. We are truly sorry that this made your stay far from relaxing as you expected.

Please give us the pleasure to have you once more to fulfill your expectation in your next vacations.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the now amber from Nov.13 to 20. The resort is rated as a five star resort but I feel that it is way over rated. I have been going to pvr for over 30 years and have stayed at many all inclusive resorts so I speak with lots of experience. I was not impressed with the fact that after check in , I was told that I had to sit and listen to an orientation about their vacation club(timeshare) . Overall their buffets had good quality food but lacked the variety I have found in many other all inclusive resorts. The bar service on the beach and around the pool was extremely poor and very inconsistent . The pool bar opened at 10 a.m. and at times I was lucky if I got a drink by 12. The pool snack bar only had hot dogs, hamburgers and tortilla chips available . Moreover there was no fountain drink dispenser so you either had to get a drink from the pool bar or wait for the waiter to serve you which usually took a long time. The Castaways restaurant by the pool was OK but the amount of food you received would not feed a small child let alone an adult. I ordered the Caesar salad and got one piece of bread and two (yes, only two) romaine leaves covered with dressing. On a more positive note, the service in the restaurants and buffet was excellent and I was very impressed with the room and its amenities.
..

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Now Amber Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

Address: David Alfaro Sisqueiros 164 | Col. Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Now Amber Puerto Vallarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Amex, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Now Amber Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Amber Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.