We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems to go from Great to Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Seems to go from Great to Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is our second visit in 2 years and I think they got better than last summer. Rooms were nice and well designed with plenty of room and a comfy bed in the junior suite with a view to die for. I watched dolphin pods almost every morning I looked for them pass by through the bay. The hotel is beautiful with a lot of detail paid attention to as well as extremely clean. Food is actually better this year (it was good last year) as the chef is incorporating more seasonings now. We didn't have a bad meal at any time. We ate at 6 of the resteraunts (2 of them twice not counting the awesome breakfast buffet on the Market Cafe we frequented daily) with highest marks for Hamitsu and Capers (we heard Capers, the Italian place, was weakest but I disagree and Tepenyaki is great.). The best asset of the resort is the people. Jose and Humberto at Market Cafe for breakfast and lunch are the epitome of professional and most excellent at taking care of the guest. Everyone was kind, pleasant and went the extra mile for all guests ... even the not so pleasant guests. Activities schedule offers much to do if you don't want to relax and enjoy the drinks and view. Seriously, for the value I don't think this place can be beat. I don't think we are done with PV or Secrets yet. Looking forward to next year already.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
WTJaybird,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is great to know that your return visit exceeded your first. Our enviable views can be enjoyed in each one of our ocean facing suites. We always strive to improve the service and quality thereof which we provide to our valued guests. It thrills us to know that improvements at our restaurants and facilities were distinguished this time around. I also want to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share with us who particularly made your stay special. You can be sure this will be shared with their immediate supervisors.

Secrets Vallarta Bay & Puerto Vallarta have so much more to offer. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for the best Unlimited-Luxury® experience yet.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    245
    79
    26
    12
See reviews for
49
801
26
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olds, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I came to Secrets for 10 days on our honeymoon. Upon arriving, we were impressed by the staff and their willingness to help with whatever we needed. This was our first time at an all inclusive resort and we would highly recommend it to anyone. The rooms were gorgeous and very spacious. The cleaning staff did an excellent job tidying and organizing our room on a daily basis. The poolside area is exceptionally maintained as staff are always working to keep it looking nice. Our favorite part was the dinner service because of the waiters and staff we met. Everyone is so friendly and helpful when we had questions about the Spanish language. Some of the outstanding staff include Juan Jose Ragla Morano (waiter), Humberto Inigues (waiter), Antonio Campos (bellboy), Diego Daualos (waiter), Manuel Bugare (waiter), Heriberto Garcia (waiter), Ricardo (waiter) and Ezequiel Gamez Murrieta (waiter). They are all fantatic people and they have conviced us to definitely visit this resort again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Kaitlyn S,

Greetings from beautiful Puerto Vallarta! We thank you for taking time to share with our audience your recent experience at our beautiful resort. We are honored to have served as your first Unlimited-Luxury® experience. We are thrilled to know our liked our well-appointed suites, gourmet restaurants and surroundings were to your liking and met your every expectation. Above all, we thank you for naming the individuals who made your stay memorable. Our strongest asset is our caring, phenomenal staff which looks forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was the first all-inclusive I've ever visited. It was perfectly nice, but not the type of vacation I enjoy. My husband and I stayed at the Secrets Preferred Club.

The benefits: the rooms are nice and the service was fantastic. Seriously, everyone was so helpful and friendly. Mauricio, one of the pool servers, was amazing and so prompt. Rarely did we have to wait for drinks while lounging by the pool. It was also great to not have to worry about buying bottled water in Mexico. The drinks and treats in the Preferred Club lobby was wonderful. I also left my flat iron in the room, and they found it and FedExed it to me (I paid, of course).

Negatives: The food was thoroughly mediocre. Overall, everything was pretty bland. I thought the French restaurant was one of the best. I was disappointed by the Asian place the most because there was the most hype around it, but the food was bleh. The other negative is that the water is pretty gross. We went kayaking (thanks to all the great scheduled activities) and you could tell this was near where cruise ships docked.

Overall, we really enjoyed it there, but we're probably not going to ever stay at an all-inclusive ever again. I enjoy exploring the towns and finding different restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We love Secrets Puerto Vallarta (Adults Only) Resort and had to do it again.
This was our 3rd trip within the last 3 years so the resort opened in April of 2012 and we got married there July 5th 2012.
If you like to plan your wedding or any other event there we do event planning and can help in making it an experience of a life time.
Okay so what makes this place worthy of a 3 peat? Decor, Excellent customer service, ultimate relax and romantic setting, great food options, preferred status amenities and once again phenomenal customer service. Décor; the place is new and looks it…The lobby entrance reminds you of a Roman palace with breath taking open air views of the ocean, moon lighted nights, picturesque sun sets all overlooking the resorts grounds. The cool ocean evening breeze after the rain as you sit in the chic lounge chairs throughout the lobby is both romantic and therapeutic and this is no exaggeration. The rooms are all something out of a vogue magazine with drapery and marble floors and large sliding terrace doors. Raining showers with marble seating and glass sliding doors. Jacuzzi’s in every room in or outside on your terrace and daily turn down service and restocking of refreshments including beer all included. 24 hour room service and if you stay as a preferred guest you have a lobby bar and food service area from morning till 11 PM every night so you can always snack or grab a cocktail whenever you pass through your lobby just a few doors away if you want something special to bring to your room. (This is in preferred guest areas only). Some may not feel the cost of preferred is worth it and if we did not experience it from day one perhaps we would agree but because each time we’ve booked preferred we cannot experience this resort any other way and feel the same. But the place is great without it…… Customer service; From the time they hand you a cold face cloth and glass of champagne as you exit the cab on arrival there is never a time when you feel unattended. Smiling faces, friendly gesture and sincere efforts to please and accommodate your every desire and need is standard. They go beyond and above in all and every aspect of customer service from bell boys, bartenders, waiters, room attendants, preferred front desk receptionist staff treating all guest as preferred royalty. There is no way you stay here and don’t feel special. And all this is done with no tipping required or anticipated. However when and if you do tip it’s because you feel impelled by their excellent service to do so. Ultimate relax and romantic setting; We stayed in the Presidential suite for our wedding in preferred and in the preferred swim out on our last 2 visits. Really if you are there for relaxation and romance you never have to leave your room especially if you have a swim up where you walk out your terrace door and into your own pool facing all the activities and affording you waiter service right to your pool if desired. But if you are a sun bathing lover there is plenty of sun and spaces by the pool and adjoining beach to soak in all the sun your heart desires. The beach area is nice but if you are looking to swim in the ocean water all day long this might not be the place for you because the shore can be kind of rocky but nevertheless many people swim and the mountain capped views with little villages lining the plush fertile forest are captivating. Some of our best photos were on the beach, truly the French Riviera of Mexico. Of course there are locals trying to sell their goods on the beach but if you are clear and polite about not being interested they do not bother you. (Parasailing, iron horse, jet skies’ can all be purchased on the resorts section of the beach although not affiliated with the resorts services). We’ve done both Jet skies’ and parasailing and each time have had a great experience. $50 U.S. per person and well worth it. Great food choices; Italian, French, Japanese and Mexican restaurants with something great on each ones menu. Oceania for great seafood and breathtaking sunset picture opts. They have a breakfast buffet that’s a must each morning in an American café with every kind of food you can think of. There is a poolside grill open every day from 11 AM until 5 PM along with feature meals of the day set up in other areas near the pools. If you are staying as a preferred guest all day long you have breakfast, lunch and dinner self-served in the lobby until 11 PM so you are never short on something tasty to eat. And as if that is not enough there is 24 hour room service….. Final service; once again our highlight of this resort is exceptional treatment by it’s staff and management across the board. Pampered and catered to is how you feel all day long. (Special thanks to Raul preferred manager from our first visit above and beyond.. Omar, Ricard & Mauricio pool bar all exceptional, Noe' Leon preferred bar & Ezequiel from Nimitsu made us feel special when told it was our anniversary, Samuel, Eduviges thanks to you all).
Cons; The night club Desires never really gets started and I contribute a lot of that to terrible promotion, pre-programed music instead of DJ that can cater the music to the crowds. Location—it’s on the family side of the resort don’t start until late and a bit out of the way for some I think it would be frequent by the adult guest looking for some music and fun if it was more accommodating to them. Don’t have an evening or late night pool party or other late night activities and can leave you with not much to do during the evening hours. They do have show’s and activities around the pool during the day but no late evening food to snack around the pool area or music nor activities. Pool area gets crowded during the day and people indiscriminately save seats early morning taking all choice seating’s before 9 AM then leaving with guest frantically looking for somewhere decent to sit by the pool or beach. The good thing is that they have several pools and the waiters will remove unattended towels intended to save seats. The town of Puerto Vallarta is safe to explore just have peso’s instead on foreign currency to purchase things which you can get at a bank for the current rate. The hotels rate always seems to be below the current rate of exchange. Service can be kind of slow in the restaurants so don’t be in a rush for your food. Their Members programs is a hard sell and 90 min presentation is too much time watsed when you on vacation and want to relax and enjoy every moment and dollar you are spending to stay here. Also they get pushy and visibly disappointed at the end when you’re not buying……. Outside of a free night stay the compensation they offer for your time we felt was not worth it. The $200 spa coupon does not always work out to be cost affective outside of just paying for the service you want without costing you 90 mins of your vacation time. Avoid air Mexico if you can, major delays, overbooking and missed connecting flight issues. Direct flights are win, win resort only 15 minute cab ride from airport and airports cabs are regulated cost 21 dollars no hassle. Ask cost before getting into cab.

So if it’s relaxation, romance and a laid back experience in true pampering style you are looking for this is the place. If you looking for this plus party central this may not be the place although they organize daily club excursion events from the "Now" area for groups wanting some night time fun where they get VIP sections in the club, drinks and transportation there at an extra cost. Haven’t tried it but all who told us they did it had a blast………

Hope this was helpful………
Rich

Room Tip: If you get a swim out you want your room nearest the beach and pool which gives you the best views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

It was nice. The staff is great. The only downsides are the vendors on the beach and the rooms could've been kept up a little better. The rooms were dusty and my bathroom door would not close. The humidity was the biggest downside but that's out of their control. Everything was basically in a breeze way so their was no escaping that. I would go again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Marie J,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are very glad to know that our resort is a place you would enjoy visiting again. It disappoints us to hear that our gourmet restaurants were not to your liking and that there were details with your suite. We invite you to contact our front desk staff or operator for any and all concerns you may have on your next visit. It is our pleasure to do all we can to make our valued clients stay the most memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back at Secrets Vallarta Bay in the very near future.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had been to this hotel before and two of the Secrets hotels in the Mayan Riviera so when we decided to do a destination wedding, we wanted the sunset over the Pacific. Although it took a little poking when we got there, the hotel and staff gave us the fairy tale wedding that we always wanted. Even though we were a large group, everything was still seamless and perfect. Our wedding planner, Fatima, had everything ready to go and made it really hands off and easy. The wedding Photographer, Cris, is a talent like no other. She has an amazing eye for lighting and background and captured some amazing photos that we will cherish forever. If you do not do anything else at this resort, get with Cris and take some pictures. She can even make my crazy group look good. Also, the cheesecake. It will make you melt.

Room Tip: upgrade, upgrade, upgrade. The Preferred Club Master Suite is worth the additional charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Jacob y,

Greetings from Secrets Vallarta Bay! It was our honor to serve as your host for your very special day. Allow me to take this opportunity to congratulate you both and wish you an ever after just as beautiful as the first day of your union. We look forward to welcoming you again to this your home to celebrate the endless anniversaries to come.

Mauricio Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I just stayed here for a week for our honeymoon. We arrived to champagne and a cold towel. We checked in and went upstairs to find our room with rose petals on the bed and Jacuzzi. The view from the balcony was stunning and the room itself was gorgeous! We were amazed by the beauty of this place. The hotel staff was just extraordinary and so nice!! I have never had service like that in the United States. Sergio, the concierge from the Vacation Club was so friendly. He gave us great advice and answered any questions we had when we bumped into him everyday. You could tell he loved his job and we loved talking with him. The bartender Angel was also wonderful. His drink "angel surprise" was delicious and we had to track him down in different parts of the hotel to get a drink from him. The food at every restaurant was to die for! The only downside was that the menus were confusing with fancy wording like "thousand leafs" and we had no idea what we were ordering, but it didn't matter because everything was delicious. The hotel was clean and very well maintained. Alejandro from Apple helped us book our excursions and was very helpful with questions we had. When we originally booked the hotel package through Apple, we were told we would be getting the honeymoon package with free massages and dinner on the beach and that didn't happen, but Alex made some phone calls and at least got us a bottle of wine in our room. Mario served us cocktails at night in the lobby area and was very accommodating and friendly as well. Congratulations to he and his wife on the future baby boy, Mario Jr.!!! The pools felt great in the sun and we had fun with the entertainment team playing beach volleyball and the "crazy game." Overall, we did not want to leave. We will definitely be back to gorgeous Puerto Vallarta and will bring friends to enjoy this experience with us next time!

Room Tip: We saw several of our friend's rooms. The smallest room is gorgeous and plenty large enough with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa

Address: David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic. Refined. Remarkable. Located on the golden sand beaches of the Pacific coast within walking distance of the famous El Malecon boardwalk, this vibrant oceanfront resort provides adults 24/7 access to amazing nightlife, non-stop entertainment and Unlimited-Luxury(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.