We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt like a princess here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Vallarta Bay

Save Saved
You added Secrets Vallarta Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Vallarta Bay
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164, Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #7 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I felt like a princess here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed in the Preferred Club ocean
View Jr. Suite. Awesome view of
The Pacific. Room was spacious
W/a spa-like bathroom. I really liked
The private bar for this preferred section.
Named my tequila & was able to get
Grand Manier in it. 3 fabulous bartenders
Here. Alexandro, Noe & Juan Valdez.
I felt like it was dueling margaritas.
One would try to outdo the others. Juan
Valdez even showed me his lime
Sunflower garnish for them. Ask
Him he loves to show you. Concierges
Were great for this section too. Julia
& Violetta aim to please. If I asked
"would it be possible...." they'd stop
Me & let me know "anything is possible
Here!" it was true. The staff here told me
They love their jobs & the service
Shows it. The restaurants were really
Quite good. Being from NOLA I usually
Miss our food at home. What a surprise
I got. Everything was really good.
Our favorite was Oceana. You could
Sit in an open air rest. See & hear the
Ocean & get a great meal . The wait
Staff here was exceptional. No
Reservations are needed at any of
The rest. Except the Hibacihi one.
Tried the Mexican one - really good
Red Snapper, & beautiful decor.
Tried the Italian - really good veal
Dish - decor was a little drab here but the food made up for it. Felt great to
Be treated like royalty. Got great price
W/air from cheapcarribean.com
Our airport transfers were handled by
Olympus tours. Our flight was 2 hrs.
Late. I called cheap carrineabean &
They adjusted our pick-up time. No
Problem. Philipe w/ Olympus booked
My husbands' fishing trip. He loved it!
It was 1/2 the price of his fish trip in
Cabo last year. They caught 3 yellowfin
Tuna, crew cleaned them & you could
Bring back to resort to have cooked for
You. Go to El Melacon 15 min from
Resort $6 USD cab. Reminded me
Of our French Quarter w/all the shops,
Bars & rest. But on the ocean for about
A mile. Fun,fun & more fun. The people
Here are very friendly & go out their way
To assist you. OK I could ramble on
Some more but, go see for yourself
This Secrets Resort. We absolutely
Loved it & Puerta Vallarta. Plan to
Go back next year & bring some friends.
I can't wait! Thanks to everyone at the
Resort I couldn't mention for making
This our best vacation EVER.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    626
    203
    68
    21
    12
See reviews for
40
656
21
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our first all-inclusive vacation. All of the staff were helpful, welcoming, friendly and were always smiling. Our room was gorgeous; had ocean view, balcony, hot tub, large safe for money and valuables that was easy to use, every evening the sounds of waves hitting the beach lulled in the background. The property was immaculate and gated, so there were no pushy peddlers hitting us up for a fresh sale near the lobby or on the beach. There were daily activities and nightly shows for entertainment. Secrets is adults-only, but is connected to another property, Now, that is family-friendly. We rode the bus into town but it was easy to walk around as well. Be warned when you fly into puerto vallarta there are many pushy salespeople in the airport trying to rope you into things, we had ground transportation set up in advance to avoid this whole scene and were thankful for it. I would love to return, will definitely go to a Secrets again. We went during Spring Break and there was always plenty of room in and around the pool and beach areas.

Room Tip: We were on the main floor, easy to walk to the bar and seething area with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We vacationed at Secrets Vallarta Bay from April 13-20, 2013. This hotel is amazing! The rooms are beautiful, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is great. Everything is spotless! The pools never felt crowded, the swim up bar was great, poolside food great!
If you stay at this hotel and would like to go on some adventures we recommend Vallarta Adventures. We did the Extreme Zip lining which was amazing. The staff is a lot of fun, very professional and extremely safe! We also did the snorkling trip out ot the Marietas islands which was a lot of fun. I recommend both the hotel and Vallarta Adventures!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our first resort "stay".
Found it very dificult to get used to the idea that we could virtually ask for anything and it was there.
Our room was good and had a sea view.
Air conditioner did not work but was promptly fixed.
The food was varied and first class.
20 minute walk to the Maicon district.
Cabs were reasonable at 60-70 pesos.
Lastly ALL the staff were fantastic!!!

Room Tip: Go high to avoid any pool noise. I think all the rooms had a sea view so not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great resort. Beautiful place to visit, would like to return. The staff was either very good or indifferent. Turn down happened only once. Had to make multiple requests to get things corrected. Would definitely recommend this destination. Very safe and the people are very friendly. Within walking distance to almost anything in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

What an incredible resort! The property is new and very well maintained, and the staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful at every turn. We stayed 6 days and wish we had booked at least 6 more! The restaurants were excellent (only wish they brewed stronger coffee at breakfast, but there is a separate coffee shop in the sister property next door - NOW Amber). Room service breakfast was a treat!

The rooms are fantastic - loved the large shower with two shower heads, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The housekeeping staff does an amazing job, and turn down service made each evening return to the room a special surprise. Tomasa was our housekeeper for most of our stay and she was an absolute gem of a lady.

There was a lot to do in PVR, so be sure to book some excursions and visit some of the local restaurants. We enjoyed the ATV and jet ski excursions, and one of our favorite local restaurants was called (in English) the Happy Lobster - about a $6-$8 cab ride away. I'm sure the spa is excellent too, but we decided to head to a local message shop just outside of the resort and had amazing full-body one hour messages for about $45-$50 for the two of us.

We will definitely return to this resort - it was hard to leave!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a "bad" room on the property, but the Preferred tower rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed April 14-21 for anniversary. First let me say, Puerto Vallarta is beautiful. Charming and naturally beautiful. I would reccomend anyone travel to this area. If you go, you can't go wrong with Secrets Vallarta Bay.

Pros:
-Brand new crisp and clean hotel, showing no signs of wear.
-Great location, close to the airport, Marina for activites and Malecon (boardwalk) no more than $6 cab ride to most activities.
-Stylish rooms with comfortable beds
-Exceptionaly friendly service, we do tip, but people are generally people working are upbeat despite tips. You want to tip them
-Great options for in hotel activites: Yoga, Archery, Pool,ect
-Food is generally good, for an All inclusive. Many healthy options to avoid the resprt weight gain, if that's your thing. Lots of fresh fish, Veg and Fruit.

The only Con was the beach. It was so rocky that we didn't even go in!
Pools are great and we went on island trips and swam in ocean there.

We did stay in Perferred Club and were upgraded to Master Suite. It is a nice luxury, but not neccesary, because the resort is great. You don't wear wristbands, so no one treats you differently because you are preferred.The pros are upgraded liquor if you drink and changing fresh buffet. This was nice if you missed a meal, or wanted a snack. They did accomidate every need in preferred club. Splurge if you can, if not don't worry. Check in and out were great in preferred. Not much of a vacation club pitch, so pressure was off.

Tips:
Rush past Time share people at airport, to get your cab at Taxi Booth. Seems like they are ruining the charm of PV and the locals don't like it either.
Bring singles to tip, it goes very far:)
Get a swim out room if you like to swim at night. Water is warm, but Sun only hits it in late afternoon. My husband and I got one because we enjoy moonlight swimming

We have stayed in many All inclusive and Secrets ranked among the top experiences, especially for the price. It is very balanced. We know it's a good vacation, when we want to plan our next trip, before we even leave.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are great if you like to swim at night, when it is quiet, in the moonlight. water is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secrets Vallarta Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Vallarta Bay

Address: David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164, Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Vallarta Bay 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Secrets Vallarta Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Vallarta Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.