We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort ever!!! More like an 8 star!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Regina, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best resort ever!!! More like an 8 star!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at secrets from Nov 7 to the 14 and let me start by saying that my wife and I have been to quite a few resorts across mexico and the caribean. Having stayed at sandals, barcelo's and riu's this resort hands down was the best resort I have ever been to! Those who complain about this place, i would really like to know where they have stayed in the past that they can hate on this resort. From the time we pulled up and Jobe the bellboy meet us with Fernando we felt like we were at "EDEN RESORT" from the movie couples retreat lol. We stayed in the preferred club oceanview with a jacuzzi on the balcony! Amazing view! A big big shout out goes to Raul and the ladies in the preferred tower concierge... They knew everything that was going on and went out of there way for everything we possibly could think of. We were early risers and were having trouble timing when the maid came so we would be out of the room. Raul noticed this and had it set up that the maids would come early in the morning knowing that we would be out of the room! Every restaurant we went to, they opened the door with a huge smile and greeted my wife and I by name! All the restuarants featured delicious top notch menu's and the buffet had so many fresh made to order stations that you might as well be a an al a carte. This resort glows of class.. so gentlemen when you eat you need to where slacks and golf shirt or button up! if you wanna wear wife beaters and flipflops to a restaurant that offers rack of lamb, filet mignon, or lobster, than this resort is too classy for you... dont blame the resort for a stupid dress code lol!! The beach is nice for PV. A little pebbly as you enter the ocean but they were adding more sand as we were leaving. The resort is top notch clean and there was always something to do. Every pool and hot tub was infiniti style so it looked as though you were always in the ocean. I could go on and on about this place.. bottom line its awesome! And we want to sent a special shout out to Heriberto from the market cafe... he knew we started our day out with a mamosa or two and he was always there to help and spark up good conversation.. and he always comment on my lions jerseys lol

Room Tip: free unlimited calling to U.S or Canada if you stay in the preffered tower. most rooms in the preff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    243
    79
    25
    12
See reviews for
49
794
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We travel to 2 or 3 Mexican AI resorts per year. Secrets Vallarta Bay is one of the best all around resorts that we have been to. The location is great - beach front, short cab ride to airport, malecon and flea markets with a Mega store a short walk away. The facilities are all new and kept very clean, Food was excellent with great service. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The only complaint that we had was that the wireless internet service, while free, often had a weak signal and there were no options (eg. cable connection) to improve the service.

We would definitely consider returning for another visit!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony or deck with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have stayed in a few AI in the past and this one was by far the best we have ever been to.
Restuarants:
We aren't used to having so many dinner options. We tried to stick with fish options as much as possible as it was always extremely fresh. The breakfast buffet got slightly boring after a couple of days but it was still good, we ended up doing room service for last couple days of our trip and it was very good. Lunch at Oceana was very good the Shrimp Cocktail is great and their fish tacos are very tasty. Bordeaux was very good their portions are small but if you order from each section it is quite filling. The Seabass was very tasty and their Creme Brulee square was excellent. Tamarindo is on the Now side and allows kids but we thought it was worth going to as the food there was excellent. We did the Teppanyaki Himitsu and it was very good but the grill is very hot so the room is pretty warm. Capers wasn't my favorite but it was still okay and had lot's of options. They do a fire show with a pig roast buffet that looked amazing but we didn't try it everyone we talked to loved it though the Fire show was quite unreal so even if you decide to eat at an à la carte you should still watch the show.
Drinks
The staff was excellent and our pool server Christian was great at making sure we always had full drinks--Tips definately go a long way. The liquor variety was something that we aren't used to. They have a wide array of flavoured vodkas and so many beer options as well as anything else your heart desires. The preferred tower is a great bonus to have an extra bartender, we stopped there almost everytime we left/went to our room.
Rooms
We stayed in the preferred junior swim out and it was awesome. As other reviewers have mentioned their shower is amazing I am not a shower person normally and I would become one if we had something like this at home. I am also shocked that other reviewers said the beds are hard here of all the AI we have stayed at this was by far the most comfortable bed we have been in. This hotel is really set up for couples the shower and bathtub are open to the room so if you are going with friends the Now side would be a better option. Turn Down Service could have been slightly earlier as many times by the time they came we were already in bed. We turned on the Do not disturb switch and forgot to turn it off in the morning so we didn't have maid service for a day.
Pool
Secrets providing floaties was a great extra that we weren't expecting and no towel cards was an awesome plus and their towels are HUGE. They have alot of lounge chairs but if you want one beside the pool they get taken fairly quickly. The Ocean is quite rocky but if one you get past the rocky area it is pretty nice and fairly calm.
Shows:
We only went to the circus show and the Fire show and both were amazing. They are the same preformers for both and they are very talented.

We will definately be returning to this Hotel in the future.

Room Tip: The Swim out rooms are great! All the rooms face the pool and ocean so paying for an oceanview gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Just got back Nov 25th from Secrets Vallarta Bay. We stayed in the preferred tower ocean view room on the 5th floor. Room was very nice, excellent shower! Only complaint is the nasty, ugly unfinished hotel and vagrants you see as soon as you open your door. I did see the infamous rooster--but did not hear him our entire stay.

The grounds are beautiful, very clean and new. The pools are lovely--a little small-- but nice. The no towel card was a bonus! We didn't see anyone reserving loungers or floats as other people have complained. We had no problems with servers not coming to our spot--we also tip..people should take that into consideration.

Restaurant were nice.. No reservations also a bonus. We never had issues with lineups. The food was all beautifully presented, but lacked taste. I've been to all inclusive before, and its pretty much all the same. The room service food however, was the best we've had at AI resort. We only had one time were we had to phone front desk for dishes to be picked up. No biggie.

Staff were very friendly and eager to help. The alcohol selection is much better in the preferred lounge.. we are Grey Goose fans.

The resort is not perfect, probably more of a 41/2 star.. But we enjoyed our stay. We might return but we like to check out other resorts as well. If you have booked at Secrets, you will have an enjoyable stay. Try to get to Sayulita --about 60km north-- the beach is beautiful!



  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Secrets is a beautiful resort. The rooms are clean, comfortable, quiet and tastefully decorated. The staff is very friendly and eager to make your stay memorable. The property is well designed, well-kept, clean and modern. And the food is delicious! It was like being on a cruise ship but without the ship!

There is a security gate that everyone has to check into/out of when arriving and departing. I'm not sure it it was to keep track of the hotel guests for our safety or just to keep hotel crashers out. Maybe both?

The check in process takes a while. They greet you with a cold towel and glass of champagne then walk you to the front desk area. The front desk person tells you about the hotel and gives you upgrade options before giving you your room key. They then send you to the concierge desk for dome soft selling of the hotel's other properties and activity features. unfortunately you have to sit through the 5 minute spiel to get your hotel vouchers. It's not too bad but be prepared.

The standard rooms have balconies with beautiful ocean views, a lovely bathroom and your basic amenities (stocked mini fridge, shampoo, body wash, body lotion, soap, shower cap, mending kit and a vanity kit). Be sure you ask for a high room (above the 5th floor or the 3rd floor lobby slightly obstructs your view) We upgraded to the Preferred room which didn't have as nice a view but had a private hot tub on the balcony, snacks in the room (Pringles and Peanut M&Ms), a separate bar with additional food options 24 hours a day plus added bathroom amenities (hair conditioner and SPF 15 sunblock).

There were a number of food options every day. Not all of the dinner restaurants are open every night so plan accordingly. All the food outlets were quite delicious with the exception of room service (it was ok). The drinks were strong and the waiters were eager to serve. Small US$ went a long way as most people didn't bother to tip. We finally realized that if you didn't see what you were looking for, just ask. Somehow the server will find it and bring it to you! The one thing that was lacking was a self-serve ice cream machine. That would have been nice. Also, keep in mind that those staying at Secrets (adults only) can eat at both hotel properties but those staying at Now (families) can only stay on their side of the hotel and the dress code at the nicer restaurants is enforced. And the house wines were quite good (and included). No need to buy any bottles!

The spa looked nice but was incredibly expensive - even with the special vouchers they give you at check in. Instead, go out the resort gate and turn left. Healing Hands massage parlor is just steps away from the hotel and 50-minute massages are just $25 (not including tip). They don't really speak English but the massages were quite good!

There were a ton of activities (pool games, yoga, spanish lessons, archery, kayaking, bingo, etc), an evening performance and live music in each lobby every night. They even had evening movies and NFL games (with plenty of drinks and snacks). You can participate in as many or as few things as you'd like. All are included. Although we didn't leave the hotel except for Scuba lessons and the massage, it looked like one could easily go explore Puerto Vallarta. Local taxis knew where the hotel was.

One final note: Some obnoxious people "reserved" lounge chairs and pool floats at the pool by throwing their towels on the chairs. One couple had their chairs "reserved" the entire time we were at the pool (about 4 hours) and not once sat there and another couple actually took a float and stuffed it under their chair while they went to the upper pool for over an hour! Apparently the rule is no hoarding floats and if nobody has used the chair in 30 minutes, feel free to move their belongings out of the way.

The resort far exceeded my expectations and I hope to return again!

Room Tip: Definitely consider the Preferred room upgrade if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Secrets Vallarta Bay is a beautiful new resort which shares amenities with the neighboring sister hotel Now Amber.

The Secrets side is designed to be an adults only hotel and is very much geared towards couples which is great if you are like me and not wanting to deal with kids on your vacation.

This is all inclusive resort does not require wristbands. Hooray for one less tan line.

There are 3 pools and 2 hot tubs. All extremely clean and at a great temperature.

Beach towels do not require a towel card and are readily abundant at the pool area. Getting a lounger was never an issue. All huge pluses.

For those who enjoy silence you may be annoyed by the rather loud ambient music that plays all day.

The rooms are immaculate and fully stocked with toiletries (including a lovely sunscreen), and drinks.

I stayed in the preferred tower which came with a soaker tub in the bathroom and another one on the balcony. Staying in this section I was also privy to a separate snack bar and bar in the separate lobby and our own concierge.

My only complaint with the rooms was that the resort did not provide 2 beds as requested, the air conditioner and fans controls were difficult to find (they are next to the bed behind a decorative curtain) AND there is a rooster in the empty lot next door. Cockadoodledoo anyone? Seriously - you'll hear it on a lower floor.

The food so far has been excellent. With 8 restaurants you will always find something you like. No reservations required except for the tempanyaki.

NOT excellent is the speed of service. While all very friendly it is obvious that the wait staff is either inexperienced, disorganized or both. This also applies the the staff serving in the pool area. I don't know about everyone else but I certainly do not come to a "fancy" resort to wait 20 minutes for every drink that I order (and that includes water)

Beyond that you will find an abundance of activities to partake in during the day. Inclusive but not pushy activities staff. The beach is awesome and non motorized water craft are available for free. If you need anything the staff will go out of their way to find it for you.

Overall a great place to stay. Just come armed with patience and attempt dinner early to avoid waits. This service staff REALLY needs to get up to speed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Room ambience, resort layout, pools, beach,hot tub, amazing or as they say on their guest survey "over the top". However, they are understaffed in all the restaurants. The no reservation policy leads to large loud groups being seated, long waits for meals,no refills of water or wine. It appears that they are catering to large corperate groups also, 150 to 350, with little regard for the regular vacationing group of say four to six.

The first day we arrived, Nov.8th a large obnoxious group over ran the front lobby, and lobby bar.fortunately they left the next day. Nov.13th staff started removing the beach huts, and started an extensive exercise of leveling sand,very dusty,noisy,and annoying!!!!!!! This disrupted 3/4 of the beach frontage. Nov.14th and 15th staff started erecting a large structure ...hammering on
steel beams and using loud impact drills to fasten bolts. They also installed scaffloding in the main pool,Yes, scaffolding,taking up 1/2 of it. Lounge chairs were removed and replaced with tables, light and sound towers,cords, piles of extra chairs etc. for an upcoming function. I work construction, I don't go on vacation to see this.

Understandably this is a newly opened hotel, but still, for the huge price they are charging (we stayed one week only but our friends stayed for the same time frame but for 2 weeks at $5800.00 for 2 weeks), they should be far more mindful of some common sense considerations that we have enjoyed at far less expensive resorts. Again, while staff were friendly & well dressed, they were highly understaffed and seemingly unprepraed to provide the level service expected and commanded by a 4+ star resort. Biggest disappointment was the service. Even when tipping generously you were hard pressed to see a server on the beach or poolside return to offer a second beverage. Never had this experience in Mexico before! Clearly this is a management issue, rather then unwilling servers, as they were simply too busy and understaffed to be attentive.

I would be reluctant to book here again until they have been open and running a lot longer, in order for them to iron out several bothersome & disruptive issues that impacted our overall enjoyment.

Room Tip: Rooms were excellent, one of the only things I can find no complaint with. Very luxurious. We were i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa

Address: David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic. Refined. Remarkable. Located on the golden sand beaches of the Pacific coast within walking distance of the famous El Malecon boardwalk, this vibrant oceanfront resort provides adults 24/7 access to amazing nightlife, non-stop entertainment and Unlimited-Luxury(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.