We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Vacation Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Osoyoos, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Vacation Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our fifth anniversary at Secrets Vallarta Bay between October 20 and 29. First off, this hotel should be much higher rated on tripadvisor. I can only assume it will move up with more reviews since it's only been open since March 2012.

It is centrally located just north of town and close to everything. It took us less than ten minutes from the airport. Our feet hadn't hit the curb before we were handed a champagne and cool towel. Check-in was quick and friendly with the hotel amenities well explained. While our bags were forwarded to our room, we were chatted up by Alejandra, who wanted us to join the vacation ownership/time share presentation the next morning. She wasn't pushy, just super friendly. We ended up chatting about town and what to do and see more than the time-share presentation. At no time did we feel like we were talking to a sales person. We didn't end up going to the presentation but would have been happy to simply because Alejandra was so friendly.

We had a swim out room for our stay. it was exceptionally furnished, very spacious, and very clean. We ended up switching to a different swim-out the next day just for a better view of the pool area, but there was nothing wrong with the first room other than a slight air-conditioning smell (common for places with nearly 100% humidity), but that is not why we switched. Just the better view. Our request was quickly accommodated.

The bed was super comfy, bathroom was gorgeous (although could have been better lit - a design choice I guess), mini bar was well stocked (other reviewers have complained that the coronas in the mini bar were the small size. Seriously? There was a ton of them and they're unlimited. How hard it is crack open another bottle?).

The grounds were well-manicured, and completely free of maintenance issues. The pictures on tripadvisor speak for themselves. The place is gorgeous. We especially enjoyed the open lobby overlooking the pools and beach. It was a favorite place to watch the sunset and return to after dinner for a nightcap.

We took advantage of the spa during our stay as well. Beautiful facility with several rooms tucked away from view, sauna, steam, and hydrotherapy. As nice as we have been to anywhere. Perhaps the best, in fact.

The most pleasant surprise of the entire experience was the food. We have done several vacations in Mexico (Cancun, Playa, Cabo), and have never had food that came anywhere close to the quality and creativity we enjoyed at Secrets Vallarta Bay. The variety, freshness, and presentation rivaled anything we have seen elsewhere in the world. Every meal was delicious. My favorite menu item was the Tuna Steak on Wasabi Mash at Oceana. We also enjoyed the Teppanyaki at Himitsu. Not every restaurant is open every evening, but this isn't a problem as you could hit your favorite restaurant two or three times over the course of a week. I would suggest hitting them all so you don't miss out.

The bars were all great as well. If you want top shelf booze, you won't find it pool-side (nor should you in my mind). Pool-side drinks aren't too sweet like most all-inclusives and there was a good selection of beers both Mexican and foreign. The lobby bar had some better liquor selections and from what I understand, the preferred club has even better.

As for service, it was excellent. The resort wasn't completely full, so we were more than well attended to. We were never without a drink pool side, service was prompt at all of the restaurants except for perhaps one night at Oceana when it seemed the whole resort showed up for dinner at the same time even though there were other options open. All of the staff, from housekeeping to the manager, were incredibly attentive and friendly. We have not experienced better service anywhere.

Other nice surprises were the giant poolside screen to watch the world-series under the stars complete with burgers, beer, and popcorn as well as the baby turtle release on the beach in front of the resort.

Like many all-inclusives, we received $400 in resort credits through US Airways Vacations. These are not useful as you can only apply them as discounts to certain items you may not want anyway. This is not a complaint, just a heads up that this shouldn't sway your decision on where you stay when planning your vacation, no matter how many resort credits are included in your stay.

As for complaints, there are very, very few. There was no conditioner in the room, just shampoo. A couple of days, housekeeping missed replacing our facecloths. I could have done without the hardcore porn channel and the fitness facility could have had a few more machines/free weights as there was plenty of room for them. The beach isn't great but if you are looking for white sand and blue water, you shouldn't be coming to Puerto Vallarta in the first place.

All in all, our expectations were hugely exceeded. We thought of Puerto Vallarta as kind of party place from the 90s (which it still is), but it still has so much to offer. Vallarta Adventures has many eco-adventure tours and you should take full advantage if you go to Puerto Vallarta, especially the Extreme Zipline. Far and away though, the best part of the vacation was Secrets Vallarta Bay; exceptional resort I cannot recommend highly enough

Room Tip: If you want sun on your balcony, stay on the Now Amber side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    298
    99
    35
    18
See reviews for
62
989
29
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Secrets Vallarta Bay was simply wonderful. We went in the middle of summer 2012, and it was maybe 1/3 full, which we very much liked -- not so empty that it felt creepy, but quiet enough that we never had to wait for anything or wake up at sunrise to stake out beach chairs. As with our other Secrets experiences, the staff were great, the food was exceptional, and the drinks were top shelf. We would recommend this resort very highly. The property is shared with the adjacent NOW Amber resort, which is basically the same but allows children, and Secrets guests can eat at all of the NOW restaurants. We had a room on the 8th floor, so we could see down into both sides of the property. An epic thunderstorm one evening overwhelmed the pool filters and backed up the plumbing, rendering 3 of the pools at NOW useless for a day or so. The pools and plumbing at Secrets were just fine, but I would suspect the NOW guests were a tad upset.

One minor annoyance is that the parent company of Secrets seems to have gotten into the time share business. Or maybe they've been in it for some time. Either way, we were hit up a couple of times for a free massage or room upgrade if we would go listen to their spiel, which we didn't. This hasn't happened before, so either it's a new thing, or we just got lucky our first time around.

We took the day excursion up to San Sebastián del Oeste, which was provided by Vallarta Adventures and organized by Apple. Highly, highly recommended. The town itself was a 17th century colonial living museum, but the real highlights for us were the side trips to Hacienda Jalisco, the La Quinta coffee plantation, and the Hacienda Don Polín tequila distillery. The latter was particularly fascinating, as it's barely larger than a hobby-scale distillation system, and everything is done by hand and with wood fire.

All in all, another win from Secrets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have to start by saying that this hotel is only 5 months new and many of the disappointing things we experiences probably will be corrected with time. However, that does not help us now. The service was the slowest we have ever experienced in any resort we have visited and they are many; both in Puerto Vallarta, Nuevo Vallarta and Cancun.

In the bar, if you wanted a drink, you had to go and get it yourself. Nobody came to our table. Two nights we simply gave up and went to our room. The breakfast buffet is the worst we have ever tasted because it was always served cold. Everything was cold. The Mexican restaurant was pretty but they did not serve Mexican food. The Italian one made us feel as if we were having dinner at the waiting hall at a railway station. And what about this: vegetable lasagna without pasta! Italians would kill them for that. I could not eat it. The French one was pretty, food was good except the main course. I could not cut the meat because it was so tough. Simply didn't eat it.

The hotel is very beautiful, the room very nice but don't make the mistake we did by paying extra for a junior suite with ocean view. ALL rooms have ocean view. No reason to pay extra. We did not understand that at all. AND if you want a later check out be prepared to pay for it. It is not much - $10/hour but it was a first for us.

The pool area is pretty and very clean but again, the service was terrible. It got a bit better by the end of the week but then we found out that they had hired more people. The best food was at the Ocean restaurant. We liked that. Of course the service was slow but I guess you get used to it when you have no options. We ended up eating in the city a couple of times.

The Spa is a rip-off - more expensive than at home. Don't waste your hard earned money because the best kept secret at this resort is not the Secret resort itself but a small massage parlor right at the gates to the hotel. For $25/hour you get the best massage of your life. I went there every morning and loved it. Ask for Veronica. You won't be disappointed.

The lobby was gorgeous but we missed a bigger bar where people could get together in the evenings. The bar was small and only had a few chairs. It wasn't inviting and people just didn't stop to chat there; only got their drinks and went away. The entertainment in the lobby was poor. No dancing. They had jazz a couple of nights - flamenco another. They also did not organize any theme events like most other resorts do. The only events we saw were all private.

Two mornings we had no hot water. It was corrected but not until after three phone calls. I am sorry friends, I really wanted to like this place but just didn't.

The staff is friendly and very accommodating any time you ask for help. I think the biggest problems at this resort is the management and the lack of training of their staff. Something is not right when you sit and wait for 15 minutes to get your glass of water and at the same time two or three servers stand at the side having a conversation. Many times the waiting was so long that even they forgot that they were supposed to bring us something.

If you like long walks on the beach it is better to stay at a resort in Nuevo Vallarta. The beach at this resort was very well maintained but it is short so if you want a long walk you will end up having to do laps.

All in all we had a relaxing time because the weather was beautiful. We are pretty sure Secrets Vallarta Bay will get better with time but we will not return. And we also won't recommend this place. We will stick to Excellence resorts and thus be certain to always get the best of the best.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a junior suite with ocean view. All their rooms have ocean view. No need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, General Manager at Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guest,

We always value our guests comments and we appreciate you have taken your time to submit your overview on your stay through this mean. We regret to know that you have not encounter good value to your stay at our Resort. As you have mentioned in your review our service was not as you expected and prompt as it normally is. Let me give you more feedback on our bar service; we have pool and beach staff that work hard to serve the drinks that our guests request. Also you can find our Lobby Bar that our staff will greet you up to your table and provides you the best service from 11:00 a.m. up to 1:00 a.m.

We appreciate your notes in regards to the dishes of some of our restaurants, be sure that we will share this to our Departmental Chef to make the proper corrections that need to be done. As you kindly said, all our suites are designed to be Ocean View, however, the lower levels have a Garden View with a partial view of the ocean. The higher the suites are the better view you will have. Preferred Club Tower is located closer to the beach therefore you will find them to be nicer views with the upgraded amenities that come along.

Our Spa by Pevonia is one of the nicest in town with the most qualified specialized therapist; we share many promotions every day in our Sundial. Also, with your resort coupons you can purchase a portion of the total amount of a treatment. In regards, with the water situation it is important to address that it was an unexpected situation that was not of our control for the inconveniences caused by certain floors and for which we extend our apologies.

We hope we can have the opportunity to host you again in the future so we can offer you the high level of service that characterizes our resort and AMResorts properties and may your next stay meet your expectations.

Cordially,

Mauricio Martinez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Secrets Vallarta Bay is a great resort bottom line. There are a handful of people who review on Trip Advisor who will just never be pleased. The over all value for the price paid for this resort is by far one of the best I have ever experienced.

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Secrets for our honeymoon. We got a great deal where the 3rd, 5th and 7th nights were free. We booked a junior ocean front suite in the preferred tower.

When we arrived at the hotel there was a cold towel and a glass of champagne waiting for us. We were escorted directly to the preferred tower check in desk. Check in was pretty painless, we tour a couple different rooms to see if we wanted to upgrade. We ended up upgrading to the ocean front master suite for our last three nights.

The junior suite was great, very large and nice beds. The hot tub was pretty cool on the balcony as well. Restaurants were excellent considering this is an all inclusive hotel. I was surprised by the quality and that only one restaurant was a buffet. The Japanese and French Restaurants were our favorites.

The bars were great, to be honest we really only went to the preferred bar and the pool bar. We really spent most of our time in the pool or room while at the resort. Efrin and Eisais “Big E” were the best bartenders and employees in the whole resort. They would always greet us, the new what we drank and made sure we were always taken care of. The whole staff was very kind to us, everyone greeted you with a minimum of a smile, most even knew our names.

This whole thing on here about the “Now” resorts messing up the adults only part of Secrets is completely false. If you never went to the “Now” side you would never see any kids. Do not let this be a deciding factor on picking secrets for your vacation.

Time Share presentation; yes we got sucked in. No, we did not buy; we did get a $250 gift card to the spa which we did use without any problems. It did take about 2 hours as opposed to the 90 minutes they sold us on. Yes they were pushy and rude, but what do you expect from a time share “presentation”. If you are turned off by these things then just say “No”.

The pools were clean and beautiful, the beach was ok. The hotel was only at about 20% capacity so the pools were nice and quiet. I would not want to be there when the place is 100% packed. Really there is nothing to complain about here. So may have had other experiences and that is fine. I just feel that this is a good quality resort and if I had the chance I would stay here again.


Oh yes there is a rooster you can hear if you are a light sleeper. So if that is a deal breaker well then I don't think Mexico is the place for your vacation.

Room Tip: Ocean front master suites are huge!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and i stayed at secrets at vallarta bay for our honeymoon and had an amazing time!!! We went on October 20th and had perfect weather and would highly recommend it. it was not too busy. We stayed on the adult side and although some restaurants are shared, never had any issues with kids at all. We only saw a few and they were only at the buffets. We highly enjoyed the food, our room was BEAUTIFUL with an amazing view. Room service was very fast and hot/good food.

All of the staff was very friendly to us. The only downfalls of this resort was the view once we left our room in the hallway. There was an abandoned hotel right outside our door view. There were roosters on that property that crowed ALL THE TIME. It wasnt terrible, but we noticed it quite a bit. Our main issue was restaurants in the resort being closed/open. It would say in our daily newspaper that it was open, but then it was closed. We were really dissappointed because there was one restaurant that we wanted to go to but it was closed the last 3 days of our vacation. However, every restaurant we ate at in the resort was great, except one... Oceana. Smaller portions... but very very delicious!! :) :)

We spent a lot of time at the pool because it was just beautiful!! we love the beach, but we are more "look at the beach and hang out on it, but dont wanna get in the water" kind of ppl. the servers were great at the pool from about noon on, but in the morning, were pretty scarce. once they were there though, were very on top of their game. Vendors on the beach were annoying... there were a ton of them. and you could not lay out on the chairs without being swarmed by them. so thats another reason why we stayed by the pool. They had a grill out on the pool deck called barefoot grill. was great!!! BUT.... they only opened it if there were "enough people out there to make a profit". this made me mad considering they were open 2/6 days we were there. they should definaltely correct that.

ps.- we did one excersion from the hotel. it was outdoor adventure ziplining- 2 THUMBS UP!!! you should definately do it!! it was very safe too! i never felt scared! pool drinks were great! try a mayan sacrifice ;) that was my husbands favorite! they had a sea lion come up to our hotel beach 2 morning and you can take pics with it!! that was cool too!

But all together, we had an AMAZING honeymoon!!! I would highly recomment this hotel and would definately stay in any other secrets resort!!! Hope this was helpful!!! If you have booked with them, you wont be dissappointed!!!

Room Tip: stay in the preferred club if you can! much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from a seven-night stay at Secrets Vallarta Bay. First off, I have to say that some of these reviewers either have EXTREMELY high expectations or they didn't do their homework or their travel agent didn't prepare them very well. There were great things, good things, okay things and poor things at this resort but mostly great things. The staff is absolutely AMAZING! Everyone we encountered during our stay was very friendly; smiling and saying "hola" to us. This made us feel very special. You don't find that too much at US resorts.

PROS:
- Check in is quick and easy. We were in the Preferred Tower, room 1623. Great view of the property, beach and facing south towards the marina. Loved people watching from the balcony and just watching the world go by.
- Pool area was beautiful with all of the tropical foliage, plenty of towels, plenty of chairs and not a lot of the "chair saving" game that we found to be rampant in Cancun/Playa (although I'm pretty sure the resort wasn't full or even near capacity when we were there).
- Room service ROCKED! The two young men who delivered our food were so friendly. We found the food to our liking, delivered HOT (I burned my tongue) and tasty. Again, can't figure out what people are complaining about. Our food was delivered within 20 minutes of our phone call.
- Rooms were BEAUTIFUL! Probably the nicest room I've ever stayed in. I always bring a room freshener/candle with me to rid the room of the "dampness" smell. Works like a charm and we never really had issues with the smell of the room unless we had been out all day. Just lighting the candle made a world of difference. Air conditioning worked too well as my husband and I were fighting all week over the temperature being too cold!

JUST OKAY
- Maid service tended to be a little inconsistent. We never knew if we were going to get our room cleaned or not although the quality of the cleaning service was excellent. We were just a little put off by the inconsistent times of them cleaning our room. Nightly turn-down service happened only three times in a seven-night stay for us. Didn't really bother me but, again, inconsistent.
- Restaurants/food was just okay. Of course, some restaurants were better than others. We really like Tamarindo (Mexican) but probably more for the ambiance than the food.

CONS:
- Okay, this is a biggie for me...when you pay money to stay at a resort, regardless of what time of year it is, I expect to have choices to eat. Every day, we would get a "newspaper" that listed the open restaurants and their hours for that night. I don't think there was one night while we were there that this listing was correct. This is the reason we missed eating at the Japanese restaurant (something we really wanted to try). We were given the wrong information by the concierge and then found out later from guests that it actually was open. Very frustrating! One night, there wasn't even a choice of buffets. Unacceptable to me. You should ALWAYS have a buffet available, especially if most of your other restaurants are not open.
- Beach vendors. HATE, HATE, HATE this part! I realize there's nothing the hotel can do. This is based on location of the resort. The vendors have free reign of ANYONE within shouting distance of their beach chair. On day one, I thought it was a little annoying; by day seven, I was just downright pissed off and annoyed with it all. I am a big beach person and never once was I able to just lay in a chair on the beach because of the annoying vendors. We kept moving further and further away from the beach as the week passed just to get away from it. Ughh...BEWARE!
- Roosters and barking dogs. Very unattractive back side of this hotel is a vacant lot with loose roosters and what appear to be stray dogs. It also moonlights as a bus/semi parking lot on some nights. LOTS of nighttime noise to annoy your slumber. We found that if we ran our bathroom fan all night, we could drown out most of the noise. I think I was awakened multiple times every single night we stayed because of one noise or the other. The concierge said they're working on buying this piece of property. Sure would be nice just to get rid of all of the noises they "can't control." Again, I realize there's nothing Secrets can do about this until they purchase the property and gain control. In the meantime, run the bathroom fan :)

We heard one kid screaming from the Now Amber pool on day six. Again, if people do their homework, they will know that Secrets shares some restaurants/common areas with Now (the family resort). They're not hiding it. It's a new concept for them and they're trying it out. Also, dress code is not hidden, either. It's on their website and you can always e-mail them with specific questions (which I did ahead of time). The people whose biggest complaint is kids/dress code just didn't do their pre-vacation homework. If you don't like kids, don't go there because you will see them, hear them and perhaps smell them at times. Not a problem for us but apparently a BIG problem for others.

All-in-all, this was a beautiful resort! I probably wouldn't go back because of the beach/vendors/location/vacant lot/restaurant issues mentioned above but I would love to try another Secrets in another location. Don't be afraid to go here if you are booked and don't let negative comments scare you off. You will have the time of your life!

P.S. Got a great deal, too, from Delta Vacations!

Room Tip: Run the bathroom fan/shower fan if you're a light sleeper and didn't bring earplugs. Helps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My friend & I visited the resort from Sept 27-Oct 4,2012 with Sunwing Vacations out of Toronto Canada. Great flight, with free champagne, dinner & wine, excellent transfer to and from PV Airport ( resort is about 15 minutes from Airport) .

CHECK-IN & UPGRADING

We initially booked the Now Amber side of this resort, which is the famil side of the resort. We researched to cost to upgrade either before departure or upon arrival, and doing it when you arrive is a much better deal. You receive a certain amount of "resort credits" with your stay which can be PARTIALLY used for spa treatments, private dinners on the beach or room upgrades. The check in girl, Adrianna was very helpful explaining how the credits worked and which options were available. We had $400 in `resort credits`` which we could use $200 to upgrade which meant our upgrade was about $150 per person extra for the week.
Since the resort was under 10% occupancy we managed to upgrade to the more elegant and adults only Secrets, ending up on the 8th floor with balcony jacuzzi and two double beds . All rooms are ocean view , and Secrets offers upgraded amenities such as 15 spf sunblock in room ( excellent quality too), and the lobby bar offers excellent snacks and drinks throughout the day as well.
Now Amber ADULT guests ARE allowed to use the pools on the Secrets side of the resort ( no children allowed ) and many do. Both sides are very nice and the Secrets side is just a higher end version of Now Amber with more luxurious furnishings , decor and it's 2 restaurants , The Marketplace Buffet and the French Restaurant. Secrets guests have access to all the restaurants, bars and the disco over at Now Amber as well.

Dining & Libations

This is where the resort lost a few points , and keep in mind it has only been opened since April,2012, so there is still a learning curve and some issues to resolve. The first 3 days of our stay we enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Secrets, but as the occupancy dropped the buffet became a la cart for breakfast. Both options had good to great food, but it was lacking a few minor things , such as a better selection of cheeses, and the coffee was never very good. Our last day we tried the Carnival Breakfast buffet at Now Amber and were quite surprised that it was slightly better than the one at Secrets .

All the other restaurants are very good, no reser5vations required which is FANTASTIC! The only one you need to reserve is for the teppanaki table at the Japanese since there is limited seating.

The dress codes for the restaurants IS ENFORCED! Which means no wet bathing suits or tank tops ( on men anyways) at breakfast or at lunch. Long pants for men at dinner , no flip flops, shirts must have sleeves ( collars not mandatory but saw very few t shirts at dinner)

The bars are numerous , but the resort loses points for not having `top-shelf`liquor. Mind you it`s not rot-gut but if you are expecting Grey goose vodka, or other premium brands they always seemed to have `run out``. You really have to specify your preferred brands ( Stoli, Bacardi, Havana Club etc etc ...) otherwise you will get the low end liquor Canned beers are available at the lobby bars , but for some inexplicable reason the pool bars reuses to serve canned beers.

The Lobby is an amazing place to sit have a drink while watching and amazing sunse4t..truyly the most visually stunning lobby of any resort we have been to.

The disco bar `Desires`` (on the Now Amber side) is like a Moroccan sultans tent, which hookah pipes which cost $14 which your choice of flavored `shishi`..not like smoking tobacco, more like a flavored vapor. highly recommend trying it .


Pools and Resort amenities

Secrets has 2 pools, one with the pool bar, the other one tends to be the quiet pool ( except for noon when the water aerobics is on) No towel cards required, stacks of very noice large towels are everywhere around the pools, and plenty of seating....no getting up at dawn to play the towel game ( not at 7% Occupancy anyways !) The beach is VERY Rocky, so bring your swim socks or other footwear...very few people were in the ocean.

CHECK-OUT

We had a late afternoon flight out and the room check-out time is NOON. However there are two option is get the most out of your last day.

Option One
Request a Late Check-out, costs $10 per hour ( if the room is available)

Option Two
We checked out at room, bellhops safely store your baggage, then we reserved a 30 minute time slot in the Complimentary Room to shower and change for our departure and flight. This is a FANTASTIC FREE SERVICE, be sure to ask at the front desk in order to book the room.

Overall we had an amazing stay, mostly due to the great friendships we made with other guests, adn the outstanding service and friendliness of the staff. It is newly opened, so of course the menus, food, and bar issues I mentioned are MINOR and hopefully by mentioning them the management can see where some improvements can be made.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa

Address: David Alfaro Siquerios No. 164 | Col Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic. Refined. Remarkable. Located on the golden sand beaches of the Pacific coast within walking distance of the famous El Malecon boardwalk, this vibrant oceanfront resort provides adults 24/7 access to amazing nightlife, non-stop entertainment and Unlimited-Luxury(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Amex, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.