We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Las Carmelitas

Restaurante Las Carmelitas
Canimo a la Aguacatera Km 1.2 (Coordinates 20. 61072,- 105. 215182) | arriba del tunel grande abrimos todos los dias de la 1:pm. a las 11:p.m., Puerto Vallarta 48353, Mexico
3222933112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #427 of 772 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Moose Jaw, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

To dine at this rustic little resturant high upon the mountain above PV was weel worth the $40 US cab ride. Good food and great nighttime views of Old & New Vallarta.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    8
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Latitiude 20/49
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Went to celebrate a milestone birthday. Temperature was perfect for shorts. I had seafood stew which was as good as anywhere but a bit pricey. Ssrvice was poor. There was a fiesta im the upper location.

I have put more detail on my facebook page with pictures. (keith cowan)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant from friends. I need to mention this was 3 years ago on our honeymoon (don't mind the Dec2011 date).

Funny story, we went by taxi and half way up, the drivers stops and asks us to get out of the car - we didn't speak Spanish and the driver didn't speak English to explain why we needed to get out - We got scared....finally, we understood that we needed another taxi to bring us to the restaurant, the road was too bumpy for the original taxi to bring us to the top

We loved this restaurant, the amazing view - Food and drinks were very good. I remember that the ceviche was excellent but don't remember what else we ordered.

We are going back to PV during the Christmas Holidays and we are definitely going back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Go during the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

A photo of the view would be a spoiler for the restaurant, but I'm posting others.

We went when they opened at 1:00 pm because I wanted photos when the sun was high. It was very quiet and serene with no other people around. The setting is lovely with the nearby surrounding mountains and of course the bay and town where you know there is noise, but you can't hear it. There are also places to stop for photos on the way up the mountain.

We had been warned that the road was terrible but our cab driver had no trouble, actually it's cobblestone in many places, and in others they are partially covered by dirt. In Rainy season you most likely would not want to drive it yourself.

The restaurant has a Palapa roof and is open air with brightly colored tablecloths on wood tables with wood chairs. A reviewer mentioned plastic chairs.....but maybe that's during rainy season. I thought it was a pretty place and there were also a few flowers and plantings.

On the bay side there is a cement patio that is also a nice place to have lunch in the sun, and enjoy the quiet view. As another reviewer said ...there are no rails on this portion, but this is Mexico and things aren't the same as home. If it bothers you sit inside under the Palapa, you can still see because the cement platform is a few steps below the main restaurant. I should also mention the restrooms were very private and clean.

Stroll out to the parking area and visit the chickens, ducks, geese, young boar, and the Tom Turkey who is clearly the one in charge of the barnyard.... and a delightful vision himself.

I believe that lunch and dinner menus are the same. My husband had Garlic Mahi Mahi with rice and mixed vegetables which he liked just fine. I had the Mahi Mahi with Tamarindo Sauce....excellent! Portions are average size, but I have to add that we were so full from lunch that we wanted a light dinner that evening. Cesar our cab driver had the French Onion Soup and said it was very good.

Being able to have lunch and talk with our cab driver about his days growing up on the island in the Rio Cuale and in PV in the 60's, made our experience even more special.

At the front gate you will be charged $100 pesos per person if you don't have reservations. If you order food the $100 pesos is deducted from your lunch or dinner bill so it works out. The charge is to prevent people from coming up for the view and not ordering. There was No gratuity added to our bill when it was presented to us......as a previous reviewer mentioned.

We were given a tour of the new restaurant a little higher up, it is the lights you see at night from below in town. It isn't all of the time, but sometimes it is open and also for special reserved events. It is large and safe with rails and more tropical upscale (same tables & chairs but the building is so nice!) The new place would be perfect for a wedding and reception with live music. The ramp leading up is a very good quality cement walkway that side winds up the hill, so you do not get out of breath. There are no steps. Wheelchairs would be manageable too....I'm sure the staff would help.

Our cab from Basilio Badillo and Constitucion at Sitio 9 was $100 pesos each way. Our lunch including Cesar's lunch was 500 pesos - 3 fresh limonadas, salsa & chips with refills, 2 Mahi Mahi entrees, and French Onion soup. We tipped our cab driver $100 pesos for his delightful company and the thoughtful stops for photos, upon his suggestion on the route up. (Our cab driver also sang on the way up.) All of this might seem pricey but we felt it was worth it....where else are you going to see that view of city and bay.....it's the highest.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Took some friends to Las Carmelitas and I heard a lot of "Wows"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We have been to Las Carmelitas several times over the years. Last time we were there was January 2011. We were seated in the new building higher up. Had the seafood for two. It was very good. Not the best in town, but good. We have taken friends with us on the differant trips up there to show it to them and each time I heard a lot of "Wows" It is well worth going for the dinner so that you can get the sunset view from up there. It is so high that last time we were there a cloud came right through where we were eating. Amazing. The city of PV is kind of small looking down at it. It is a fun adventure getting there too. It is one of those places not to miss when visiting Puerto Vallarta.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Las Carmelitas also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Restaurante Las Carmelitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Las Carmelitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.