We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vallarta Shores International Hotel

Save Saved
You added Vallarta Shores International Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vallarta Shores International Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Malecon 400, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spend January through April every winter here and have loved it for almost 20 years! The staff are fabulous and have of course become friends over the years. The building is the most beautiful on Los Muertos Beach, the most popular beach in Old Town Vallarta. It has true Mexican charm, not modernistic or sterile, but with modern amenities. The location on the beach is perfect because it is on the end of the street, and it is part of a lovely area called Amapas, which includes Conchas Chinas where all the beautiful old traditional Mexican villas are. The beach is perfect; you go out the door, cross the street, and you're on the beach, with your own palapas and chairs to enjoy. Or if you prefer you can enjoy the beach from your own balcony, which we also do a lot. The sunsets over the ocean are beyond belief. This part of town, Zona Romantica or Old Town, is very secure and safe. Here you can enjoy a taste of the real Mexico in comfort and beautiful style and safety - unlike some of the all-inclusives in Nuevo Vallarta, which are so cut off from the rest of the town and the culture.There are so many truly great restaurants within walking distance that I can't begin to describe them all. La Palapa is our favorite.Taxis are numerous and very safe if you don't want to walk. Art walks during the high season and fun shops everywhere in town, the botanical gardens, outdoor adventures - there are tons of things to do besides the beach if you like. One of my favorite things is the original statue of the caballito del mar, the little boy on the seahorse, which sits at the edge of the ocean right in front of Vallarta Shores. I love this place, and I cry when we leave each year!

Room Tip: Every room opens on the ocean. There are no lesser rooms - only bigger or smaller, according to what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    19
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
31
56
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful, the room (#6, which we were careful to request as it seemed like the nicest room to us) was really comfortable and we had a lovely experience.

This isn't a 5 star resort, those looking for that will be sorely disappointed. Some of the reviewers have some valid feedback, but for us, this was a little slice of heaven. The beach was never too crowded, and even though there's only 3 straw umbrellas, there was always one when we wanted one and the convenient but very low key location was just perfect for us.

Some tips:
No hairdryers, if you want one, bring your own.

Towels are available at the front desk for the pool or beach, no need to bring your own unless you want a huge blanket-sized one.

There is filtered water in the unit and the fridge, microwave and kitchen were well appointed if you want to cook while you're there.

It's at the very Southern tip of the Malecon, and while it was quiet people-wise, there was a loud beach club that was open late (2am+) blaring music which didn't bother us much but was pretty loud, they also set up in the mornings around 8 when the music often started again. The people at the club were great, don't get me wrong, but that was some loud music. The waves were also as loud as other say, earplugs solved both problems for me.

The bed is very firm but comfortable, the A/C in the bedroom worked great.

There were plenty of places within walking distance to eat and many seem to deliver as well if you don't want to leave.

We spent a good amount of time on the beautiful patio, sipping drinks and just enjoying the beautiful view and we're already sure we'd go back, but I'd love to try the penthouse next time I'm sure, with some friends, it was gorgeous.

Room Tip: I'd choose a second or higher floor room, the breezes blow through so nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Last month I had the pleasure to stay at Vallarta Shores Condo Hotel on Los Muertos Beach. I stayed in Condo #2 a 2 bedroom condo and was pleasantly surprised with how charming the condo was!. Sitting on the terrace with the beach in front of me was very relaxing on my well deserved vacation. The condo had everything I needed and when I had a want the very helpful staff Daniel, Favio, David and Angie were always there to help.

The most special feeling was to listen to the surf at night and I slept like a baby! You can leave your "Wave" machine at home because this hotel has a natural wave machine!

I highly reccommend Vallarta Shores!

Room Tip: Condo #2 has the best wave machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had 18 people stay at Vallarta Shores both Penthouse and various other rooms. We all hung in the penthouse yet everyone had plenty of private space. Having 2 chefs keeps us fed all week and the food was excellent. Don't forget to request a barbeque. You cannot beat the location right on the beach next to my favorite spot Lido Beach Bar.

Room Tip: Get both penthouses if you can your group will love yo for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Margaret & I had an unforgetable time (again in PV) thanks to the staff and great accmmodations in Suite #3 at Vallarta Shores.From our deluxe 1 bedroom suite with balcony overlooking the famous sunsets & the beach ,we loved being serenaded to sleep .Walking distance to any part of colonial PV was an added plus. This was our third time and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We suggest Suite # 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Vallarta Shores!!. Nice location on Los Muertos Beach. many activities to select from, staff was very accommodating and friendly..
We loved it!! very relaxing...staff made our stay as comfortable as it could be...very friendly!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Location couldn't be better; walking distance to most parts of old PV and sitting right on the beach (the statue of the boy on the seahorse stands right out front) so the crash of the waves lulls you to sleep. We stayed in room #7 which we didn't realize had two bedrooms and two full bathrooms (only two of us). The bedrooms have a connecting balcony and have fans and AC units if needed. The separate kitchen/dining/living room is wonderfully oversized extending onto its own balcony where you can't help but sit and sip tequila; the open air feature of this might be a problem in summer but wasn't during our early December trip. Fullly equipped kitchen with cookware, glassware, etc. The thick brick walls and bedrooms removed from the living room/kitchen make this particular room ideal for families and groups. No elevators so you have to walk up. Definitely would stay here again, even in the same room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vallarta Shores International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallarta Shores International Hotel

Address: Calle Malecon 400, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vallarta Shores International Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Vallarta Shores International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallarta Shores International Puerto
Hotel Vallarta Shores International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vallarta Shores International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.