We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can you do with a few cucumbers and some lime?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vallarta Eats Food Tours

Vallarta Eats Food Tours
Aquiles Serdan and Insurgentes, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
322 152 0224
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We say COME HUNGRY and we are not kidding! Experience real Mexican food with Vallarta Eats Food Tours! Vallarta Eats Food Tours won’t take you to usual tourist restaurants. Eat like a local.We’ll help you discover Puerto Vallarta’s most popular foods while getting a taste of Mexican culture and history. Authentic foods, local guides, and a window into the real Mexico, doesn’t get much better - or more appetizing. Join us for a day you will always remember.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Abbotsford, BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What can you do with a few cucumbers and some lime?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Food is so tied to learning about the culture and history of a country; therefore the tours offered by this company are not to be missed. Never shy in trying new cuisines, my husband and I were not disappointed by what the Taco Daytime Tour and the Mole Evening Tour had to offer. Eric has really started a great way to take people away from the touristy hotels and the boredom of the all inclusive meals to a unique PV experience. Bernardo, our tour guide, was not only a true gentlemen, but through the sharing of his own personal stories about Mexican cuisine from his own family history made the food taste even better. For families, this tour is a bargain. Imagine finding fast food to feed a family of 4 for under $20. Only in Vallarta! One surprise for us was the refreshing taste of a drink made with cucumber and lime. The best thirst quencher on a really hot day!!! If you only have time for one tour, do the Taco Tour with Bernardo first. You will not be disappointed!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    23
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Evening tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We took the evening tour and had a great evening. The second restaurant was small and called The Lillies (in Spanish!). We made one of the finds of the holiday here... shrimp aguachile. It was sublime, and the right amount of bite to leave a nice warm aftertaste in the mouth! We loved it so much we went back for lunch the next day!
The whole tour was a great introduction to Mexican food, and the street taco stand was also not to be missed.
My advice - book for early in your trip so you can get back to some of the restaurants! We booked on our 2nd to last night which means we have to go back...!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“This Food Tour Rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Mr. Wolf a/k/a El Lobo was a great tour guide and this was a great tour. You'll be stuffed with moles, tortilla soup, tacos, ceviche, candy, coconut, etc, at places you would never go near as a tourist. El Lobo also provided a lot of history and cultural information along with his terrific food knowledge. A lot of fun and enough walking so you feel like you might have burned up a few of the calories ingested. Who can turn down a chance to eat ceviche from fish that was caught just a few hours earlier; and moles that will destroy the myth that moles taste like chocolate sauce. This was a highlight for us.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
“Awesome food - Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I ran across Vallarta Eats on the internet before going to Mexico. So we decided to book a tour prior to arriving. We are so glad that we did! Our guide was Memo and he was great! Gave us a lot of background and history of food. All of the food we had on the taco tour was super tasty.

We would have never ventured out on our own to these places before. The food was so good that 2 days later we went back to get carnitas and fish tacos on our own. We told a few people about the tour and how amazing it was when we got back to our hotel and two couples there decided to take the evening Mole and Pozole tour the next night. We asked them the next day when we saw them at the pool how it was. They said they had a great time and the food was fantastic, and were so glad we told them about it. Next time my husband and I go back we will take the evening tour. If you go to Puerto Vallarta this is a must do!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our family of 6 (4 kids, ages 15 to 26) began our week long vacation in Puerto Vallarta with a Taco Tour and it was a highlight of a wonderful trip. Our tour guide, Memo, was delightful-- friendly, funny, accomodating and very informative. We were introduced to a variety of delicious and distinct food, all from family owned small businesses/ street vendors, plus we visited a small market, bakery, butcher shop and fruit stand. The tour was so much more than a food lesson, as we learned about history, culture, business, and geography. We loved walking through the busy cobblestoned streets and getting little glimpses into everyday life. We returned to several of the places throughout our stay, and would never have known of them otherwise. We can't recommend this tour highly enough. Definately try to arrange it at the beginning of your trip-- that way you can come back to your favorite places. Thanks so much to Memo and Eric for a very memorable experience!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallarta Eats Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Vallarta Eats Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vallarta Eats Food Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.