We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pancho's Takos

Pancho's Takos
Basilio Badillo # 162 | Zona Romantica casi esquina Olas Altas., Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
3222221693
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

great tacos - pastor is the best, though we also like the chicken and the chorizo. We've learned to not get them with cheese, as the tortilla turns hard and they are more like small tostadas than tacos. Be sure to squeeze a little lime on the meat, it is quite an enhancement to the flavor, and the 3 sauces all have their own unique tastes. Fantastic value for money, and with an authentic old Mexico feel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    84
    23
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unforgetable Takos Pancho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

As a PV regular this place ranks number ONE for both taste and value. Don't be turned off by the looks or the roasting seasoned meat slowly turning on a spiguet the food is amazing. It's your typical hole in the wall kind of place. Try it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Taco Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I wanted to try legitimate Mexican Tacos and was directed to this place. It is not difficult to find, identified by the crowd waiting to get in, always a good sign and well worth the wait. Sit on the street so you can watch a chef artfully carving stips of beef and pineapple for the tacos from the rotating spit at the front of the restaurant with a huge razor-sharp knife ...... fast and very skillful!
The food was incredible with a great variety and I especially enjoyed the barbecued chorizo tacos! Having experienced this, I don't think I will ever look at Tacos at home the same way! Don't miss it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Real Mexican!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

This place was awesome! Cheap, quick, delicious, and authentic. You order whatever you want from a paper form (like sushi) and they bring everything out individually when it's ready. Certainly try the tacos al pastor as an appetizer. It's from the giant shwarma roaster in the front (which is cooked by charcoal!), they're just under a dollar (10 pesos). It's also a great to watch the guy carve them and artfully carve a piece of the roasting pineapple on top, flicking it with his knife up in the air and catching it in the taco. Order everything and anything, it's all great. The most expensive thing on the menu might be the beer and its only 240 pesos.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best, The best, The best tacos!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Like this place place needs another great review, but it totally deserves it. My family and I spend about a month a year living in PV and this is one of our favorite spots. On this trip alone, we will have eaten here 6 times over the one month period. The prices are cheap and the food is great.
My wife loves the mushroom quesadillas (she is a vegetarian) and I love the pastor tacos. The other tacos are good, but the pastor are special. They also do a roasted onion/pepper plate that is worth getting as well to compliment your meal.
A total must do if you are in PV. They open at 6:00 pm and the line starts forming at 5:45, so get there early and avoid the wait. The place is small and fills up quick.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancho's Takos also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Pancho's Takos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pancho's Takos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.