We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel is a great place to relax - excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel is a great place to relax - excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We were at the beautiful Sunset Plaza Hotel over Labor Day weekend 2013. We wanted to get away for a relaxing, quiet resort experience (no hassle) and Sunset Plaza is just the right size if you want a relaxing peaceful vacation. The pools are clean with plenty of lounge chairs. We never had to reserve chairs when we were there. Drinks were plentiful upon request. There is an open air restaurant by the pools for meals with plenty of seating. We ordered food with special requests, and the servers /chefs were glad to accommodate us. We got the all inclusive package and very happy with this option. Most everything we wanted was included. It was pretty amazing. We spent a lot of time by the adult pool in the wonderful poolside beds. We ordered lunch each day delivered to us at the pool and it was delicious. I cannot say enough about the effort this hotel makes to make each guest feel welcome. We had dinner on the property a couple of times and it was good with changing menus providing different options. We also went to Daiquiri Dicks in Old Town the night we arrived and had a very nice meal. The Sunset Beach Plaza Resort is low key compared to some of the larger party resorts. The rooms are just as described. The one bedroom suite is spacious and the view Is beautiful. During the first day, noisy people check-in the room next door and we were moved (staff was there to help) immediately upon request and never had another problem. A few snacks and drinks (chips, water, beer, soda,) are provided daily for the room. TV channel options (fyi) are good and room controlled air conditioned worked very well. The suite had a large, clean beautiful bath in suite and a nice smaller second bath.

All the staff is serviced focused. The resort is immaculate overall. We were asked once upon arrival about their timeshare option (by a person saying he was a concierge) and said we were not interested. I had seen that this might happen, based on your arrival time, in other Trip Advisor reviews. We were never asked again. No lines, no crowds, no pressure to buy anything at this resort. We did not go to the small beach area, but saw it was clean. The management is interested in making your stay exceptional. Security is very good with an entrance gate and guard monitoring anyone that enters and exits. We did tip the butlers for their excellent attention and service, servers for excellent food and drink service and the nice maid when departing since tips are not included in the all inclusive.

We never had an issue with cabs from the hotel. We also asked for a half day rate on our last day, to keep the room through the afternoon and were able to do that.

If your not familiar with the PV airport, here are a few observations: the airport is much improved from the last time we were here (many years ago). We did experience many people calling out to you from booths --- "for a cab" as we exited the airport. After researching, we found that the official Yellow Cab is recommended for transportation. You take a cross walk (bridge) after walking outside the airport --- to get to the official Yellow Cab. We were not swarmed with people trying to sell timeshares, etc. They appear to keep their distance unless you engage or make eye contact with them. Heads up, someone tries to hand you a flyer when you are exiting the airport, and I was heads down ignoring the flyer. A flight attendant walking next to me told me it was in English and helpful for local information and gave me her copy , so it may be helpful to you. There is a convenience store across a parking lot from the airport front doors if you want snacks. We checked our bags first and then walked over to purchase snacks for the trip home. There are also some fast food type vendors in the airport. I saw a Carl's upstairs from the Alaska Airlines check-in area (and a few other local places to get food)

We will return to this very nice resort. We are experienced travelers and are careful in our planning to ensure the best experience to match our vacation style and I cannot say enough positive comments about this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Dawn,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad to hear about the pleasant stay you had. It is very important for us to know that our guests enjoyed the time they spent with us.
Sunset Plaza Hotel has 100 rooms and we always take care of the density in our rooms, for this reason even in a 100% of occupancy, the property never feels crowded.
I will extend your congratulations to all our staff for their great job. We are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your vacation and we hope to have you back soon.
Sincerely,
Leaslie Gómez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    277
    72
    26
    12
See reviews for
438
657
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I'm an airline retiree and have stayed at many hotels, this certainly ranks amongst he best. Being met at the door by the General Manager was very impressive, check in was smooth, enjoyed the champaign at check in. Our room was very luxurious with an ocean view, loved the covered porch. Our room was made up as soon as we left. Service was excellent, food was great, we loved the waitstaff especially Enzo, Humberto & Cesar. They were very attentive, kind and courteous. Drinks were excellent so was the bartenders. I loved the view from the main restaurant and the pool. I liked the idea that the main menu served a la carte meals rather than usual buffet, food selection, preparation and presentation was excellent, I was a little disappointed with the Japanese restaurant's ambiance and menu as the deli double as the restaurant. I expected a more Japanese menu selection. The adult pool was awesome with the cabanas with a bed and excellent ocean view of the ocean

Jose and I believe his name was Roberto(butlers/concierge) were excellent, they made sure that if there was a problem it was resolved immediately.

This hotel is in a great location, on the bus line, close to the airport, malls, shopping, restaurants and the boardwalk. The bus fare of 6.50 pesos made it a desirable option.

I will definitely vacation at The Sunset again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that has a door that opens to a suite with a kitchen. We had a corner unit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mrs. Lorane,

Please let me express our gratitude for sharing such nice comments regarding your latest stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your vacation and we hope to have you back soon. I will extend your congratulations to Enzo, Humberto, Cesar, Jose & Roberto for their great job.
We appreciate very much your high opinion of our premises and the service you always receive from our staff. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food and our all-inclusive; our executive chef and their great team are always happy to please any request.
Sunset Plaza Hotel appreciates the time you have taken to give us your opinion and observations, please be sure that your comments have been very helpful and we are committed to improve our opportunity areas.
We are very happy to hear that we were up to your expectations.
We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely
Leaslie Gómez
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Sunset Plaza Hotel may be one of the best hotels I've ever stayed. From its modern decor to its wonderful staff, Sunset Plaza also sits on a very convenient location between the airport and Romantic Zone. The staff are amazing in this hotel, helpful and they really appear they care. The pools are also immaculate. Location is perfect. For those of you that can't go without your US fast food fix, KFC, Burger King and Subway is only a 5 minute walk. Bank of America customer? The bank Santander will allow you to access your B of A account for free-- and it is also walking distance from the hotel. So why 4 stars, not 5? A couple of things. The room is elegantly appointed BUT the placement of the electrical outlets are very inconvenient. There were no available outlets next to the coffee machine-- I had to carry the coffee machine to the bathroom every morning to make coffee. You want to charge more than one device? Tough luck-- there is only one accessible bedside outlet, the other accessible one is 4 feet above the floor with no place to rest your device. Another negative is the food. I know, why give a negative review to a hotel based on food? This hotel has an All-inclusive option. They have three restaurants, the one near the pool serves food that are at best ok, bland but ok. The "Japanese" restaurant was a joke. The person who cooked us our Sukiyaki needs to go to a real Japanese restaurant and taste what Sukiyaki is supposed to taste like. The third is an Italian restaurant-- and after tasting the food at their "Japanese" restaurant, we did not dare eat here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Noli,
Thank you for your recent stay and posting your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed all the benefits that Sunset Plaza Hotel guests have.
We appreciate very much your high opinion of our premises and the service you always receive from our staff. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the food and our all-inclusive; our executive chef and their great team are always happy to please any request.
Sunset Plaza Hotel appreciates the time you have taken to give us your opinion and observations, please be sure that your comments have been very helpful and we are committed to improve our opportunity areas.
Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, ee look forward to having the opportunity to have you staying with us, in the meantime, feel free to contact us at anytime. If you have additional feedback that wish to share, I will be more than happy to assist you.
Sincerely,
Leaslie Gomez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have stayed in many hotels all over the world, but the staff at this hotel are exceptional and compare only to a Ritz Carlton. They are helpful, available and truly care that your stay is wonderful. The rooms are spacious (we had a suite) with balcony and full kitchen. Beds are comfy, jacuzzi tub was NICE and we never wanted for anything. We also experienced massages above the beach in a cabana, as well as a private dinner there another night. WOW! Room service and any items we may have needed were delivered promptly and with a smile. Some of the outstanding staff included: Pablo, Honario, Josefa, Roberto, Luis x 2, Ramon, Abraham, Dahlia, Javier, plus all the other staff (too numerous to mention). What a wonderful vacation, we will definitely return. Beautiful sunsets every night :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mrs. Joseph,
Thank you for sharing such nice comments and recommendations regarding your visit. Sunset Plaza hotel is oriented to for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, a business event, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon, whether you plan to visit Puerto Vallarta.
The newly constructed Sunset Plaza Resort & Spa is an impressive sight of contemporary architecture, curving gently around a lushly landscaped beachfront sundeck, where two infinity pools sparkle and guests bask in the sun in comfortable lounge chairs or enjoy a soak in one of three open-air Jacuzzis.
Each of the Sunset Plaza’s spacious guest rooms and suites features a private terrace with a breathtaking 180° view of the ocean and the spectacular Puerto Vallarta´s sunset. The rooms are warmly decorated in hues of orange, gold and sparkle, equipped with fine granite countertops, marble bathroom surfaces, and elegant contemporary wood furniture.
Amenities at Sunset Plaza include a large fitness room and spa; an activity packed Kids Club, two full-service restaurants – one international cuisine and one Italian – a deli, a lobby lounge, and the Poolside Aqua Bar.
Please know that Sunset Plaza takes highly consideration of all our guest comments, always working on pampering and making our guests feel at home.
We will be looking forward to seeing you soon.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed from 8/31-9/4. We had an AI package and had a great time. We would rate them 3.5/5 because they messed up our restaurant reservations, but we bumped them 4/5 because of few exceptional staff members.

Pros-
1. Very clean (way better than many US hotels)
2. Staff. I always thought latinos/spanish people are way more warmer and welcoming than say white europeans. The staff at sunset plaza will make sure that you drink too much and eat too much.
** Special mention Sentriano/Centriano who was beyond exceptional in service while serving the pool area.
3. Location - amazing sunset views; close to downtown
4. Food - we tried both italian and mexican. Both were extremely satisfying.

Cons-
1. Small resort (I would 3-4 days is max you can stay here)
2. Lack of any evening entertainment; no shows or dances; very quite
3. The bartender in the lobby bar was acting weird when we asked for a drink
4. They messed up our dinner reservation for the japanese restaurant and because of that we could not eat there. We were stuck with 2 restaurants - mexican (almost every day) and italian (dinner). We are from san francisco so that was limiting and a disappointment for us.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have good sunset/sunrise view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Warm Greeting from Sunset Plaza Hotel!!
We are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your visit with us. We would like to thank you for sharing with us your opinion that definitely helps us to make sure that all our services and facilities fill up our client’s standards. Your opinion is very valuable to all of our staff.
I will extend your congratulations to Cipriano for their great job.
We would like to take the opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay with us. We are taking care of your recommendations and taking the necessary steps in order to avoid these situations in the future.
We look forward to having the opportunity to have you staying with us, in the meantime, feel free to contact us at anytime. If you have additional feedback that wish to share, I will be more than happy to assist you.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is right on the water, has so many pools, activities for the kids, it rained the whole week and we were not bored for a minute, the restaurants are great, beautiful view, when it did stop raining workers were always drying everything up so you can go right out, Manager met us at the door when we arrived, would never go anyplace else, thank you to all at the Sunset Plaza for helpinig us celebrate a wonderful 30 year anniversary:) Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom suite, all rooms overlook the beach, so much room for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Please allow me to start by thanking you for taking the time to share with us your impressions regarding your stay, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and we will be looking forward to seeing you here every anniversary.
It is great to hear you were celebrating your 30th Anniversary and you choose Puerto Vallarta and our hotel to celebrate this important date.
Thank you so much to share your lovely experience; Sunset Plaza is very proud to know we exceeded your expectations making your vacation memorable and special.
Puerto Vallarta has many options to offer when it comes to food, fun and nature areas, so we will be very happy if you give us the opportunity to host you in your home away from home.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez@hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our stay at the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa was wonderful! It was just what we needed. From the time we arrived until we left, everyone there made our stay perfect. Our room was spotless & the view was amazing. The food was wonderful, all made to order, no buffets. The french toast for breakfast.....wow! All the staff are very friendly and helpful and always busy making the grounds clean & beautiful. If you want a resort to relax and be pampered, this one is for you. Not a resort with loud music and lots of activities. They do have a children's club if you do bring the kids. I would definitely recommend this resort for and excellent vacation.

Room Tip: Try to stay on floors 4 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Mrs. Tina,
Please let me express my gratitude to you for sharing such nice comments regarding your latest stay with us, we are very happy to hear that you really enjoy your vacation.
Sunset Plaza hotel is oriented to for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, a business event, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon whether you plan to visit Puerto Vallarta.
The newly constructed Sunset Plaza Resort & Spa is an impressive sight of contemporary architecture, curving gently around a lushly landscaped beachfront sundeck, where two infinity pools sparkle and guests bask in the sun in comfortable lounge chairs or enjoy a soak in one of three open-air Jacuzzis.
Each of the Sunset Plaza’s spacious guest rooms and suites features a private terrace with a breathtaking 180° view of the ocean and the spectacular Puerto Vallarta´s sunset. The rooms are warmly decorated in hues of orange, gold and sparkle, equipped with fine granite countertops, marble bathroom surfaces, and elegant contemporary wood furniture.
Amenities at Sunset Plaza include a large fitness room and spa; an activity packed Kids Club, two full-service restaurants – one international cuisine and one Italian – a deli, a lobby lounge, and the Poolside Aqua Bar.
Please know that Sunset Plaza takes highly consideration of all our guest comments, always working on pampering and making our guests feel at home.
We will be looking forward to seeing you soon.
Best Regards,
Leaslie Gómez
lgomez@hotelesgdlplaza.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest resorts in the Puerto Vallarta Hotel Zone, the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa boasts an incredible location. It is only a 5-minute cab ride to downtown Puerto Vallarta, where a wide array of world-class restaurants, shops, and galleries are available for your pleasure. Plus, you won`t want to miss the on-going display of local art, and a nightly show of the famous Papantla Fliers.Comfort is also one of hotels strengths; apart from hotels privileged location within Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, the tranquility of hotels beach is palpable. Everything is flawlessly harmonized to insure that your dream vacation encounters the perfect scenario.100 suites all front ocean view with huge terraces.Amenities include a large fitness center and spa, activity Kids Club, two full-service restaurants Mexican and Italian a self-service deli, a lobby lounge, and the poolside Aqua Bar. Whether you plan to visit for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon, plan to make Sunset Plaza Beach Resort your destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.