We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We just got back from our honeymoon at the Sunset Plaza Hotel in Puerto Vallarta and we have to say it was a lovely and relaxing resort. We were anxious at first because we're more of a quiet couple and we were not looking for loud music or big crowds. The Sunset Plaza was a perfect fit for us in terms of size, atmosphere and service. The resort is on the newer side (built in 2010) and we were greeted by the hotel manager Javier when we first arrived himself. It was very safe and secure knowing that the even the entrance to the parking lot was staffed by hotel security who checked each taxi and person that came through.

The view of the ocean is incredible from each of the rooms and the pool. The facilities were very clean and well kept. The rooms were very comfortable. There is a personal safe in each room as well as an outer balcony which has a table and a couple of chairs for you to eat a leisurely private dinner while looking at the ocean.

The food was pretty good. We would recommend anything with flour tortillas as they make them fresh and tasty every day! The orange juice tasted like it was fresh squeezed. We wish there was a little bit more variety of food choices, but instead of a buffet, they cook to order which we would take any day.

The staff at the hotel were excellent and very knowledgeable of the area and had lots of good recommendations for activities. Hazael helped us a good deal with directions and recommended a great restaurant for us with a breathtaking view of the downtown area.

We would recommend this resort to others who are looking for a more quiet and relaxing experience for couples and families alike.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view, so you won't be disappointed. Best to choose a room that is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
On behalf of all the staff of Sunset Plaza hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your holidays with us, we feel very honored.
I shared your good comments with our General Manager and the staff involved.
We are proud to hear that we were up to your expectations at this your home on the beach, Sunset Plaza Hotel.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you in a near future.

Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    914
    248
    65
    22
    10
See reviews for
396
587
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

If I could sum it all up, it would be the attention to detail that the staff gives to this beautiful property. This was actually our first all-inclusive (in all of our travels)… So we were not sure what to expect. But given all of the good reviews on the food – we decided to opt in. We were not disappointed in the least! Javier Is the hotel manager – and he sure does a great job of making everyone feel welcome and attended to. And the staff does such a phenomenal job of carrying that out, as well. We were delighted to discover that there was an adult pool – as the few days we were there, many children were playing in the regular pool and it made it hard to relax :-) The cleanliness of the rooms, and the amazing food impressed me the most. I've never seen all of the elements come together in such a great combination as I have in this property for an all-inclusive price. The property is small enough to make it easy to get around – and not so big that you feel like you are walking all the time. Some of the other properties in PV make you walk forever just to get to one café or beach location. You will not be disappointed if you try the Sunset Plaza!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
On behalf of all the staff of Sunset Plaza hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your holidays with us, we feel very honored.
I shared your good comments with our General Manager and the staff involved.
We are proud to hear that we were up to your expectations at this your home on the beach, Sunset Plaza Hotel.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you in a near future.

Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Since this was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta, we weren't sure about what to expect. Let me tell you that this hotel was wonderful. From Javier, the hotel Manager,assuring all of our needs were met, Refugio and other staff, tellling us the best places to go, and especially Executive Chef Manuel Nicolas Hernandez, who provided us with his amazing food. The hotel property is excellent, well maintained, and has all of the amenities you would ever need. The way it is designed, you have an amazing city view from the back, and ocean view from the front. There were weddings that had beautiful sunset settings, and even a kids club area. Try this hotel, you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Lisa,
On behalf of all the staff of Sunset Plaza hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your holidays with us, we feel very honored.
I shared your good comments with our General Manager and the staff involved.
We are proud to hear that we were up to your expectations at this your home on the beach, Sunset Plaza Hotel.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you in a near future.
Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Sunset Plaza is by far the best resort we have stayed in. It's 1 bedroom suites are fabulous. Every room over looks the water and every room has a huge balcony. Staff are wonderful especially Javier the manager. Cleanliness is awesome and the location is great to get to the Malicon. I hope someday they will have theme nights like especially the Fiesta. They have a great club for the kids also and my grandkids enjoyed that a lot. All the waiters and maids do a really good job of helping you. We've stayed their the last 2 years and hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms 716 and 1512 were great rooms. The higher the rooms the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
On behalf of all the staff of Sunset Plaza hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your holidays with us, we feel very honored.
I shared your good comments with our General Manager and the staff involved.
We are proud to hear that we were up to your expectations at this your home on the beach, Sunset Plaza Hotel.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you in a near future.

Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Puerto Vallarta; book the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa. You won't be disappointed. Hotel, Spa, Amenities, Food, Drinks and most of all the Staff are all 5 star performers. If you find anything not to your liking, just ask the staff. You will find them to be gracious, professional and dedicated to making your stay with them a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Highly suggest the 1 bedroom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
On behalf of all the staff of Sunset Plaza hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your holidays with us, we feel very honored.
I shared your good comments with our General Manager and the staff involved.
We are proud to hear that we were up to your expectations at this your home on the beach, Sunset Plaza Hotel.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you in a near future.

Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset Plaza from 1-8 June. Staff was excellent, property was excellent, well maintained and very quiet (good for me as I like sitting by the pool reading and drinking margaritas).

I was worried about the food and drinks given some comments but I found it to be very good. If a drink was too weak we just would ask for additional shot and servers took care of us. What the resort/ Luciano Menu calls a Filet Mignon is most definitely not a Filet Mignon; it was very tasty however and probably a ribeye based on looks, fat content and tenderness. There was a foul odor detectable in our bathroom (may have been from the window or ventilation system). I suspect it was the ventilation system because as long as it was on we couldn't tell. Concierge was trying to get us to sign on the dotted line for excursions but the 5 year old didn't have the kind of attention span to bring on 6 or 8 hour trips; don't begrudge her the hard selling tactics it is her job after all but now I know better.

Breakfast sandwich was delicious but pack your insulin.

We went on an all inclusive package, it was worth it given what we paid for and the quality off site. Gratuity is not included but I recommend it as the staff works hard and have excellent attitudes.

Last 2 nights Thurs and Fri, there was a convention of some sort and the pool had a DJ, kids liked the dance music and they didn't play into the wee hours so it was fun.

Kids loved the pool, kids zone and got to release newly hatched turtles. Nearby Soriana (grocery store) is 4 blocks to keep fridge stocked. If you are put off by desparate street and beach vendors Mexico is not the place for you, a polite "Gracias, no" usually does the trick.

Note: Rainy season starts in Puerto Vallarta in June, if you like sunshine Fall is best.

Room Tip: Higher floor is quieter so I am told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear:
On behalf of all the staff of Sunset Plaza hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your holidays with us, we feel very honored.
I shared your good comments with our General Manager and the staff involved.
We are proud to hear that we were up to your expectations at this your home on the beach, Sunset Plaza Hotel.
Regarding bathroom odor, our maintenance staff had checked the hydraulic system and it seems that the odor cannot be sense anymore. However they are going to monitor it in order to avoid these situations, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you in a near future.

Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The way this hotel is maintained it just wonderful and the people working there are just as nice as can be I really enjoyed myself!!!!! There were several people thats were beyond nice but I only happen to catch a few names two butlers Hazzel and Juan, and the activity directer Jose!!! These guys were very helpful and all about making sure we had the best time ever!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Friend,
On behalf of all the staff of Sunset Plaza hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your holidays with us, we feel very honored.
I shared your good comments with our General Manager and the staff involved.
We are proud to hear that we were up to your expectations at this your home on the beach, Sunset Plaza Hotel.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you in a near future.
Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest resorts in the Puerto Vallarta Hotel Zone, the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa boasts an incredible location. It is only a 5-minute cab ride to downtown Puerto Vallarta, where a wide array of world-class restaurants, shops, and galleries are available for your pleasure. Plus, you won`t want to miss the on-going display of local art, and a nightly show of the famous Papantla Fliers.Comfort is also one of hotels strengths; apart from hotels privileged location within Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, the tranquility of hotels beach is palpable. Everything is flawlessly harmonized to insure that your dream vacation encounters the perfect scenario.100 suites all front ocean view with huge terraces.Amenities include a large fitness center and spa, activity Kids Club, two full-service restaurants Mexican and Italian a self-service deli, a lobby lounge, and the poolside Aqua Bar. Whether you plan to visit for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon, plan to make Sunset Plaza Beach Resort your destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.