We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Sunset Plaza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Our stay at Sunset Plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Sunset Plaza was just as nice as other reviewers depicted it to be. When we arrived to check in, we were greeted with champagne, cold washcloths, and a complimentary aromatherapy chair massage. Our room was beautiful and faced the beach. It was equipped with modern amenities. We opted for the European plan, as neither of us are much into all-inclusive plans, but the pool area was very nice with plenty of places to lounge. The infinity pool was pretty cool, but the best part is that they have a private, adults only pool and 3 separate hot tubs with awesome views. The only downside to their pool area was that there was not much shade once the sun was at it's highest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_1Manager, Manager at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Friends,
On behalf of all the staff of Sunset Plaza hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your holidays with us, we feel very honored.
I shared your good comments about of the service with our General Manager and the staff involved.
We are proud to hear that we were up to your expectations at this your home on the beach, Sunset Plaza Hotel.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you in a near future.
Sincerely,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    254
    67
    23
    12
See reviews for
413
609
28
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Everyone and everything about Sunset Plaza is wonderful. The food is great at all three restaurants. We highly recommend the exclusive quiet dinner for two out on the jetty (where massages are during the day). It was the most romantic unforgettable dinner we have ever had the opportunity to experience. Not to mention the ambiance at sunset made the dinner even more complete. The butlers, bartenders, maids, turn down maids and concierge (hope I didn't forget anyone) are all absolutely fabulous. Now that we are home I really miss our butlers. Love how the butlers would even shop for us when we needed items whether it was for our refrigerator or if it was batteries for the camera. Take advantage of the morning deep stretch class it will start your day out with a smile. My husband and I did the tandem massages out on the jetty in the morning and everything about them was extraordinary. I would say that there is not anything negative to say about Sunset Plaza. We can't wait to go back. It was by far our best vacation ever!

Room Tip: Love the 1 bedroom as it has 2 bathrooms and a kitchen. I find it a must to have a fridge. The groce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everything about our stay was amazing. Me and my best friend checked in a couple of days after our two other friends. They already knew our friends very well by the time we got there. The service was excellent. Always smiling and very helpful. The food was amazing. The rooms were so clean and the turn down service with linen spray was a nice touch. Everything we needed was provided for and more. Nice, small, with a boutique feel. The entertainment guy hooked us up with a private tour operator from the beach. It was my third trip to PV and my best friends fifth trip. Both our friends were here for the first time. Big name tours are nice and all, but we wanted something more personal and intimate. We paid 1200 pesos each (times four people) for an 8 hour private boat charter with two snorkelling stops and a stop in Yelapa. It was amazing! Way nicer in terms of our own private time than the big name companies. We stopped off at a secluded beach and we were the ONLY people there. Very nice. Not rushed. No lineups for snorkels. Yelapa was pretty cool, too. I highly recommend the private tour route and would do it again without hesitation. Just ask the entertainment guide to recommend a reputable person.

Las Palmas is right next door. If you want all-day pool party action, then go there. Seriously they partied all day and late into the night. Our resort all but shuts down at 10pm. Nice to come home to after going out dancing elsewhere. Also nice to relax to.

Our stay at Sunset Plaza was awesome and amazing. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice room and very clean. Amazing viewing for sunsets/sunrises. All-inclusive best way to go and the dining was great pool side or at the restaurant. Dinks were great as well. Menu options vary daily. ***If you dine at Lucianos you have to try a coffee drink after dinner if only to enjoy the show for how they make the drinks tableside.
Butlers and desk staff were helpful when needed. Spa staff did a great job!!
We enjoyed having several pool options and plenty of cabanas, towels, lounge chairs available.
There is no place on property to by essentials but its located on a main street with lots of shops for anything needed. we walked the 1st night just to check what's around it's safe. If you don't get the all inclusive option and want to venture out there are convience stores, Burger King, KFC, Subway, and local establishements. There's also a Wal-Mart in driving distance.
Exchange rate is higer at the hotel but cheaper than airport. We had option to pay in US dollar or Peso.
It's also a kid friendly establishement but we were never bothered by this. The resport has lots of activities and pool for their entertainment.
For adults they offer yoga, sports, bartending demonstrations, poker, etc events as well duing the day.
Only negatives were no turn down service when requested our 1st night. When they do this you can customize the secents you like on your sheets and in the room. A must try.
We would stay again at this property and enjoyed all it had to offer.

Room Tip: Every room has a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Used this hotel as a base camp in-between a July 2012 surf safari. I found the accomodations to be exceedingly luxurious and it being the low season (Summer 2012), you got amazing services and fantastic rooms all at below the going market rate. Make use of alternate hotel websites and you're sure to score a deal. Lay out by the pool or take a bus or cab into downtown PV to explore all the nightlight PV has to offer!

Room Tip: Looking for luxury accommodations within the part of PV closer to the Airport, look no further...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful rooms and condos! Staff is amazing. If we could suggest anything it would be nice to have a small shop on the premesis to buy any sundries. The food was good but never order a big steak of any kind..not good! Luciano's restaurant claims to be Italian but has no Italian food! We did love the pools and bars though! It's a very clean place and that speaks volumes! We would stay here again for relaxation!

Room Tip: We had a 2 br condo and loved it! We had 3 bathrooms! Amazing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The staff was amazing . the food was wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable.. Everything about this place is great. I had a great message under the cabana on the beach.. the menu changed alot and the guacamole was heaven...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest resorts in the Puerto Vallarta Hotel Zone, the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa boasts an incredible location. It is only a 5-minute cab ride to downtown Puerto Vallarta, where a wide array of world-class restaurants, shops, and galleries are available for your pleasure. Plus, you won`t want to miss the on-going display of local art, and a nightly show of the famous Papantla Fliers.Comfort is also one of hotels strengths; apart from hotels privileged location within Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, the tranquility of hotels beach is palpable. Everything is flawlessly harmonized to insure that your dream vacation encounters the perfect scenario.100 suites all front ocean view with huge terraces.Amenities include a large fitness center and spa, activity Kids Club, two full-service restaurants Mexican and Italian a self-service deli, a lobby lounge, and the poolside Aqua Bar. Whether you plan to visit for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon, plan to make Sunset Plaza Beach Resort your destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.