We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and friendliness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation and friendliness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice room and very clean. Amazing viewing for sunsets/sunrises. All-inclusive best way to go and the dining was great pool side or at the restaurant. Dinks were great as well. Menu options vary daily. ***If you dine at Lucianos you have to try a coffee drink after dinner if only to enjoy the show for how they make the drinks tableside.
Butlers and desk staff were helpful when needed. Spa staff did a great job!!
We enjoyed having several pool options and plenty of cabanas, towels, lounge chairs available.
There is no place on property to by essentials but its located on a main street with lots of shops for anything needed. we walked the 1st night just to check what's around it's safe. If you don't get the all inclusive option and want to venture out there are convience stores, Burger King, KFC, Subway, and local establishements. There's also a Wal-Mart in driving distance.
Exchange rate is higer at the hotel but cheaper than airport. We had option to pay in US dollar or Peso.
It's also a kid friendly establishement but we were never bothered by this. The resport has lots of activities and pool for their entertainment.
For adults they offer yoga, sports, bartending demonstrations, poker, etc events as well duing the day.
Only negatives were no turn down service when requested our 1st night. When they do this you can customize the secents you like on your sheets and in the room. A must try.
We would stay again at this property and enjoyed all it had to offer.

Room Tip: Every room has a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    254
    67
    23
    12
See reviews for
413
609
28
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Used this hotel as a base camp in-between a July 2012 surf safari. I found the accomodations to be exceedingly luxurious and it being the low season (Summer 2012), you got amazing services and fantastic rooms all at below the going market rate. Make use of alternate hotel websites and you're sure to score a deal. Lay out by the pool or take a bus or cab into downtown PV to explore all the nightlight PV has to offer!

Room Tip: Looking for luxury accommodations within the part of PV closer to the Airport, look no further...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful rooms and condos! Staff is amazing. If we could suggest anything it would be nice to have a small shop on the premesis to buy any sundries. The food was good but never order a big steak of any kind..not good! Luciano's restaurant claims to be Italian but has no Italian food! We did love the pools and bars though! It's a very clean place and that speaks volumes! We would stay here again for relaxation!

Room Tip: We had a 2 br condo and loved it! We had 3 bathrooms! Amazing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The staff was amazing . the food was wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable.. Everything about this place is great. I had a great message under the cabana on the beach.. the menu changed alot and the guacamole was heaven...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this resort for about 4 days. This resort was very nice, it had an amazing view. I'm happy that I was able to enjoy myself here. The staff gave excellent customer service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Sunset Plaza. If you want to be waited on hand and foot, then this is the place for you. The rooms were exquisite and large. The staff was one of the best I have ever seen and experienced and I travel for a living all around the world so I have seen it all. All the rooms have an incredible view of the ocean were you can sit on your private balcony and watch the sunset. There are two beautiful pools, one for adults and the other for families. My wife and I have never come back from a vacation as well rested and as peaceful as we did from this one. If you are going to Puerto Vallarta and want to be pampered for a really great price, then make this your destination. We will SOOOO be back for our next vacation.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach and have a superb view of it. If you are a couple and looking for a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely view, all rooms ocean view as they should be on the Pacific. 2 restaurants that were fairly good! I actually waited til end of week to tip some of the routine wait staff and did not as they never even came back to refil my coffee during breakfast!
One evening a 1 1/2 inch roach crawled out we reported then found another under dresser when packing! Ugh!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest resorts in the Puerto Vallarta Hotel Zone, the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa boasts an incredible location. It is only a 5-minute cab ride to downtown Puerto Vallarta, where a wide array of world-class restaurants, shops, and galleries are available for your pleasure. Plus, you won`t want to miss the on-going display of local art, and a nightly show of the famous Papantla Fliers.Comfort is also one of hotels strengths; apart from hotels privileged location within Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, the tranquility of hotels beach is palpable. Everything is flawlessly harmonized to insure that your dream vacation encounters the perfect scenario.100 suites all front ocean view with huge terraces.Amenities include a large fitness center and spa, activity Kids Club, two full-service restaurants Mexican and Italian a self-service deli, a lobby lounge, and the poolside Aqua Bar. Whether you plan to visit for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon, plan to make Sunset Plaza Beach Resort your destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.