We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic luxury accommodations in an easily accessible part of PV from the Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic luxury accommodations in an easily accessible part of PV from the Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Used this hotel as a base camp in-between a July 2012 surf safari. I found the accomodations to be exceedingly luxurious and it being the low season (Summer 2012), you got amazing services and fantastic rooms all at below the going market rate. Make use of alternate hotel websites and you're sure to score a deal. Lay out by the pool or take a bus or cab into downtown PV to explore all the nightlight PV has to offer!

Room Tip: Looking for luxury accommodations within the part of PV closer to the Airport, look no further...!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    360
    91
    32
    15
See reviews for
567
855
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful rooms and condos! Staff is amazing. If we could suggest anything it would be nice to have a small shop on the premesis to buy any sundries. The food was good but never order a big steak of any kind..not good! Luciano's restaurant claims to be Italian but has no Italian food! We did love the pools and bars though! It's a very clean place and that speaks volumes! We would stay here again for relaxation!

Room Tip: We had a 2 br condo and loved it! We had 3 bathrooms! Amazing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The staff was amazing . the food was wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable.. Everything about this place is great. I had a great message under the cabana on the beach.. the menu changed alot and the guacamole was heaven...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at this resort for about 4 days. This resort was very nice, it had an amazing view. I'm happy that I was able to enjoy myself here. The staff gave excellent customer service. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Sunset Plaza. If you want to be waited on hand and foot, then this is the place for you. The rooms were exquisite and large. The staff was one of the best I have ever seen and experienced and I travel for a living all around the world so I have seen it all. All the rooms have an incredible view of the ocean were you can sit on your private balcony and watch the sunset. There are two beautiful pools, one for adults and the other for families. My wife and I have never come back from a vacation as well rested and as peaceful as we did from this one. If you are going to Puerto Vallarta and want to be pampered for a really great price, then make this your destination. We will SOOOO be back for our next vacation.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach and have a superb view of it. If you are a couple and looking for a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Lovely view, all rooms ocean view as they should be on the Pacific. 2 restaurants that were fairly good! I actually waited til end of week to tip some of the routine wait staff and did not as they never even came back to refil my coffee during breakfast!
One evening a 1 1/2 inch roach crawled out we reported then found another under dresser when packing! Ugh!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The plus is that the rooms are great, great views; only flaw they do not come back for room service until the next day.

Our biggest issues were with the pool area food, drinks and service. With the exception of the tacos (de-lish) they are in serious need of a new Head Chef and a mixologist, well mixologists. For such a spicy setting the food is bland and inconsistent. And just forget about the room service fare, It's worth it to venture out to PVR at large however late to taste the authentic food; it seems the resort folk made a decision to homogenize to serve en masse. Last, the drinks on your first day are good and served in fancy plastic hurricane glasses, by day three you're being served drinks in mess-hall 6 ounce cups sans fancy affects - fine, as long as the liquor is not watered down BUT guess
what!? Inconsistencies abound!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest resorts in the Puerto Vallarta Hotel Zone, the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa boasts an incredible location. It is only a 5-minute cab ride to downtown Puerto Vallarta, where a wide array of world-class restaurants, shops, and galleries are available for your pleasure. Plus, you won`t want to miss the on-going display of local art, and a nightly show of the famous Papantla Fliers.Comfort is also one of hotels strengths; apart from hotels privileged location within Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, the tranquility of hotels beach is palpable. Everything is flawlessly harmonized to insure that your dream vacation encounters the perfect scenario.100 suites all front ocean view with huge terraces.Amenities include a large fitness center and spa, activity Kids Club, two full-service restaurants Mexican and Italian a self-service deli, a lobby lounge, and the poolside Aqua Bar. Whether you plan to visit for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon, plan to make Sunset Plaza Beach Resort your destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.