We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
“Very Nice Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place and it is staff were pretty good. Poolside service needs some improvement as they came around about once an hour. The resort and grounds were well kept. Menus changed nightly to provide a great variety. French toast in the morning was some of the best french toast I have ever had! Jorge(waiter/server) was more than awesome, and we couldn't have asked for better butlers in David and Juan! The one downside, we stayed on the 12th floor(beautiful views) but we could here kids in the pool at the neighboring hotel which is owned by the same people as this resort at 4:00 a.m. making all kind of noise. I went out on the balcony and yelled at them and the noise stopped however it happened more than once. Overall, it was a great stay and we met some great people!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    262
    69
    25
    12
See reviews for
421
623
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked a week in May at this hotel based on the reviews. Our past experiences based on the reviews hotels rang true but not for this hotel. I cannot understand all of the great reviews for this place – it does not make sense if you’ve been to other hotels in the same ratings range in PV. The first thing our "butler" did was tell us about all the extra charges: room water and coffee and a room service surcharge! Oh and there’s a surcharge for "all-inclusive people" for certain menu items! I thought I purchased and “All-inclusive”? Food is hit and miss, choices are limited and service is spotty. Oh and how about the noise from their sister hotel next door until 11 pm every other night. Staff are friendly enough and the room was clean. I expected more and there are much better boutique hotels in PV IMHO.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I visited Sunset Plaza for the second time April 20-27. We visited last May and obviously enjoyed our experience enough to return. This visit was even better! It was the BEST and most RELAXING vacation ever! It started before we even arrived with personal attention from the Resort Manager, Javier. Thank you so much for EVERYTHING Javier. What makes Sunset Plaza extra special is the service. Everyone is so friendly and accommodating. There was a HUGE improvement in the cuisine, variety and quality. Each meal was delicious. The property is beautifully situated with constant ocean views and sounds. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. This property lacks nothing! It is obvious that the staff and management aim for customer "delight" and they absolutely achieve it! We are planning our third visit for next year, if not sooner!

Room Tip: The higher floors afford a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

From the minute you walk in the door, you are greeted personally and greeted with a glass of champagne. The staff was personable and attentive throughout our entire stay. There are so many things to rave about so I'll list them out here:
- Small boutique size so you can get from the room to the pool in 3 minutes. And yet the main pool is big enough for a swim and has a swim-up bar.
- Every room has an ocean view
- Food at the 2 restaurants and deli were delicious and they were always open to your customizations
- Always able to find a spot by the pool
- Bed cabanas by the adult pool area to relax in
- Rooms were set up with different wonderful aromas every day
- Beds were comfortable
- 5 minutes to the Malecon area
- 10 minutes to get from the Airport to the hotel
- Everyone there was super attentive to our needs. Special thanks to our butler, Juan, for always making sure we were well taken care of.

To sum it up, we had a great experience and couldn't have asked for a better place to spend it in Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: You'll always get a room with an ocean view! If you want slightly quieter in case you have a no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I just wanted to shared my 2 cents worth. This resort is great. If you want a place to truly relax with great ocean view suites (we watched whales and phenominal sunsets from the balcony), gourmet foot, and service better than I have experienced anywhere in the world, this is your place. This is not a big party resort, which I loved. Pools not filled with loud blasting music, but the swim up bar provides geneous fun drinks to keep you happy!!!! NO BUFFETS! A huge plus for me. Nothing I hate worse than buffet lines, complete with little kids fingers in everything you were thinking about trying or worse, food just sitting for hours attracting bugs. It is a sit down venue with truly good food served by amazingly friendly and accomodating waiters. These people truly go the extra mile and even print out your boarding passes when you leave, I will go back. I will tell everyone I know to check it out. To give it extra kudos, we had a no smoking room, and no smoking was allowed around the pool. Sa-weet! Roberto, our personal butler saw to it that we had everything we needed, cabs in 5 minutes when needed, and kept the time share sales folks away, per our request. This was a great vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floors =better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hi,

We Travel to Mexico Twice a Year and Stay at Highly Rated All-Inclusive Hotels. This was our first stay at the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort. We Traveled with our 5 Year Old Daughter and my Wife's Mother (aka Baby Sitter). We Chose this Resort due to it's high rating on Trip Advisor.

The Good:

One Bedroom suites are big and comfortable
The Food is Above Average
The Pool was very clean and warm
The Butler and Manger were very friendly
It was Slow the week we stayed there
The Activities Staff was outgoing and engaging
The Kids Club is Great and conveniently located near the pool
The Gym is nice and never crowded
Massages were nice and fairly priced
Unlimited Towels

The Bad:

Resort to the North is Noisy until at least 11pm each night
The Bar and Restaurant Staff was not attentive or very friendly
The Food Selection is very limited
The Beach is Small
The Beach/Pool Chairs are not cushioned, only in the Adult Area
The Whole Roof Top Hot Tub Area, seems like a complete waste of Space

Overall the Hotel was Above average, compared to other hotels in the area. We went to the Marival Residences for the Second half of our stay and the Food & Service was superior to this Hotel. One Night the Air Conditioning was blowing warm air, I called Maintenance and they admitted to turning the temp up to Save Money, because it was so slow.....Really!

We are not planning on Staying at this Resort Again, but would recommend it to Families traveling on a budget.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as close to the Roof as Possible, this will help with noise issues from the Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had an amazing experience at Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa. It was just what we needed great service, friendly people, good food and drinks, and a clean/comfortable room. I've been telling all of my family, friends, and co-workers that this is the place to stay. It was our first time in Puerto Vallarta and Sunset Plaza and I felt right at home. I felt really safe in comparison to travel in other cities in Mexico. The staff was attentive to our needs and my only complaint...is that I didn't stay long enough. The excursions via Vallarta Adventures are so much fun.Thanks for a very relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room on a high floor to appreciate the view. Also, the temperature cools down at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest resorts in the Puerto Vallarta Hotel Zone, the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa boasts an incredible location. It is only a 5-minute cab ride to downtown Puerto Vallarta, where a wide array of world-class restaurants, shops, and galleries are available for your pleasure. Plus, you won`t want to miss the on-going display of local art, and a nightly show of the famous Papantla Fliers.Comfort is also one of hotels strengths; apart from hotels privileged location within Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, the tranquility of hotels beach is palpable. Everything is flawlessly harmonized to insure that your dream vacation encounters the perfect scenario.100 suites all front ocean view with huge terraces.Amenities include a large fitness center and spa, activity Kids Club, two full-service restaurants Mexican and Italian a self-service deli, a lobby lounge, and the poolside Aqua Bar. Whether you plan to visit for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon, plan to make Sunset Plaza Beach Resort your destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.