We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“a little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our second stay at Sunset Plaza in feb.2013 didn't disappoint. We enjoyed ourselves so much last year, we came back and cannot wait to return next year.Last year we stayed all-inclusive for 2 weeks and it was perfect..this time we were staying for almost 3 weeks so we decided to take the european plan with a few days of all-inclusive in the middle to mix things up..again, we were thoroughly delighted, never disappointed. We love Puerto Vallarta and got to enjoy the many wonderful restaurants in town as well as the excellent food and service at Sunset. The staff is excellent..attentive, friendly,going above and beyond their call of duty...i.e...Javier Vergera, our hotel manager..we forgot some things in our room..we called to let Javier know..they found our items..Javier shipped them back to us..taking the time and effort to find the most feasible way of doing so..items arrived safe and sound..and we couldn't be happier!! I could go on and on about the accomadations, food, service, staff, beautiful surroundings..etc...etc..Sunset Plaza has its own rhythm,its own special flavour..it's our 'little piece of heaven' and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: we were on the 14th floor...perfect view of Puerto Vallarta and the marina ..perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    293
    74
    26
    13
See reviews for
460
684
36
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have been to Puerto Vallarta five times now. Our last two stays have been at the Sunset Plaza. If we are able, we will probably never stay in another property in PV. The Sunset Plaza and its staff are amazing! We originally stayed at this hotel not long after they opened. I am happy to report that the facility and its staff are still top of the line! We were greeted at the door by Javier Versara, the resort manager. He is an outstanding host, and is constantly around ensuring that the visitors are enjoying their stay. His management style encourages the staff to provide outstanding service, and that is what we received! Almost all of the staff speak outstanding English!

Although we prefer to cook most of our meals in our condo, we brought friends who regularly dined at the on-site restaurants. They were very impressed with both the quality of the food and the presentation!

All of the condos face the ocean. We booked a two bedroom condo which provided one large balcony with a table for four, and two recliners. The second bedroom has its own balcony with a table for four. The site provides beautiful sunsets and an amazing view of seaside activity such as para-sailing, jet skiing, and other water activity.

The hotel is convenient to the local grocery store "The Mega", and it is only a half hour walk from the cathedral in the center of town or the Maritime Marina (various tours leave from this site). Local buses are available for 6.5 pesos or you can take a taxi for about 50 pesos.

In the past, we have visited PV in the Fall or around Christmas time. This year our 10 day trip was in March. The weather at this time of year was wonderful. No humidity and sunshine all but one day.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at SP February 10-15, and we loved it! If you like big resorts with lots of activities and things going on, this isn't the place for you, but if you like small, quiet and relaxing, you will love Sunset Plaza. The ocean view from the room was spectacular. We did the all-inclusive plan. We did not upgrade to the one-bedroom suite; just stayed in the basic room, and it was fine for us. Our food was great (except the steaks). We loved not having buffets. Breakfast was great, the sandwiches at the deli were fabulous, and open-air dining in the evening was really nice.
This was our first trip to PV. In the past, we have always stayed in Cancun/Riviera Maya, so we loved the view of the mountains from our loungers during the day and the view of the city and all the lights at night. We ventured down to the boardwalk twice and loved it. It was a quick, five-minute cab ride from SP, and we felt very safe. We have never stayed at the same place twice, but Sunset Plaza might be our one exception! Any questions, feel free to ask.

Thanks to JNS for the recommendation. We would have never found SP on our own since in my searches for all-inclusive resorts, it did not come up for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with all the amenities. Wonderfully warm welcome from all the reception staff. Next time I'll ask for a room on a higher floor in order to avoid rising smoke from the outdoor bar patio.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Last year we stayed at this property and had a wonderfull time, this year not so much.

No problem with the suite, they are large and well appointed. Our problem was with the food and service.

Last year there were many delicious items on the menu, this year there were approx half as many choices. Further, the food quality has decreased, it was really just ok not great. Most items were somewhat tasteless, and seemed mass produced (which you dont expect in an a la carte dining experience).

Service was confused and inattentive for the most part, several times we recieved another tables food and drink orders.

Drinks too were unremarkable, cheap draught beer and tasteless mixed drinks. I would rather have one well made cocktail, than several made from cheap ingredients, but perhaps this is for the benefit of the guests who spend all day drinking by the pool.

In all I do not feel that it was worth the $$ spent, if you get a cheap package deal im sure you will be delighted,but definately not worth the $300 per night we spent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Exceeded all expectations!
The room: Huge! None of the reviews do the rooms justice. Think big, then add another section!
All new, nice, and beautiful. Two full baths in our room. Large walk in closet. Full kitchen.
All marble type floors, walk in showers, true 5 star.
Service: Ours could not have been better. People truly doing all they can to make sure you are having a great experience.
Food: My experience was great! I had fish many evenings. The catch of the day was always excellent. Red snapper, Mahi Mahi, Marlin, and other wonderful fish. All prepared in really interesting ways. Just excellent.
Menu is a little limited, but all that is offered is first rate in quality and preparation. There is something there for everyone.
Desserts were interesting and delicious as well. We did the all inclusive for convenience. Not necessarily for everyone, but we enjoyed it. We found that we could get anything at pretty much any time and it was really excellent.
The pools are just amazing. An adult only pool with privacy. And then there are the large pools with swim up bar. Absolutely beautiful and really just the right temp.
The beach is limited out front, but you are able to walk for miles on the shore and it's just lovely. Anything is available to you.
They also do the little things very well. Coffee is available in the middle of the pool area early each morning. Towels are always plentiful. Turn down of beds includes chocolates each evening. You can even choose the scent that you would like to be put in your room and your linens each day! Pretty nice.
You can walk to a small mall in 5 minutes. It has all of the things that you would require.
You can take a long hike to the WalMart/Sam's area, or pay 50 cents and take the bus anywere!
The views are amazing here! The resort is in the back of a horseshoe bay with the ocean framed by the Sierra madre mountains on either side. The town of PV is built into the hill to the left of your beach and the view is breathtaking at night when the town is lit up!
Old PV is a great experience as well. Lovely boardwalk with lots of art and culture.
All in all this is one of my favorite places that i've ever visited. Sunset is a huge reason why.
Also, if you like whales the watching is as good as anywhere I've been for hump backs in season!

Room Tip: Full suite is amazing, but you can't go wrong with any room in this hotel. Up higher the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We actually stayed here in July 2012, this is a long over due review.

I surprised my boyfriend and took him here for his birthday we are both very easy going, easy to get along with people. When we arrived they had Dom perignon in our room with fresh fruit, we had Juan as a butler who truly TRULY made our stay amazing. We got to know all the staff they were all so friendly! I met with the manager to thank him so much for all there hard work.

On my boyfriends birthday I asked Juan to surprise Marcel (boyfriend) after we got back from dinner, we came back to Balloons all over wine, and a happy birthday cake.

Rooms: the room was to DIE for breathtaking that's all I can say, very clean and always maintained.

Service: There was not one moment where we were not treated great, the service was top notch. TO be honest these people make hardly any money you need to remember that they have families to take care of, I saw people being rude to some of the staff and never tipping, well if you want good service show the workers you appreciate them. (Ignore complaints on here that say service was terrible that is probably coming from a cheap jerk that could care less to be nice to the workers)

Overall Experience: It was great My boyfriend turned 30 and I am 25 neither of us are party animals but love to let loose, so this place was absolutely perfect. IT IS A 5 STAR anyone that says it isn't well get your prude butt out of mexico!

THANK YOU SO MUCH

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest resorts in the Puerto Vallarta Hotel Zone, the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa boasts an incredible location. It is only a 5-minute cab ride to downtown Puerto Vallarta, where a wide array of world-class restaurants, shops, and galleries are available for your pleasure. Plus, you won`t want to miss the on-going display of local art, and a nightly show of the famous Papantla Fliers.Comfort is also one of hotels strengths; apart from hotels privileged location within Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, the tranquility of hotels beach is palpable. Everything is flawlessly harmonized to insure that your dream vacation encounters the perfect scenario.100 suites all front ocean view with huge terraces.Amenities include a large fitness center and spa, activity Kids Club, two full-service restaurants Mexican and Italian a self-service deli, a lobby lounge, and the poolside Aqua Bar. Whether you plan to visit for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon, plan to make Sunset Plaza Beach Resort your destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.