We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE! great kid club!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE! great kid club!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

we have been here twice now and Gloria at the kid club s absolutely amazing with kids...of all ages!. She is one of the main reasons we go back. Staff is great, very helpful and fun. It is a nice a relaxing resort wich is what we like. you dont have to fight for a seat at the pool and the food is great. They will make whatever you like. My daughter is picky so they would make her a steak with no sauces and fries if she didnt want the rice or potato. They are very accommodating. They also respect your privacy. we Tried the new Now amber (wich is also a nice place) but when you had your do not disturb on they came in anyway and didnt respect our wishes...not what I like. They will not enter your room but if you need anything they will bring it for you.We all ready booked our 3rd year in a row to go back! Rooms are great and spacious we always get the one bedroom with a full kitchen and all inclusive. There is a grocery store a 4 min walk away and pharmacy on the corner. Very safe and comfortable.

Room Tip: all rooms face the ocean where you can watch dolphins and whales from your balcony every morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    253
    67
    23
    12
See reviews for
408
606
27
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The service was great, the food was excellent. Sit down dinners with a variety of choices. Very clean and a great pool right on the beach. A short bus ride to town and the Marina. Really a terrific holiday. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmw61
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and have nothing but great things to say about this hotel. We booked an ocean view suite and were pleasantly amazed at how nice the suite was. It was very large, modern and had a huge deck overlooking the pacific ocean. We were on the 15th floor and felt like we were in a penthouse suite.

There are two pools, an adults pool and a main infinity pool. We did not feel a need to go to the adults pool as the bar was at the main pool and it was large enough and the families with kids did not bother us.

As nice as the facility itself is, the service was beyond 5-star quality. Everyone seemed to really like their jobs and everyone was professional, helpful and most of all friendly. They made you feel like home (that is if home is having round the clock attention to your every need).

There are three restaurants: a deli, an Italian reservations only restaurant and a sit down restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was fresh and very good although if we were staying more than 4 days it might need to have more variety. For the all inclusive the drinks were good quality liquor such as Absolute and there was only one type of beer available, Modelo dark and light.

During our stay there were mainly families and not too many couples without children. This may have been due to the time of year (over Christmas). There were plenty of activities for the kids with a kids club and activity director.

Once again, we have only nice things to say about this hotel. The only downside for us was that there were mainly families staying there and not many couples without kids. But that is hardly the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a suite. Probably a little too much room for only two people but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at this resort from December 15-23, 2012. We had the all-inclusive package. Check in was fast and easy, didn't recieve cold drinks and towels upon arriving, but theat was no big deal, they came with them just as we were leaving the check in area. We were greeted by the general manger which was a nice touch.
Our Bulter Juan escorted us to our room, and explained everything to us, which was very helpful. The room was great, very clean and huge. It had a nice kitchen/living area. Two huge bathrooms, the 1 bedroom suite was awesome, probably too big for just the two of us, but we still enjoyed the extra space, and of course the king size bed. Balcony was massive, with a great view of the ocean, we enjoyed many sunsets out there.
Our first meal was the best, we had steak that was cooked, and prepared perfectly. It would have given any steakhouse in Canada a run for its money. Being that it was all al'carte meals, the resturant menu did get boring fast. They change the menu every three days or so. After the first few meals, the resturant server staff seemed to get very unorganzined, the wait time for ordering and getting our meals increased alot. Some days were fast and others were awfully slow. The meals went from great to bad, to better again, not sure why, but the same awesome steak we had on the first night, was just gross on the third night. We tried all three resturants, the iltalian was our least favorite.
The pool servers were the best, always getting your drinks fast and with a friendly smile. Pools were nice, we spent most of our time at the adult pool, with Edwardo as our server.. he was great.
The draw backs are few, but there are some with the resort. We had a room on the 8th floor, and had asked for that high of a floor to see the great sunsets, but the noise from the neighbouring resort, and the fans from the exhast systems were terrible. The noise that we couldn't hear while walking or sitting at the pool, we could hear 100% worst on our balcony. I really hated the noise eveytime we were sitting on the balcony, and somenights you could hear it even with the doors closed to the room.
We travelled with another couple, and they experinced the same noise issue that we did. There was four of us on the trip together, and on day 3 one of us had gotten ill and was sick for 24 hrs, kinda of like the flu, achey bones, back pain and throwing up. On day 5, I was extremly sick, vomitting, painfully joints for 36 hrs, and all I could do was sleep and vomit. On day 7, a third person in our party experinced the same illness. We spoke to 6 others at the resort that experinced the same illness, so not sure if the flu was just going around, or if we all picked up a "resort bug". The general manger Javiar was very concerned about all of us, and did see that our rooms were extra cleaned.
Over all, we really did like the resort, it was by far the cleaniest resort we have stayed at, but maybe not the best resort. Because of the lack of meal choices, and that there are so many great resturants in the area, I would not do all inclusive again at this resort if we were to return to the area.
Thank you to all the staff at this resort, you all do a great job!
We did a Canopy Zipline tour with Mundo Nogalito Eco Adventure which we loved, and we booked it ourselves, walk just down the street of the resort. The cost was $40.00 per person and was well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

we stayed at this hotel on Dec 08-15. The overall experience we had was pretty good. Warm welcoming and quick check-in was a good first impression. Rooms were clean and comfy. Staff was really friendly. They helped us in every way they could. It wasn't open buffet style restaurant. Every order was cooked just for you. So that we knew our food was fresh and special, however menu didn't have many variety. So it got boring after 3-4 days. Restaurant and bar staff was really friendly and service was prompt. The hotel next to ours was a bit noisy at nights but its no big deal. Location was pretty convenient. 15 minutes away from airport and 10 minutes away from city centre with a cab (50 pesos only!!) Pools were clean. Beach was kind of small yet enough.
Overall, we were satisfied with our all-incl package and would return back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was looking for a hotel that would be close to downtown Puerto Vallarta. I wanted all-inclusive for our resort time, but I did not want the all-inclusive price to be so high that we would feel bad about leaving the resort for dinner and/or entertainment. This hotel fits that description perfectly.

Restaurants - There is an ala carte restaurant by the pool (outdoors) which is open all day, I really enjoyed their breakfast and lunch and there were alot of things on the menu that I wanted to try. I enjoyed everything I had. We did not try the deli or the italian restaurant, we went downtown for dinner. The waitstaff is unorganized by they are friendly and the food is good.

Room - Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds, Full on Ocean Views from every room, plus you can look down from your balcony and see the whole resort. Well appointed and clean, pretty typical hotel room plus that great view. No mini-bar, just a small arrangement of snacks and room temp beverages. Room Service menu included but add a 10% surcharge charged as incidentals.

Pools - 1 main infinity pool with a swim-up bar, a kidney shaped adult pool guarded by hedges, a few shallow pools attached to the main pool, one with loungers, two for kids. Seating around the main pool is loungers with umbrellas and there are loungers and balinese beds around the adult pool. There are three hot tubs on the roof of the restaurant, this is a great place to go when the sun is going down. We took extra drinks with us as we did not see any waitstaff up there.

Beach - A resort width strip of golden beach. There isn't a lot of beach between the resort and water. There are three balinese beds, loungers, no umbrellas. There is a rope where the sales people cannot cross, but they stand there right at the rope and there are quite a few, but no one is rude, just say "no thank you."

Spa - I enjoyed a body treatment in the spa and a massage out in the palapa over the water. Everything was fantastic, the spa itself is gorgeous and well equipped, very peaceful and relaxing. They have daily spa specials.

Staff - Everyone is very helpful and down to earth and they speak excellent english. We tipped everyone when they did things for us. The concierge will ask you to sit down with her to talk about the area. She will want to find out what you are interested in and see if she can offer you a free something in exchange for the Vacation Club tour. We used the time to ask about some places we were specifically interested in going and how to get there and said no thank you to the tour. We politely maintained control of the conversation and moved on when we had the information we wanted.

Overall, this resort was a great mix of downtown convenience and all-inclusive pool lounging that we really enjoyed. I think it is an incredible value for what we paid compared to the prices we were looking at for Now or Secrets in the same timeframe. I would gladly stay here if I visit PV again.

Room Tip: All Deluxe Rooms have two Queen Beds. If you want a King Bed, you have to upgrade to the one bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here earlier this month and were pleasantly surprised to find that the exceptional ratings from other reviewers were true.

We booked our trip as an all inclusive package and chose to upgrade to the suite based on previous reviewers suggestions. We were very glad we did! The suite had a full kitchen which we hardly used but the extra space and larger balcony made it our home away from home.

The hotel is about a 45 minute walk to the cruise ship docks, marina or the Malecon which at first we thought was a bit far from the action, but when we learned a cab ride to these locations was only about $4 (less than 50 cents for a bus ride) we were happy with its central location away from the crowds.

There are two restaurants and a small deli, and the food at each was amazing! All meals at the restaurants were ordered from a menu and provided enough variety to please all but the pickiest eaters. Service was exceptional as was the presentation of the food.

The pools were clean as were the loungers and the grounds as well as the beach were kept tidy.

My wife and I felt like we were treated like royalty. Staff always had a smile on their face and handled our requests quickly and efficiently. I wish we had kept track of the names of everyone who helped to make our trip so very special but I hope it suffices to say all employees we came in contact with December 1st to 8th went above and beyond our expectations.

The exceptional service was, I have no doubt, due to the remarkable guidance of Javier, the hotel's Manager. Javier, who actually showed us to our room upon arrival, has located his desk within the lobby. Everyone entering the hotel or exiting the elevators is greeted, as often as not, by him. A well managed hotel indeed.

You won't be disappointed by choosing this hotel!

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diego Rivera 121, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest resorts in the Puerto Vallarta Hotel Zone, the Sunset Plaza Beach Resort and Spa boasts an incredible location. It is only a 5-minute cab ride to downtown Puerto Vallarta, where a wide array of world-class restaurants, shops, and galleries are available for your pleasure. Plus, you won`t want to miss the on-going display of local art, and a nightly show of the famous Papantla Fliers.Comfort is also one of hotels strengths; apart from hotels privileged location within Puerto Vallarta’s hotel zone, the tranquility of hotels beach is palpable. Everything is flawlessly harmonized to insure that your dream vacation encounters the perfect scenario.100 suites all front ocean view with huge terraces.Amenities include a large fitness center and spa, activity Kids Club, two full-service restaurants Mexican and Italian a self-service deli, a lobby lounge, and the poolside Aqua Bar. Whether you plan to visit for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, or an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon, plan to make Sunset Plaza Beach Resort your destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Plaza Beach Resort And Spa
Sunset Plaza Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Plaza Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.