We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, cheap beer and fun crowd” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska's Diner

Alaska's Diner
Lazaro Cardenas 515 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
322-137-4781
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Alaska's Diner is cozy, affordable, friendly and a favorite of the locals. Featuring Steaks, Thai Curries, Fresh Fish, Shepherds Pie, Chili Dogs and lots more comfort and different selections. Located in Old Town near the Tunnel. The slogan is Never Fast but Always Good. It really is all about the love.
Wi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food, cheap beer and fun crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

After hearing about Alaska's on many different websites I had to give it a try. Stopped in and it is a small place with beautiful staff and friendly customers. Roger (owner) is a very friendly guy and he interacts with customers from the kitchen and out in the dining room. My dinner the first night was so good I tried to come back for Prime Rib but it was sold out well in advance. Now that tells you he does an awesome job as it is low season and he was sold out like 5 days before hand. I went on the prime rib night hoping someone didn't show and canceled but that wasn't the case so all I could do was watch and drool. it was packed and everyone was having a great time. Great ex pat place to stop in. Oh yea and the beer is real cold and very reasonable. Definitely will be on my list to stop again. If you see JR in there see if you can get him to ring the bell. :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“INCREDIBLE STEAK! UNBELIEVABLE PRICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was my third time in Alaska's Diner. I have had rib eye steak twice and the Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo once. The Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo was very good, but I just have to rave about the steaks. Both times that I had them they were cooked perfectly, and the seasoning was, well, so good that we asked him what it was. He wouldn't divulge his "secret" ingredient though I will try to get it again next time.

And then the price. We paid $475 pesos (about $35.00 USD) for three steak meals and six drinks. Unbelievable!

If you are looking for a great meal. Try this place!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So Good We Went Twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Finally made it to Alaska's Diner, we had been trying to go for the last couple of trips but always seemed to run out of time, boy we sure have been missing out. Roger has daily specials that he posts on his web site along with a regular menu. The food is plentiful and very good, so good we went back again for dinner two days later. Erika the waitress/bartender is very friendly and efficient. Alaska's is just a fun place, friendly clientele and Roger is just a hoot, add good food with reasonable prices and you have a winner. Thanks Roger.....till we meet again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food & Very Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I had the steak with veggies and rice. Very good. The chef was so friendly. Good prices as well. I would definitely come here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Finally got the chance to visit this diner and tried the Thai curry chicken. It was delicious and my friend loved her rib eye steak. The prices were great as well! Will definitely come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska's Diner also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Alaska's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.