We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a resort - Perfect location, comfy and very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catedral Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Catedral Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Catedral Vallarta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hidalgo 166 Centro | Entre calles Libertad y Agustín Rodríguez, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not a resort - Perfect location, comfy and very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed a week in March 2013. Enjoyed my stay very much.

I noticed a couple of comments on the hot water situation. I found that before you step into the shower let the hot water run for about 5 minutes and you've got it. No big problem.

It is close to the Malecon and all the best authentic Mexican food in all of Puerto Vallarta. I walked an average of 2-3 miles a day and checked out every little food place. The street taco stands serve some of the best tacos I've ever tasted and for only 15 or so pesos.

The staff at the motel is exceptional and they keep the rooms perfectly clean. I'll for sure stay there again with no hesitation.

Jerry

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    77
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
101
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good news - the place is rather peaceful, has no night club attached etc. The only noise issues are with the traffic (get the room looking inside) and cathedral bells.
Our rooms were moderately sized, let's say "functional". I rather dislike a sink in the shower arrangement, so you can't really use the sink after taking a shower. Oh, and it takes a while for hot water to reach higher floors. There are not markings on the taps, all you can do is experiment with them - do wait for about 5 minutes.
Beware of low ceilings on the stairs - easy to hit your head.
There is no cooked breakfast which is fine; there are various eateries around. Margarita's was pretty good for breakfast.
All rooms are named and decorated according to Mexican songs. I got "El Rei" which was great. My friend had "Adelita" which was all pink and with dolls.
Staff was moderately friendly, but language problems did not allow us to use them as a source of local information

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, great down town accommodation right in the heart of down town. Very clean and great staff. Low noise level, day and night.
Free coffee every morning. Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We were disappointed in the room mostly. The bathroom had no hot water, and the cold water barely trickled out. We had to remove the shower head to get wet in the shower. The sink and only mirror was in the shower! (Not kidding). The safe did not work. Apparently none of the rooms in our portion of the building had a safe that worked. The coffee in the morning was cold, and the " beach club" is about a mile away". This is the first time we have felt the need to review a hotel, and we have been coming to PV for the last 12 years.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel for the money is one great place. You get asked what type of pillow,soap,and lotion flavor u would like for your time there. Even if u only need a place for one nite or 8 like me u will enjoy it. Very friendly staff they are there to help u any way that u need. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. In the mornings the coffee and snacks are great. The free wifi and the 2 computers makes keeping up with things at home easy. As with all the other people that write the location of this hotel is great. Just minutes from everything, food, shopping, bus rides,beach,malacon. Carlos the main man is great u need anything he is usually there. U only need to ask once and u get extra towells or whatever u need.I highly recommend this hotel just remember u are in a great town and enjoy your stay.This is my 2nd time at this hotel. Doug (Utah) P.S. snowing here wish I was back in Vallarta

Room Tip: all the rooms are about the same very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here last year. Stayed here this year, and will probably stay here next year. The beach is only two blocks away, the church is 3 blocks away, many restaurants steps away, the market, etc. The only thing I might add is more lighting(brighter). I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We chose this hotel for the location, close to everything. It was very clean and comfortable as well. We would recommend this hotel to others. Check out the rooftop patio, especially nice in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Catedral Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral Vallarta

Address: Hidalgo 166 Centro | Entre calles Libertad y Agustín Rodríguez, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catedral Vallarta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated chicly in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, just two blocks from the main square, the "Our Lady of Guadalupe" Parrish and the "Malecon" beach boardwalk Hotel Catedral Vallarta is surrounded by Restaurants, Bars, Art Galleries and Boutiques. Locally called “the latest jewel among Downtown Boutique properties”, Hotel Catedral Vallarta combines stylish furnishings with Mexican traditional charm and character. Each room is uniquely and individually decorated, exuding a blend of old Mexican elegance, with contemporary touches, with each room named after a classic Mexican song. Forged iron gates, terracotta columns, handcrafted railings, palms, flowers, live contrasting colors and textures create all together a charming, fresh and clean atmosphere. Complimentary Beach Club Access (walking distance), Free Wi-fi, daily Coffee and Tea service 7 am - 11 am, Pillows Menu, Hand made Soaps and eco-friendly amenities.The hotel's twenty-one rooms are sumptuous and evocative hideaways, boasting numerous modern conveniences and upscale amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access, large HD flat screen televisions, seventy-two television channels, in-room safety security box, the latest (and extremely quiet) AC system, cellular phones, business center, library and more. Through its halls and stairs, as in every room, you will always find a detail that evoques Mexico. Hand made flowers, hammered tin handcrafts from Guanajuato, original paintings, sculptures, blown glass lamps from the State of Jalisco, Papier-mâché dolls from Michoacán, textiles from Oaxaca, Religious art from Guerrero, and more. The relaxing intimacy at the property is enhanced by traditional Mexican furniture, softened with hand embroidered cushions from different regions of Mexico, te best of all, Everything is for sale ! you just have to ask your Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Catedral Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Catedral Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.