We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catedral Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Catedral Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Catedral Vallarta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hidalgo 166 Centro | Entre calles Libertad y Agustín Rodríguez, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Airdrie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, great down town accommodation right in the heart of down town. Very clean and great staff. Low noise level, day and night.
Free coffee every morning. Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    76
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
32
99
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We were disappointed in the room mostly. The bathroom had no hot water, and the cold water barely trickled out. We had to remove the shower head to get wet in the shower. The sink and only mirror was in the shower! (Not kidding). The safe did not work. Apparently none of the rooms in our portion of the building had a safe that worked. The coffee in the morning was cold, and the " beach club" is about a mile away". This is the first time we have felt the need to review a hotel, and we have been coming to PV for the last 12 years.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel for the money is one great place. You get asked what type of pillow,soap,and lotion flavor u would like for your time there. Even if u only need a place for one nite or 8 like me u will enjoy it. Very friendly staff they are there to help u any way that u need. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. In the mornings the coffee and snacks are great. The free wifi and the 2 computers makes keeping up with things at home easy. As with all the other people that write the location of this hotel is great. Just minutes from everything, food, shopping, bus rides,beach,malacon. Carlos the main man is great u need anything he is usually there. U only need to ask once and u get extra towells or whatever u need.I highly recommend this hotel just remember u are in a great town and enjoy your stay.This is my 2nd time at this hotel. Doug (Utah) P.S. snowing here wish I was back in Vallarta

Room Tip: all the rooms are about the same very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here last year. Stayed here this year, and will probably stay here next year. The beach is only two blocks away, the church is 3 blocks away, many restaurants steps away, the market, etc. The only thing I might add is more lighting(brighter). I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We chose this hotel for the location, close to everything. It was very clean and comfortable as well. We would recommend this hotel to others. Check out the rooftop patio, especially nice in the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Catedral is a beautiful hotel, less than a 5 minute walk from the beach, and right next to some of the main mercados in Puerto Vallarta.

The staff at Catedral were part of what made our trip to Puerto Vallarta so special! Everyone is so helpful, and great with giving directions, restaurant suggestions, reservations, whatever you might need. During the day and earlier evening, English-speaking concierge is available.

If wireless internet is important for you, we found it to be fast and reliable, though our room was at 2 bar range from the router.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you want a cute, small, boutique hotel on somewhat of a budget, this is definitely a great choice. It's colorful, yet quiet, atmosphere, gives you a friendly oasis right in the middle of Puerto Vallarta

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Catedral a few weeks ago. Our first impression of the Hotel was that it was very colorful- you walk off the busy street into a quiet courtyard; it was very peaceful and relaxing. The way the rooms are arranged makes you feel very private- especially since we booked the Penthouse Suite (the red room in the photos). The room was exactly as pictured, although what you don't see in the pictures is that it is a bit older: there were dents and cracks in the tiles, one of the window shades didn't work, and the bath tub was very clean but also had some cracked tiles. However, as I said, everything was very clean. I wish they had some carpeting on the floors (the tile is pretty but cold and hard!) and a clock in the room would have been nice. Just note; it is at the top of several flights of stairs and there is no elevator, which wasn't a problem for us but might be an issue for some.

My husband tried to connect to the wireless on several occasions, but wireless service was spotty, as other reviewers had mentioned. Sometimes if you found the right location in the room you could get a full signal; but then sometimes there was no signal at all.


One of the best things about the Hotel Catedral was its location, just a few short blocks from the Malecon.

I have to end my review by mentioning Claudia- who was at the front desk seemingly without sleep one night! She was very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: You are in the city and close to the Cathedral. so you will hear city noise and the bells of the cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Catedral Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral Vallarta

Address: Hidalgo 166 Centro | Entre calles Libertad y Agustín Rodríguez, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catedral Vallarta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated chicly in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, just two blocks from the main square, the "Our Lady of Guadalupe" Parrish and the "Malecon" beach boardwalk Hotel Catedral Vallarta is surrounded by Restaurants, Bars, Art Galleries and Boutiques. Locally called “the latest jewel among Downtown Boutique properties”, Hotel Catedral Vallarta combines stylish furnishings with Mexican traditional charm and character. Each room is uniquely and individually decorated, exuding a blend of old Mexican elegance, with contemporary touches, with each room named after a classic Mexican song. Forged iron gates, terracotta columns, handcrafted railings, palms, flowers, live contrasting colors and textures create all together a charming, fresh and clean atmosphere. Complimentary Beach Club Access (walking distance), Free Wi-fi, daily Coffee and Tea service 7 am - 11 am, Pillows Menu, Hand made Soaps and eco-friendly amenities.The hotel's twenty-one rooms are sumptuous and evocative hideaways, boasting numerous modern conveniences and upscale amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access, large HD flat screen televisions, seventy-two television channels, in-room safety security box, the latest (and extremely quiet) AC system, cellular phones, business center, library and more. Through its halls and stairs, as in every room, you will always find a detail that evoques Mexico. Hand made flowers, hammered tin handcrafts from Guanajuato, original paintings, sculptures, blown glass lamps from the State of Jalisco, Papier-mâché dolls from Michoacán, textiles from Oaxaca, Religious art from Guerrero, and more. The relaxing intimacy at the property is enhanced by traditional Mexican furniture, softened with hand embroidered cushions from different regions of Mexico, te best of all, Everything is for sale ! you just have to ask your Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Catedral Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Catedral Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.