We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value and location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catedral Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Catedral Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Catedral Vallarta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hidalgo 166 Centro | Entre calles Libertad y Agustín Rodríguez, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing value and location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This past July (2012), we went to PV for a week long vacation. We spent our first night at the Hotel Catedral Vallarta and it was perfect! It was economical, CLEAN and the staff was super friendly. Upon our arrival, the very friendly and impeccably dressed (in authentic Mexican wear) greeted us and with agua de jamaica (hibiscus-flavored water). She then brought us up to our rooms and made sure that we had everything that we needed. The room (for 2 people) was spacious and most importantly, CLEAN. The bathroom served it's purpose and I was impressed that there was hot water (not that we really needed it b/c it was extremely hot and humid there in July). Given that it was extremely hot, the AC unti (which I feared wasn't going to work well enough) did, in fact, work well (along with the ceiling fan). I was able to sleep really well, despite the heat. Not an easy feat in PV during the summer!

I have travelled all over Mexico and I was extremely impressed with their hospitality and the cleanliness of the hotel. It is not a luxurious hotel, but for the price and location, you can't go wrong. It is in the nice, older part of PV and close to the malecon. If you are looking for a relatively cheap and very clean place to stay, this is it!!!

Room Tip: They don't have an elevator and we stayed on top floor. It was nice and quiet, but if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    76
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
32
99
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

On the 1st of Aug. I went to PV for my 25th time. As always Vallarta is a great place to visit. I stayed at the Catedral Hotel in downtown. This place is great they have just redone the rooms and made them very homey. They are not large but a good size. The beds are very comfortable along with the big flat screen TV. The staff is great with Carlos the manager were very good when I had a problem he was right there to help and get it corrected. The location is great,close to the flea market, downtown and the beach. It is real close to my one of my favorite places to eat and relax Romas with Fox and his wite they make it a home bar away from home. Great food and drinks. If you want a place that makes you feel like you are family go there. Thanks I will be back in March. Doug (UT.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I decided to make a reservation in this hotel, and was more than disappointed when I arrived there. The staff is very kind, but I think that it is the only good thing about this place...
We never saw the pillow menu, boutique aspect, etc... The hotel is old and badly-kept. Very noisy and too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catedralpv, Owner at Hotel Catedral Vallarta, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send your review. I have to tell you, I am extremely concerned as I read your contribution. First. We do have our Pillows Menu (Available always through our front desk) your Concierge offers the 6 different types of hypo-allergenic pillows we keep for all our Guests during your arrival, (I do wonder if your arrival was overnight. please let me know ) Regarding your comments about the condition of our property, We do have a continuous and extensive Maintenance program (considering we did refurbished this 1950´s landmark) and, I would like to know which room you were assigned during your visit so I can personally inspect it. As you can see and read through TripAdvisor and many other sites where our Guests do write reviews and opinions of their experience, most of our Guests are truly happy with our property, facilities and service. But I understand that "we can not please them all", and if we did not fulfill your expectations, I will be contacting you (via e-mail) to request a second chance to revert your perception of our property. Regards, and Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Step outside to the rooftop to enjoy the most amazing and earthly views. After drinking a cafe or a drink on the rooftop, you will realize why Predator and many other movies chose this region. Head down to the beach (avoid si senor, and instead go to lido beach club) to only discover warm water temperatures and seven spectacular mountains surrounding the coast.
Hotel should reconsider its contract with si senor; reduces the initial unique mx experience after arriving at the hotel and seeing the beautiful sights, to only encounter gringo like prices and treatment at Si Senor.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place is way too cool. Two blocks from the famous cathedral, two blocks from the boardwalk and ocean and best of all, you step out of the lobby right into the shopping district.

Super clean rooms, two high speed computers with free internet,and a very friendly staff that will let you practice your Spanish. It has the perfect ambiance and location to do some immersion into the Spanish language. If you want the perfect location and the true flavor of Mexico, this is the place.

Muchos gracias Carlos!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is pretty excellent. The employees were very friendly and helpful. We specially loved the peaceful and traditional atmosphere. For sure I will recommend it to all my friends.
We saw only one thing we less appreciate: the sink inside the shower. But that didn't forbid to pass a VERY good time there!
I will come back again in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I prefere to stay in a local boutique hotels when traveling at this qualifies. From the outside it looks like nothing, but once inside it is amazing. My room was near the top and I had a view fro the courtyard of the catherdral, from my room I could see the beach and the romantic zone. Room was bigger than I expected and had everything I need including a kitchen which I didn't expect. There was only one draw back and that was poor water presser at al sinks and in the shower. Staff was helpful and friendly. I can't always say this, but I felt I received more than what I paid for.

Room Tip: no elevator, but the higher up the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Catedral Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catedral Vallarta

Address: Hidalgo 166 Centro | Entre calles Libertad y Agustín Rodríguez, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catedral Vallarta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated chicly in the heart of Puerto Vallarta, just two blocks from the main square, the "Our Lady of Guadalupe" Parrish and the "Malecon" beach boardwalk Hotel Catedral Vallarta is surrounded by Restaurants, Bars, Art Galleries and Boutiques. Locally called “the latest jewel among Downtown Boutique properties”, Hotel Catedral Vallarta combines stylish furnishings with Mexican traditional charm and character. Each room is uniquely and individually decorated, exuding a blend of old Mexican elegance, with contemporary touches, with each room named after a classic Mexican song. Forged iron gates, terracotta columns, handcrafted railings, palms, flowers, live contrasting colors and textures create all together a charming, fresh and clean atmosphere. Complimentary Beach Club Access (walking distance), Free Wi-fi, daily Coffee and Tea service 7 am - 11 am, Pillows Menu, Hand made Soaps and eco-friendly amenities.The hotel's twenty-one rooms are sumptuous and evocative hideaways, boasting numerous modern conveniences and upscale amenities, such as complimentary wireless Internet access, large HD flat screen televisions, seventy-two television channels, in-room safety security box, the latest (and extremely quiet) AC system, cellular phones, business center, library and more. Through its halls and stairs, as in every room, you will always find a detail that evoques Mexico. Hand made flowers, hammered tin handcrafts from Guanajuato, original paintings, sculptures, blown glass lamps from the State of Jalisco, Papier-mâché dolls from Michoacán, textiles from Oaxaca, Religious art from Guerrero, and more. The relaxing intimacy at the property is enhanced by traditional Mexican furniture, softened with hand embroidered cushions from different regions of Mexico, te best of all, Everything is for sale ! you just have to ask your Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Catedral Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Catedral Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.