We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid piece of paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindo Mar Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lindo Mar Resort to your Saves list
Lindo Mar Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K 2.5 Carretera a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 44800, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A splendid piece of paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We continue to be very pleased with our timeshare at Lindo Mar. From the street Lindo Mar appears very unassuming but once inside you will find a delightful Mexican treasure. Every room has a spectacular ocean view. The colorful rooms are tastefully decorated with dark wood and mexican tile accents. It is a small resort with a nice pool which while on the small side, is plenty big enough for the number of units in the resort. There was never an issue with finding a lounge chair or a table.

The staff is part of the Lindo Mar charm. Many of them are long time employees and treat you like returning family. Maria Elena, the concierge, is the heart of Lindo Mar. Her knowledge, friendliness, and willingness to make sure that your stay is special is so refreshing.

My low rating on the spa does not refelect the quality of the services only the poor location. I do wish that the management would find nicer accommodations for the spa since their current location is not much more then a large closet. Please don't let that stop you from taking advantage of spa services. You will however find the ladies give first rate massages and pedicures and your best bet is to have them done in your room by the balcony, listening to the gentle lap of the waves. We had three therapeutic massages by Mary and oh how I wish I could have stuffed her in my suitcase :-)

We always enjoy dining at La Playita and this time the onsite restaurant even exceeded our expectations. The food is delicious, the view breathtaking, and the staff attentive to all your dining needs. I especially enjoyed their Enchilada's Dona Paula, a shrimp and cheese concoction with a salsa verde sauce. We travelled with our two boys ages nine and ten and the staff made menu adjustments for their smaller and mroe finicky appetities.

The beach was perfect for our family. The rocky outcroppings provided an ideal spot for our guys to snorkel. Because it is a bay the waves were gentle and I was comfortable with the boys going in the water by themselves while I watched from the beach. did I mention the incredible sunsets?

I could go on and on but you get the picture I'm sure. We love LIndo Mar and enjoy each and every stay there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
One hardly knows how to respond to such a glowing review, spa comments included, except to say it is our extreme pleasure to help our guests enjoy their vacation so much they are prompted to say such nice things. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    35
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
39
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Ab., Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lindo Mar is THE BEST place to stay in Puerto Vallarta, bar none! The apartments are well appointed and equipped and are clean; facilities such as pool, hot tub, gym and amazing concierge.. All for the guests to enjoy. Food in the restaurant is the best and the waiters are even better; the sunsets are stunning. All the staff are helpful and friendly. An excellent resort all round!

Room Tip: All are ocean front and personal preference is on the 3rd to 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let others know about Lindo Mar. We enjoy doing what we can to make our guests feel the way you do. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montara, California, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have stayed at Lindo Mar 3 times. I keep coming back because I love it there. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The rooms have great ocean views. This is not a fancy resort, but a quiet comfortable place to relax. The hotel is just a 5 minute, 7 peso bus ride from town. I will probably be back for my fourth stay next year...

Room Tip: The **5 rooms(405, 505 etc) are a little noisy in the morning, as the bedroom window is across from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to let others know about Lindo Mar. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We LOVE Lindo Mar and have been going there for 20 years! Right on the beach, the view from every room couldn't be better. It is super clean. And all of the staff are wonderful! But our favorite place is at La Playita! The restaurant is downstairs and AMAZING! The food is phenomenal and the waiters are great! Lindo Mar exceeds our expectations every time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
The best comments are from guests who keep coming back. Thank you for your 20 years of loyalty. See you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rancho mirage, california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I normally spend 6 to 7 days a year at Lindo Mar in the month of May when the weather is hot, dry and sunny and the ocean is calm and clear and there are plenty of tropical fish to see snorkeling off the rocks in front of the resort. This year I took a chance on 12 days and can say that it was even more pleasant than 6 to 7 days. The resort is always spotlessly clean, the staff is pleasant and helpful and like a family, and the beach and pool are never crowded. I always stay on the 5th floor which has great views of all of the Bay as well as dolphins when they swim by and is quiet because it is built below the highway. The last two weeks of the monthy of May provide an extra benefit to all who visit Puerto Vallarta as it is annual Restaurant Week(s) and many of the top restaurants have three course menus at $15 or $25 depending on the restaurant which gives an excuse to go into town at night and enjoy a great meal and then try to walk off some of the calories along the newly improved "malecon" seawalk and pier. The nice thing about Lindo Mar is that you can do absolutely nothing and just hang out and enjoy the calm and quiet serenaded by the sounds of the sea at night, dining at the "Playita" restaurant on site, or you can take a cab or the 7 Peso bus into town and enjoy fine dining and nightlife and street life. If you are a bit more adventuresome, you can take the local bus over to Mismaloya, Tomatlan, or the Botanical Gardens near Tuito for reasonable $2, which is one of the most beautiful rides anywhere. I would recommend Lindo Mar to anyone who wants to get away from it all, but have air conditioning, nice clean acommodations, easy tour booking, and a pleasant relaxed environment without crowds.

Room Tip: Try huevos rancheros for breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice at the "Playita" res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
To our prospective guests – This review was not written by an employee of Lindo Mar or the management. :) To rawmli49 – Thank you so much for your comments. We could not ask for more, except maybe that you stay even longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at Lindo Mar with my wife after purchasing a groupon for a 7 night stay at a selection of resorts and after reading the reviews of the Lindo Mar we decided to stay here. Glad we did. The place is very old Mexico style as the other reviews noted but it really makes you feel like you are in Mexico instead of modern hotel somewhere in the US. The rooms all face the ocean and have a great view, we had an upper floor room with a great view and there are planters right off your balcony with nice flowering plants growing out. The beds were pretty comfortable and the couches were ok but they are definitely older and the type where the cushions always slide around but was never really a problem.

The restaurant here is AWESOME. The Sunday brunch is incredible with all kinds of native dishes and even an omelet and quesadilla station where the lady was MAKING tortillas on the griddle as people ordered their food. We ate there numerous times and it was always excellent, we have been all over Mexico and this was some of the best food I have had. The view from the tables is looking right over the beach and at sunset it is very romantic and a great picture spot. The service was always good and the servers attentive and friendly. Same thing goes for the bar that is part of the restaurant, they were always happy to see us and had great drinks ready to go.

During the day if you go down to the beach they will let you order food and drinks from the restaurant and bring it down to you at the beach where they have a few palapas where you could have some shade if you wanted. The beach was small and a bit rocky but had some nice areas where you could easily swim out away from the rocks. Beware here they do have sea urchins which they have signs about and I came within a few feet of one before I saw it so keep your eyes open near the rocks! During the day here a guy would go out and fish just off the beach and catch clams and mussels and other stuff and bring them up on the beach and sell them. The pelicans were his best friends! The pool area is very small but nice and there were mostly kids using it any time we went to the beach which we preferred anyway.

As others mentioned Maria the concierge was very friendly and helpful when we wanted to book some excursions. We took a sailboat tour of the bay and it was very nice. Only a handful of people and we were taken to a hidden waterfall off the bay that was only accessible by boat. The water was nice and cold and came from a spring up the mountain, it was incredible! Then we did some snorkeling over near the small islands where all the birds hang out which was really good too, saw all kinds of stuff hiding under the edge of the small mountains! We also did the Rhythm of the Nights tour which was really fun too if you want to see a cool show and have a nice dinner on the private beach there. Very romantic too for you couples.

Overall I would definitely recommend this resort to a friend if you are looking for something small and intimate without that huge resort feel. All the rooms have a nice view that simply can't be beat and a nice balcony to enjoy it on. Next time we are in Puerto Vallarta we will probably be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors will of course have the best view of the ocean and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review. Receiving such nice comments always makes us feel good and want to do whatever it takes to keep getting them. We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If your a smoker be aware that not only can you not smoke inside your unit (which I never would do anyway) but you cannot smoke on your balcony even though there are doors to separate it from the unit, the only choice you have is to either walk down to the beach or go up to the lobby and go outside of the building.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Lindo Mar’s board of directors hesitated to impose a smoking ban on the balconies for a
long time. However, because the prevailing wind comes in from the ocean and blows
smoke into random rooms adjacent to the balcony where someone is smoking, the board
felt the majority of our guests would be served by allowing smoking only in the designated
area at the north end of the restaurant starting October 5, 2013. We are sorry for the
inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindo Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindo Mar Resort

Address: K 2.5 Carretera a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 44800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lindo Mar Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled right on Conchas Chinas Beach in the exclusive southern section of Puerto Vallarta, Lindo Mar is the perfect escape. Enjoy ocean views from your one-, two- or three-bedroom condominium suite, complete with a full kitchen, cable television, maid service and air conditioning to cool off after a relaxing day on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lindo Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindo Mar Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Lindo Mar Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindo Mar Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.