We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in PV” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindo Mar Resort

Save Saved
You added Lindo Mar Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lindo Mar Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K 2.5 Carretera a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 44800, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
West Richland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best in PV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We LOVE Lindo Mar and have been going there for 20 years! Right on the beach, the view from every room couldn't be better. It is super clean. And all of the staff are wonderful! But our favorite place is at La Playita! The restaurant is downstairs and AMAZING! The food is phenomenal and the waiters are great! Lindo Mar exceeds our expectations every time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
The best comments are from guests who keep coming back. Thank you for your 20 years of loyalty. See you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    35
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
38
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rancho mirage, california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I normally spend 6 to 7 days a year at Lindo Mar in the month of May when the weather is hot, dry and sunny and the ocean is calm and clear and there are plenty of tropical fish to see snorkeling off the rocks in front of the resort. This year I took a chance on 12 days and can say that it was even more pleasant than 6 to 7 days. The resort is always spotlessly clean, the staff is pleasant and helpful and like a family, and the beach and pool are never crowded. I always stay on the 5th floor which has great views of all of the Bay as well as dolphins when they swim by and is quiet because it is built below the highway. The last two weeks of the monthy of May provide an extra benefit to all who visit Puerto Vallarta as it is annual Restaurant Week(s) and many of the top restaurants have three course menus at $15 or $25 depending on the restaurant which gives an excuse to go into town at night and enjoy a great meal and then try to walk off some of the calories along the newly improved "malecon" seawalk and pier. The nice thing about Lindo Mar is that you can do absolutely nothing and just hang out and enjoy the calm and quiet serenaded by the sounds of the sea at night, dining at the "Playita" restaurant on site, or you can take a cab or the 7 Peso bus into town and enjoy fine dining and nightlife and street life. If you are a bit more adventuresome, you can take the local bus over to Mismaloya, Tomatlan, or the Botanical Gardens near Tuito for reasonable $2, which is one of the most beautiful rides anywhere. I would recommend Lindo Mar to anyone who wants to get away from it all, but have air conditioning, nice clean acommodations, easy tour booking, and a pleasant relaxed environment without crowds.

Room Tip: Try huevos rancheros for breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice at the "Playita" res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
To our prospective guests – This review was not written by an employee of Lindo Mar or the management. :) To rawmli49 – Thank you so much for your comments. We could not ask for more, except maybe that you stay even longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at Lindo Mar with my wife after purchasing a groupon for a 7 night stay at a selection of resorts and after reading the reviews of the Lindo Mar we decided to stay here. Glad we did. The place is very old Mexico style as the other reviews noted but it really makes you feel like you are in Mexico instead of modern hotel somewhere in the US. The rooms all face the ocean and have a great view, we had an upper floor room with a great view and there are planters right off your balcony with nice flowering plants growing out. The beds were pretty comfortable and the couches were ok but they are definitely older and the type where the cushions always slide around but was never really a problem.

The restaurant here is AWESOME. The Sunday brunch is incredible with all kinds of native dishes and even an omelet and quesadilla station where the lady was MAKING tortillas on the griddle as people ordered their food. We ate there numerous times and it was always excellent, we have been all over Mexico and this was some of the best food I have had. The view from the tables is looking right over the beach and at sunset it is very romantic and a great picture spot. The service was always good and the servers attentive and friendly. Same thing goes for the bar that is part of the restaurant, they were always happy to see us and had great drinks ready to go.

During the day if you go down to the beach they will let you order food and drinks from the restaurant and bring it down to you at the beach where they have a few palapas where you could have some shade if you wanted. The beach was small and a bit rocky but had some nice areas where you could easily swim out away from the rocks. Beware here they do have sea urchins which they have signs about and I came within a few feet of one before I saw it so keep your eyes open near the rocks! During the day here a guy would go out and fish just off the beach and catch clams and mussels and other stuff and bring them up on the beach and sell them. The pelicans were his best friends! The pool area is very small but nice and there were mostly kids using it any time we went to the beach which we preferred anyway.

As others mentioned Maria the concierge was very friendly and helpful when we wanted to book some excursions. We took a sailboat tour of the bay and it was very nice. Only a handful of people and we were taken to a hidden waterfall off the bay that was only accessible by boat. The water was nice and cold and came from a spring up the mountain, it was incredible! Then we did some snorkeling over near the small islands where all the birds hang out which was really good too, saw all kinds of stuff hiding under the edge of the small mountains! We also did the Rhythm of the Nights tour which was really fun too if you want to see a cool show and have a nice dinner on the private beach there. Very romantic too for you couples.

Overall I would definitely recommend this resort to a friend if you are looking for something small and intimate without that huge resort feel. All the rooms have a nice view that simply can't be beat and a nice balcony to enjoy it on. Next time we are in Puerto Vallarta we will probably be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors will of course have the best view of the ocean and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review. Receiving such nice comments always makes us feel good and want to do whatever it takes to keep getting them. We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If your a smoker be aware that not only can you not smoke inside your unit (which I never would do anyway) but you cannot smoke on your balcony even though there are doors to separate it from the unit, the only choice you have is to either walk down to the beach or go up to the lobby and go outside of the building.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Lindo Mar’s board of directors hesitated to impose a smoking ban on the balconies for a
long time. However, because the prevailing wind comes in from the ocean and blows
smoke into random rooms adjacent to the balcony where someone is smoking, the board
felt the majority of our guests would be served by allowing smoking only in the designated
area at the north end of the restaurant starting October 5, 2013. We are sorry for the
inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We loved it here! Great location, amazing view from the room, beach access, awesome restaurant and happy hour and very friendly service! Not one single complaint! A little out from the busy PV downtown but close enough to take a stroll during the day and a quick and cheap taxi! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
You have absolutely made our day. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This Hotel is my absolute favorite in Puerto Vallarta!
We have been to PV many times, stayed at the "mega resorts", condos, ect.
Lindo Mar is the best.
The rooms are very Mexican, with all having an oceanfront view.
The bedrooms are in the back, so they stay cool with the A/C and fan on....the front room is facing the ocean, with the whole front wall open to the sea.
Small tv, one elevator, small beach.....all add to the charm.
The La Playita restaurant is very good, and literally on the beach.
Stay to the left of the Hotel, so the restaurant rooftop is not in your view. Don't like your room?
Ask...they will move you!
A small gym, pool with hot tub, and Coronas at dusk during happy hour....the best!
........Planning a week as I write this!

Room Tip: 3rd floor or above....to the left of center as you look at the ocuan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
This is the kind of review that makes it all worthwhile. We’ll keep doing our best to make sure you always feel the same way about Lindo Mar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you are interested in the feel of Mexico, this is the hotel to go to. There is no bling at this hotel, it is true Mexican decor. Yes, it is feeling it's age, with cracked tiles here and there, but only adding to the feel. The hotel has recently been upgrading beds, and TVs, and have full kitchens. Lindo Mar is kept very clean, and I have found staff very friendly. Maria the concierge is a doll, she will go out of her way to assist you in anything. This hotel is small and quaint. It is right on the beach, with each suite facing the ocean. The higher floors have spectacular views, middle floors you look through a few palms, and the bottom floor you won't have the views. The restaurant is one of the best in PV, which is right on the ocean, which gives you wonderful sunsets during your evening. If you want big shiny modern hotel, don't go to Lindo Mar. If you want small quaint Mexican, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are so glad you like Lindo Mar. As you pointed out, the "tired" look is being addressed. But, have no worries, the ambiance will be retained even after any upgrades. Thank you for taking the time to compliment us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindo Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindo Mar Resort

Address: K 2.5 Carretera a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 44800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lindo Mar Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled right on Conchas Chinas Beach in the exclusive southern section of Puerto Vallarta, Lindo Mar is the perfect escape. Enjoy ocean views from your one-, two- or three-bedroom condominium suite, complete with a full kitchen, cable television, maid service and air conditioning to cool off after a relaxing day on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lindo Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindo Mar Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Lindo Mar Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindo Mar Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.