We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfriendly owners really ruin this lovely little hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lindo Mar Resort

Save Saved
You added Lindo Mar Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lindo Mar Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   K 2.5 Carretera a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 44800, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Vancouver
1 review
“unfriendly owners really ruin this lovely little hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

As an RCI member I was excited to finally trade into the Lindo Mar. Being in PV several times before, my husband and I had driven by this quaint hotel sitting on a cliff, with stunning panoramic views and old mexican charm. I had to go there!!! So everything was what I expected; the room, the view, etc. First night was fine. Then the weird vibes started. Very unfriendly. You felt that if you were not an actual owner at this particular timeshare you were an outsider. Even from the staff, who were slow and stubborn . I have not experienced this at other timeshare trades, and felt quite let down. I thought that I may be imagining things until a couple asked if we were owners and when we said no and the look on their faces said it all. To sum it up; in my opinion it's an ok place but if you are not a part of the owner click things can feel frosty, even in sunny Mexico..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Lindo Mar Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your valuable comments. We’re sorry to hear about your uncomfortable experience at Lindo Mar; we would really like to address your concerns. As you can see from many other comments on TripAdvisor, our staff usually gets very high ratings. We need your help to learn what was done wrong while you were there. Please email us at lmr@tradingplaces.com with your name, dates of stay, unit number and any specifics so we can resolve any issues in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    35
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
38
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been going back to Lindo Mar for several years now. We are owners, so may be viewed as biased. LM is 3-4 star rooms in a 5 star location and ambiance. The units (1 to 3 bedroom) are comfortable and quiet. Good air conditioning. The 48 unit building is right on the beach with a great, locally rated, open sided restaurant on the small, rock-bordered beach. Not a place for young kids. All rooms have the ocean view. The staff are very friendly and loyal. It is not easy to get into this resort, but that speaks for itself. This place respects quiet...no loud parties or annoying background music. We sleep soundly after those happy hour margueritas!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground floor, unless you like to go from you patio right into the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We love this Place!
Our first experienece here was in 2010, and have returned several times since.
I reccomend it highy for it's jaw-dropping balcony views, friendly staff, and great location.
Lindo Mar is in Conchas Chinas...the "Beverly Hills" of Puerto Vallarta.
Right on the water, the top floor rooms are at street level, as the Hotel rises up next to a cliff by the sea.
Rooms in the middle-left (as you look at the ocean) are reccomended, as the lower rooms to the left overlook the restaurant, which can be a bit noisy, and the roof can partially block your view.
The beach dissappears at high tide, but re-apears every morning by 11 AM...it has many rock-croppings, with nice sandy areas to lay on a beach lounger supplied by the Hotel.
Also, they have mask and fins for snorkeling, and kayaks for rent.
There are few beach vendors, watch for the pie-lady!!
Happy hour is great, two for one Coronas...but bring a bottle cozy, as the bartendender gives you both beers at the same time.
The rooms are all oceanfront, living room in the front, bedroom in the rear. We fall asleep in the front room to the sound of the surf below us!
The tv is so small it is an afterthought, but we "watch" the sunsets instead! Best sunset views in P.V!
Do know that on Sundays, the locals come to the restaurant for the buffett, which can create a parking problem out front.
Furnishings are typical Mexico-resort, comfortable bed, good air conditioning, celing fans.
Friendly, helpful staff, no invasive timeshare people, just a laid-back relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms will have a privacy issue, as they directly front the pool area. Stay middle to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grants pass
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Things are very different in Mexico. This hotel was great, well appointed and i got an excellent deal through Trading Places for $333.00. One night here would've been worth that. The view, the decor, the friendliness of the staff, the restaurant, the location.
There was an unexpected charge of around 163 pesos upon check in which put me on edge, but we ran a tab and settled at check out.
No laundry -but a decent price and well done sending it out through the front desk.
The beach is tiny but they'll set u up a beach chair and the bar is right there.
When we went it was unbearably hot and HUMID! Thank goodness they had an air conditioner in the bedroom AND in the kitchen area, so we closed the big folding windows at the balcony and were much more comfortable.The bedroom unit sweated and there was water on the floor and closet shelf so we told the front desk and they had a guy in to fix it but it was the same so we just put down towels. I wish the bedroom ceiling fan had a gentler low setting for sleeping with.
The bed was hard and the pillows were like rocks so i asked for some softer ones, they tried but only one was a bit softer. The bedspread was that kind of plasticy type that isn't comfortable and slides off but it seemed very clean and they left two nice blankets in the closet which i used early hours as it cooled a bit in the week.
They cleaned the room every day which was nice because you just can't help getting some sand onto the floors. There were no bugs at all -one big dead roach on the balcony but it was dead behind the door.
I couldn't believe it, I was in the evevator and an woman employee in a grey striped shirt rode with me, smiled nicely but SPAT on the floor in the corner even though she had a cleaning towel on her shoulder. I was barefoot having come from the pool area. Made me wonder what else was around.
Maria Elena!!! What a true lady! She is the concierge and she wears a halo no-one can see. Ohmygosh she should be cloned.
The restaurant is very nice! What a view!!! DO the Sat & Sun brunch! One of the waiters seemed kinda sour. Got tired of mexican food though.
This is truly a great little hotel and i would come back here in a heartbeat with a bunch of girlfriends or my love. We stayed in 704 right near the lobby and the road but we didn't mind, it was too hot to have the window open anyway and it was convient and what a view!
We probably won't be coming back to Mexico. What's with always having to wait so long to pay at the restaurants??? --The $ exchange, the vendors harassing u, the language barrier, the extra lines at the airport... Hawaii's just easier.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was my third visit to Lindo Mar and one of the best. The penthouse is not only spacious (2700sq ft) but has a 270 degree view of the ocean, Conchas Chinas, and the shoreline(inluding the downtown). Banderas bay is 60 miles wide and you get all of it as well as Los Arcos. The 3 bedrooms were perfect for 3 couples with 3 kids. I have stayed all over the world in all types of accomodations and this was a $2000 - $3000 a night accommodation for under $200/night.
The restaraunt was flexible (vegan, vergitarian, and carniverous) as well as excellent - try the french toast and the omelettes. Fresh fish every day as well as tender meat.Felix is a wonderful waiter and Roberto is attentive.
The Hotel administration is friendly, helpful, and a pleasure - Miguel is the best manager in P.V.
Buenos Dias, Temoteo

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a nice place. The units are huge and well cared for, each living room opens to the ocean, the tubs are ridiculously deep, and the kitchens even come stocked with coffee filters and paper towels. The restaurant has awesome, albeit pricey, food, amd the beach, which only exists at low tide, is charming and quiet. Pelicans live on the rocks about 15 feet offshore. We arranged a couple of tours through the hotel and saved $40US. Housekeeping was wonderful, as was all the staff. It's a $5US cab ride to town, or 50 cents by bus. We were here at the end of August, and though the days were hot, the evening showers cooled everything off nicely. Lindo Mar isn't a mega-upscale super resort. There's only one elevator, the rain dripped onto the outside floors, and one of the lamps didn't want to work. Go elsewhere if you want upscale perfection (and bring your offshore bank account info); go to Lindo Mar for something a little out of the way, beautiful, with great service, and authentic charm.

Room Tip: We stayed in 201, which was great for access to the beach and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

As others have said, if you want swim-up bars, structured activities for your kids, blaring music and wrist bands, then this isn't the place for you. If you want small, friendly and quiet, you will love Lindo Mar.

I was a little nervous as we bought a Groupon with Trading Places and chose to stay here. There was no reason to worry. Our villa was adorable - two bedrooms, two baths, full kitchen, living and dining areas. We paid $40 for a week for wireless internet. Everyone at the resort was very helpful and answered all our questions when it came to directions, transportation, etc. There is a bus stop a couple blocks down - drops you downtown for 7 pesos (about 60 cents) or a $5 cab ride.

The restaurant, La Playita, is very good as well - we ate there often and had very good food and service.

We really enjoyed our stay at Lindo Mar and will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed in 302 - it was high enough that we had a perfect view of the ocean with palm trees - it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindo Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindo Mar Resort

Address: K 2.5 Carretera a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 44800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lindo Mar Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled right on Conchas Chinas Beach in the exclusive southern section of Puerto Vallarta, Lindo Mar is the perfect escape. Enjoy ocean views from your one-, two- or three-bedroom condominium suite, complete with a full kitchen, cable television, maid service and air conditioning to cool off after a relaxing day on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Lindo Mar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindo Mar Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Lindo Mar Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindo Mar Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.