We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great for tourists ;)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viejo Vallarta

Viejo Vallarta
484 Morelos altos | Malecon, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
322 22 28558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 671 restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Victoria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great view, great for tourists ;)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everyone's pretty well covered it--amazing views being up on the 3rd floor (just above an Irish pub) on the Malecon, good, friendly service, but steep prices for those on a backpacking budget. Otherwise, if you're from the resorts or whatnot, it's no biggy. We just got drinks and shared an appy with octopus and shrimp in what seemed like a large drinking glass of sauce, and crackers. It was tasty, but nothing special. But yes, that view!! Great for a romantic date maybe--you can see the fireworks from here, and I agree.. the bathroom was fantastic :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    189
    48
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aztec, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were walking the Malecon when we saw this restuarant. Didn't know how to get up to the third floor until we saw the hostess. Everyone here was very friendly. Our waiter was awesome and really gave us the time to settle in and relax. This was when it really started to feel like a vacation. The food was tasty and very good!! The only complaint we had was that the serving size was on the skimpy side- although we left satisfied.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

On each visit to Puerto Vallarta, we return to this restaurant on our first evening. The view of the Malecon and the bay is exceptional, and the food is delicious. Our server, David, was friendly and accommodating. Our family of eight, ages 9-70 +, polished off everything that we ordered, including fish, shrimp, chicken, and vegetarian entrees. Like many restaurants in PV, Viejo Vallarta is open-air and not air-conditioned; fans help to some extent. Front tables have the best view, but if it looks like rain, sit farther back. When we were ready to leave in a continuing downpour, the staff had a van come as close to the door as possible and shepherded us out. One word of caution: guests must climb two steep, narrow flights of steps. Food, view, and service are definitely worth the climb and lack of air conditioning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Every thing as it should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Menu, drinks and prices as it should in a highly touristic area. Great refilled margaritas, owesom and fresh fish dishes and great service. Prices are very reasonable, main course dish 15-25 USD.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
“Awesome Find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We found this restaurant while walking on the Boardwalk in Puerto Vallarta. We were greeted at the door by the owner and his attentive staff. We were led to our table, our first impression was, "Wow! What a view!" The food was amazing and the service was wonderful. I was happy to find that Viejo Vallarta has the cleanest bathrooms around!! I definetly reccomend Viejo Vallarta to my family and friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viejo Vallarta also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Viejo Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viejo Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.