We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Margarita Grill

Margarita Grill
Pino Suarez #321 | Colonial Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48310, Mexico
(322) 222-9755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 697 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Guac and salsa made fresh at tableside..huge margaritas..I had the pineapple and quite enjoyed it. Nice atmosphere..however look out for the host trying to get you to a timeshare presentation...besides that (and he was quite charming, not pushy at all), it was a great experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    83
    28
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Best Salsa and Guacamole!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have been to this restaurant 6 times in the last couple years and can't wait to go again. They prepare the salsa and guacamole at your table and is the best I have ever eaten! The secret to the salsa is that they use fresh, ripened tomotoes that they roast whole and then slice tableside and prepare to your liking. It is absolutely wonderful!
This time my wife had the shrimp fajitas and I had a shrimp cocktail and the skirt steak. Both meals were fantastic! The shrimp cocktail had 10 large shrimp in it and was plenty for the both of us. My wife's shrimp fajitas had 12 large shrimp in it and she could not eat them all. My steak was cooked perfectly and don't forget to try the Mango Margaritas. They are the best!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Confusion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Margarita Grill has impressed me as a tourist stop in the heart of Zona Romantica, not a destination for locals or or regular visitors, not for the discerning palate. MY recent visit confims this long held opinion. . It is a large palaypa, the band plays American hits from the 80's, a bit too loudly for conversation, then comes to each table insistently asking for tips.

The food...the margaritas are passable, not the best. The guacamole made tableside is fresh and delicious. Shrimp enchiladas were OK.

What was most irritating was the keystone cops service. A variety of waiters hit our table, sometimes we couldn't attract their attention. A person in our party found it necessary to chase down our waiter to get salsa, then later to get us plates to use for the chips an salsa. We belong to a group who receives a discount. We presented the card but the cashier failed to take it off our bill; the waiter suggested just skipping his tip.,

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Salsa made fresh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

They prepare fresh salsa at your table. Hot, medium or mild. Also prepare great guacamole at your table. Their grilled meats are very good as well as their other Mexican style dishes. Margaritas are super, and the mojitos are also good. Great casual dinning with very good servers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What took us so long?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

When this place first moved into this space several years ago, I heard so many comments as "it won't last", that I never even considered going in. How wrong I was! On our last trip to PV, our 16th in 12 years, we went here for dinner as we were wandering around old town not knowing where to go. It was so great, we went back two nights later, our last night of that trip.The salsa made tableside, to your preferred degree of heat, was just amazing! The entrees were just excellent, especially the stuffed chicken breast! The background music was at just the right level as well. Enjoyable, but not so loud that you couldn't carry on a conversation. Will definitely be visiting Margarita Grill again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margarita Grill also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Margarita Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margarita Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.