We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and relaxing vacation location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buganvilias Vacation Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buganvilias Vacation Club
Save
You added Buganvilias Vacation Club to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd.Fco.Medina Ascencio 999, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
DC
1 review
“A wonderful and relaxing vacation location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This has a wonderful location near the city and we return every year. The Sunday Brunch with the best mariachi performers in Puerto Vallarta is wonderful as is any eating experience in the Palapa. We enjoy watching for whales every day off our balcony. Service of all staff is tops. This is 10 times better than staying down by the marina which is so far away from all the fun!
We love the charm of Puerto Vallarta, including the folkloric program presented by young people near Daquiri Dicks in Old Town, lunch at Ochos Tosdados behind the athletic field across the street, daily drinks, snacking and people watching at Cheeky Monkey on the malecon, shopping for ladies clothing at Maria of Guadalajara, visiting Our Lady of Guadalupe Church and more.
Alice and Jerald

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Units nearest and facing the ocean are wonderful. A balcony is also best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    101
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
165
196
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westerly, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Buganvilias during January and February this year. Even though we have been there every year since 1990, this was one of our most memorable. The weather was fabulous, the resort was excellent in all respects. What makes this experience most enjoyable is the staff, especially Leticia at the front desk, concierges Lulu and David , bellmen Jesus and Marco, Guillermo in the member services office, and all the rest of the staff. We consider them members of our family. This is indeed our home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this resort after a week at the Grand Mayan in Nuevo Vallarta. What a letdown! We were given a room with an ocean view out a window, but no balcony. There was not a ceiling fan in the bedroom, the shower was inside the bathtub, the bed and pillows were rock hard, the couch was uncomfortable, and the Internet was completely unreliable.
Upon check-in, we were ushered over to a desk to get "discount coupons", whereupon we were pressured to attend a timeshare presentation. We declined. We went to our room and found it smelling of cigarette smoke, probably from the hallway, which angled, creating a "trap" outside our room. Thus, when we opened the air to our room, the smoke entered also. We immediately opened the window toward the ocean, and that helped.
We returned to the lobby and asked about an Internet code, we were told we could not have it unless we attended a timeshare presentation. The lady who approached us was very nice, and said the presentation would be no-pressure, we could have a bottle of Tequilla, a bottle of Kahlua, a free breakfast and the Internet code if we went. We caved, and agreed to it. She then sent us over to the bar to get "free drinks" while we waited or her. The bartender said we could not have free drinks because we didn't have a VIP card, even though we explained we had been sent there.
We went to the presentation the next morning, at Las Gaviotas. Food was excellent. Presentation was very pressured. We politely declined 6 people!!! Each time we declined, a new salesperson appeared. All we wanted was the Internet code!! We did receive a bottle of Tequilla, a brand we had never heard of, but we never received the Kahlua, which was fine by us. The bottle of Tequilla broke in our luggage on the way home; LOL!
Finally we got it, but it wouldn't work in our room. We had to go out to the far side of the pool to get even 2 bars.
We ate at the pool bar twice, and did not care for the food at all. We started riding the local buses, or walking, into Puerto Vallarta, where we ate our meals. Great food and less expensive.
The pool chairs were all reserved by 7:00 AM, some even with little cute clips and signs, so it was very difficult to find a chair. We noticed that most of the "reserved" chairs remained vacant for hours!
We checked in on a Saturday, and by Wednesday we were so unhappy that we checked out and went to another resort in Puerto Vallarta.
The "plus" about this resort is it's proximity to downtown Puerto Vallarta. It needs updating and remodeling, badly, however.
We don't plan on staying here again; we traded a 5-star resort in Hawaii to come here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Buganvilias Vacation Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Californian visitors:

With great concern I learnt your opinion about our property, please accept our apologies for your dissatisfaction.

One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. I will share your insight with our lobby sales staff and evaluate our current procedures to amend the concept you have from your experience. We have implemented measures to prevent pool chairs from been reserved.

Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and thank you for staying at the Buganvilias Vacation Club.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I travel to Puerto Vallarta every year and absolutely enjoy staying at the Buganvilias Vacation Club. We have been travelling with another couple for the past few years and we all agree on what a wonderful place this is. We have already booked for next year!! The location is excellent as it is within walking distance to the Malecon and downtown Puerto Vallarta. Having the grocery store just steps away is great too. The staff are most amazing, right from check-in, to the towel staff, the wait staff, the concierge, the agents, the groundskeepers, the housekeepers - each and everyone of them! The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the improvements to the beach area are wonderful! Our unit was perfect and this year we were fortunate to have a balcony. The heated pools were very clean and refreshing. If you are looking for home away from home to go and relax, the Buganvilias Vacation Club is where you want to go. Great for families, great for couples, just a great place to be!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is our 6th trip to Buganvilias Vacation Club. We had another great time at the resort. It is perfect for our family. We enjoy how close it is to downtown and how easy the walk to every dinner. The staff is excellent and very helpful all the time. The two pools are heated and beautiful. The kids love the activities they have every day at the pool. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is our sixth year staying at the Buganvilias Vacation Club and we have already booked our stay for next year! The accommodations are spacious and comfortable (we stay in the Presidential Suite), the service is always delivered with a smile and the grounds are lovely. The best part is the resort's location to the Malecon and Central PV - all within walking distance. The resort does have good restaurants for breakfast and lunch, but is limited in its evening dining choices. However, there are so many great restaurants in PV, and many close to the Buganvilias, that we had a difficult decision on where to dine each night. To top it off, in six years we have always enjoyed abundant sunshine. We highly recommend Buganvilias Vacation Club for anyone looking for nice, affordable, convenient place to vacation in Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Ask for the Presidential Suite on floors 15 and above affording a great view of Banderas Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, MN
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in the timeshare side of the Sheraton. The resort is beautiful and convenient to downtown. Staff and housekeeping were friendly and very good. The room definitely needs updating and smelled of mold. The mold made my husband ill. However this is the third different timeshare I have stayed at in Mexico and have found that they all were all out of date and smelled of mold so I've come to expect that as part of going to Mexico. The only other complaint is that internet was slow and unreliable. Very frustrating as my husband and I need internet access for work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Buganvilias Vacation Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear visitor from Shoreview:

We appreciate your compliments for highlighting the strengths of our facilities and for the warm service of our staff, they will be satisfied to know your kind consideration for a job well done.

Your feedback is important to us because it benefits our impulse to increase our ambition to achieve top quality service levels, guest experience and staff performance.

We appreciate your giving us the opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Puerto Vallarta and provide you with the best hospitality in Vallarta.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buganvilias Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buganvilias Vacation Club

Address: Blvd.Fco.Medina Ascencio 999, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buganvilias Vacation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished with "Certificate of Excellence 2012" by TRIPADVISOR'S travelers. Awesome 5 star Resort the closest Hotel of its kind to downtown Puerto Vallarta , with a convention center, Spa, Gym and much more, all rooms count with Bay front view, we also offer the best Sunday brunch in Puerto Vallarta and a great Mexican Fiesta too , we also have 11 distinctives H for quality which guarantees the best accomodations services and amenities , this will ensure you will have only the best available services at your disposition in all aspects for you to only enjoy your time off free of worries and have a fantastic vacation with your family . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buganvilias Vacation Club Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buganvilias Vacation Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.