We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transported back to Spain.Authenticity at it's best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Albufera

La Albufera
Aquiles Serdan 242 | Emilano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48314, Mexico
322 2935530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #314 of 671 restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Transported back to Spain.Authenticity at it's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and I had the privilege of dining at La Albufera for Valentine's Day,and WOW was it amazing.We started with some breaded artichoke hearts filled with goat cheese, then a garlic soup. We could not forget the paella,still to this day! Being that in her college days,my wife traveled to Pamplona for the festival de San Fermin and was suddenly transported back by familiar aromas and flavors. Oh and the prices were not bad,very affordable-40 pesos tapas 60 pesos pinchos.... All in All it turned out to be a great Valentines Day! Thanks La Albufera. I will defenitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    31
    10
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Try the 7 course molecular menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I met a tour at this restaurant and were told about their Saturday nite $45 7 course molecular menu. In Los Angeles this would easily have been $300 so we couldn't pass it up. Every course was very small so you could eat it all, beautifully presented and explained by the chef personally. It was truly and unexpected find in a city where we eat mainly local fish. You must make a reservation as it only seat about 10 people and it takes about 2 hours. Every morsel was absolutely exciting and delicious. On a side note, as part of a food and walking tour we had their chocolate, green and beet mole which was also very good. Yor host is Pilar and her son is the chef. They are warm and friendly and make the experience a really fun evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I were looking to try a new restaurant this year and found 'La Albufera'. This restaurant, and Mole' Rosa (right next door) are run by a very pleasant lady named Pilar whose family does all the cooking. She made a point to spend time with us discussing Mexico how her family came to Puerto Vallarta.
Interesting decor with Spanish flair as Pilar is from Spain she tells us.
My husband has wanted to try paella for awhile and the presentation by Pilar was amazing, shrimp, clams, mussels, pork etc. on top of a delicious rice. (Enough for the both of us to share but I ordered the 'special' which was chiles relleno with beet soup.)
We recommend this restaurant as the service is exceptional and so is the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredibly delicious and beautiful Spanish and Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had lunch here after it was recommended by the guide on a tour of luxury homes of PV. The food was absolutely astonishingly delicious. The standout dishes we tried included cream of cilantro soup, paella, smoked marlin tostaditos and a unique pink molé enchilada. Far and away the best food we have eaten in PV. DON'T MISS THIS RESTAURANT! It is wonderful.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great tapas in pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I found this place as it was the pickup point for the International Friendship Club's house tour (go on that, by the way, It was great). I saw the tapas on the menu, and brought my husband back for happy hour. We had some wine and tried some of the tapas, such as the stuffed bell pepper with tuna, and some other items. Yummy. The gazpacho was out of this world. I wish we had more time to try everything on the menu. Another woman on the house tour said she loved the paella, which is made personal size.. There also is this interesting molecular menu, which we unfortunately couldn't try, because it was the Xmas holiday weekend. We were personally served by the excellent owner Pilar, and met the chef- her brother. Place is on Acuiles, sort of paralleling the river.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Albufera also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco

Been to La Albufera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Albufera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.