We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chile's in Nagado & Salad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Albufera

La Albufera
Aquiles Serdan 242 | Emilano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48314, Mexico
322 2935530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #309 of 666 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Chile's in Nagado & Salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A friend & I wanted to try this new place at the corner of Aquiles Serdan and Vallarta. We were not disappointed. The special was Chile's in Nagado and this was one of the best renditions I've had in theis city and I've tried many. Peter had the Arugula Salad with goat cheese which was stunning as well as great. Prior to the meal, the owner brought out caviar (I don't like) marinated in balsamic vinegar ala the famous Catalonian restaurant "El Bulli, Roses." It was served with french bread and olive oil and butter spread. To die for. we are going back for her special gourmet Saturdays where they try to bring out true Spanish cuisine to the Mexican clientle. I can't wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow! Found this place initially by using a coupon but it is great!! Have gone back at regular price and loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Great ambiance and food. Service is very friendly. Always ready to go back.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An absolute gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We are staying in a condo just west of this little place and decided to try it when we saw the Paella listed on their board. We had a fabulous meal which started with a beet, goat cheese salad which was incredible and large enough for us to share. We then shared the Paella and thought it was better than Paella that we have had in Barcellona, Spain. We have since returned for lunch and another dinner. We feel that this is gourmet food at extremely reasonable prices with very good service. They have a sister restaurant called Mole Rosa which is adjacent to La Albufera and we intend to return again to order from their menu since both places share the same excellent chef. Five stars for this one!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Loved the paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We found this restaurants by accident, just walking from the bus stop on the way to the beach. We decided to stop in because we enjoy paella and have not found a good one in this fabulous town. We loved it! My husband had the typical paella and I had a seafood one made with pasta instead of rice. Both were delicious. Our friends also enjoyed theirs. They shared a paella for one with an appetizer and it was enough for 2 people. The owner is delightful and the service was very good. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Simply delicious food - don't miss this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We had overlooked this place for a while because it's so small but now that we've experienced its Spanish cuisine (our last day in town), we can't wait to return in September.

First of all, the service was friendly, prompt, and accommodating. The food reminded us of our days traveling in Spain - very authentic. The fabada was as rich as the gazpacho was refreshing and the red house wine was above par.

Don't miss this one! We can't wait to return to try the cocido and paella.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Albufera also viewed

 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to La Albufera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Albufera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.