We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very difficult to leave...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de los Arcos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de los Arcos
Save
You added Casa de los Arcos to your Saves list
Calle Hortencias 168 | Colonia Alta Vista, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“very difficult to leave...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Sadly, I just returned from a week at Casa de Los Arcos. I say sadly because of how difficult it was to leave that lovely paradise.

Puerto Vallarta is a magical city and there is no better place from which to enjoy it than Casa de Los Arcos! The proprietors, Susan and David, could not do more to make you feel at home, comfortable and cater to your every need. They are veritable experts on the culture, customs and offerings of this fantastic part of the world. They will go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your stay. No limits.

The accommodations are outstanding and, honestly, there are moments when you just have to pinch yourself to know it's all real. But, it is. The grounds, suites and view are just unbelievable.

You will never feel "lost" here. Take the recommendations offered by the owners and staff and you simply can't go wrong. Visit the restaurants, markets and local sights. Immerse yourself in the authentic Mexican culture and then watch a glorious sunset from your casa. There is nothing that we ever felt uncomfortable asking for or about. Susan and David will even invite you into their own home (on the property) for margaritas, guacamole and a tour of their stunning gardens.

Do take advantage of having Rosie come in to cook you a meal and by all means have a massage in the privacy of your accommodation. You won't forget it!

My travel companion required a visit to a doctor while we were there and Susan not only made an appointment with her personal physician, but she also took us there and to a reputable pharmacy afterward. We were in extraordinarily good hands!

Stay at casa de Los Arcos in beautiful Puerto Vallarta. You will NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: While the views are best from the top, each room/suite is unique and has its own charms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
74
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 9 days in Puerto Vallarta. This was our first trip to Mexico, and Casa de los Arcos was the perfect place to stay, and to get away from a very cold Northern winter.
Susan and David are wonderful hosts who make you feel right at home. The staff are friendly and helpful. The views from the villa are magical, and the old town of Puerto Vallarta is beautiful, with lots to see and do, and excellent restaurants. The town is a 10 minute walk downhill from the villa; daunting the first day but no problem after that - even going back up became much easier! Taxis are plentiful and inexpensive if you don't feel like walking.
Casa de los Arcos provides the perfect blend of privacy and socializing, with well maintained, comfortable accommodations, all in a spectacular setting.

Room Tip: We stayed in El Museo, which was perfect for us. It is large and well appointed, and very private. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stunning views, spacious rooms and inn proprietors who make guests feel like close friends-- what an awesome experience! That is La Casa de Los Arcos. My husband and I just returned from a magical week in Puerto Vallarta! One of the highlights of the vacation was our stay at La Casa de Los Arcos. Susan is a charming, gracious hostess who took us food shopping at a local store within the first hour after our arrival so we could have food for breakfast and snacks. We enjoyed several mornings on the balcony overlooking the glorious view of the Bay of Banderas. Susan also served as an invaluable resource for information about fantastic local restaurants, local attractions and places to shop.

The rooms at the inn are unique, spacious, comfortable, and have fantastic views. The common spaces outside also provide breathtaking vistas. We simply can not say enough great things about this hotel. This is a place not to be missed!

Room Tip: If you make a reservation far in advance, you can reserve La Casita, the room with the most impressi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I've just returned from another wonderful stay at Casa de Los Arcos. It never disappoints. As always, it was relaxing, serene, private, charming, and good for my soul. There's no better way to start the day than gazing at the spectacular panoramic view of Banderas Bay. And at the other end of the day, there is nothing more beautiful than the sunset (and a margarita) looking out over the ocean and the town. Susan and David are the best of hosts - welcoming, helpful, informative, and fun. It's just one of those special magical places. I'm already looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Susan and David, the owners and managers, as well as the staff are awesome!! They will make you feel at home. Wonderful ambiance in a beautiful place. You can cook yourself, ask for help with the cooking or eat in town. Do not miss it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Casa de los Arcos is simply the perfect place for a truly wonderful vacation in Vallarta. Susan and David are warm and hospitable hosts who make sure that your stay is a real visit to paradise. We have visited on five separate occasions, and each time has been delightful and memorable. The views are spectacular from every angle of the property, and everything is well appointed and beautifully decorated. They even have a new private garden where you can sit and enjoy the views while listening to a waterfall. The staff is friendly and attentive, and so are Susan and David’s pets!

We just got back from a week-long stay and are as excited as ever to go back as soon as we possibly can. After an initial evening spent with our hosts (always a splendid occasion), we spent a few of our days just lounging in the Casita, soaking in the vistas and the warm, tropical sun in an atmosphere of complete peace, quiet, and comfort. But there are lots of things to do in Vallarta, and Susan and David always have excellent suggestions of the best places to eat and take advantage of what the town and surrounding area have to offer—whale-watching, tours, day trips, beach, whatever you like to do.

Vallarta is a magical place, made all the more magical by the existence of Casa de los Arcos. We can’t wait for our next visit!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We travel often and very rarely do we go to the same place twice. Susan and David have created a new level of hosting in one of the prettiest settings I have had the opportunity to explore. This is our second Holiday spent at the Casa with a short trip in March as well. While we led a very active and private 10 days or so we returned to the states with a smile on our faces even as we faced 7 degree weather. There is a magnetic atraction here that continues to draw you in and it eminates from our hosts whom are just genuine!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Palapa as we love the way it invites the outdoors in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Arcos

Address: Calle Hortencias 168 | Colonia Alta Vista, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Los Arcos is a luxurious villa nestled into the hillside overlooking the Pacific Ocean,with incredible unobstructed views of Los Muertos Beach, the jungle and old town Puerto Vallarta. The villa has 4 spacious suites. Rent the suites individually, or rent the whole villa, and it can sleep 10 people. There are 5 bedrooms with en-suite baths. There is lots of privacy, and large entertaining and dining areas. We will gladly arrange all your airport transfers, and once settled at the villa, we head off to the grocery store to stock your fridge. Margaritas, to follow! We are happy to arrange activities, tours and car rentals for you. Treat yourself to home spa day, with a massage, facial, manicure and pedicure. We can arrange this for you upon arrival or set it up in advance. For the nights that you do not wish to dine out, have a private cook brought in to create a wonderful Mexican meal. Our high speed internet and telephone guarantee that you can stay in touch (bring your laptops). ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de los Arcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.