We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Balsamar

Bistro Balsamar
Ignacio L Vallarta # 372, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
+52 322 222 0926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 737 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: New Small Mexican location Home with street-side dining,Organic Coffe, seating available for small groups. A/C, Wifi, once you visit Bistro Balsamar you'll understand why we have the most loyal clients in Puerto Vallarta!
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Found the proprietor /chef to be quite likable and a very good cook. The stuffed pepper was amazing as well as the enchiladas and fajitas. The crepe desert was also delectable. The cost was also quite reasonable, making the experience all the more enjoyable. Would definitely recommend trying this hidden gem.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    37
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Went here this morning for breakfast. The menu offers sweet and savoury breakfast options, and highly competitive prices. The coffee was the best we had during our 10 days in PV. The server was attentive and helpful. I would like to return some day for dinner, as I reviewed the dinner menu and it looks quite tasty!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just re-opened and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This restaurant just reopened on March 13th and yes they are still awaiting their liquor license. We has a very inexpensive meal here and the food was very good and the staff were trying very hard to be accommodating. The atmosphere is not fancy but both tables adjacent to us also seemed to really enjoy their meals so overall the food is very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bistro Balsamar now on Ignacio L. Vallarta #372”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

To start off here, I'm wondering if one of the previous reviewers got the wrong restaurant because Bistro Belsamar is in the process of obtaining their liquor licence and as of yesterday ( March 14) did not serve wine so...? Bistro Balsamar have moved around Old Vallarta a few times but the food has remained absolutely some of the best Mexican cuisine available anywhere. My wife and I were referred to this little gem and it did not disappoint! The Chile Rellenos with pork was terrific and the staff were pleasant and very helpful. The menu is quite varied and Chef Alex Cardero Garcia is very creative with a blend of traditional and nuevo Mexican cuisine. Bistro Balsamar is back and just a few short steps from Basilio Badillo. Try it! You'll love it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut, Usa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great out of the way spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Bistro Balsamar in on Vallarta right around the corner from Basillo Badillo. It is a great little find. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is family owned and they take such pride in the little gem. Dinner began with complimentary fried cauliflower and broccoli breaded in panko and fresh herbs. DELICIOUS and a welcome break from the chips other places serve. Our dinners were delicious with lovely presentation. After dinner we were treated to complimentary banana crepes which were wonderful. Walk the 3/4 block to find this great little restaurant. Menu has Mexican cuisine and seafood. Owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome and be sure eerything was to our liking. Stop in for a yummy meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Balsamar also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Bistro Balsamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Balsamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.