We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you miss eating here, it is a shame!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Balsamar

Bistro Balsamar
Ignacio L Vallarta # 372, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
+52 322 222 0926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 671 restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: New Small Mexican location Home with street-side dining,Organic Coffe, seating available for small groups. A/C, Wifi, once you visit Bistro Balsamar you'll understand why we have the most loyal clients in Puerto Vallarta!
Wilsonville, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you miss eating here, it is a shame!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

There are so many restaurants in PV that just because they don't look busy, doesn't necessarily mean that they aren't good; sometimes you just have to take a chance--we did, and are so very glad! Our family of four (adult children) went for dinner here three times in our three-week stay in PV--delicious each time! This chef-owned open-kitchen bistro should not be overlooked--great food and service--a new favorite for us (tie for our top two restaurants in PV)! The Coconut Shrimp (huge prawns) and great presentation, and the Garlic-Lime fish filet, Tequila Shrimp, and Coconut Curry Shrimp dishes were all incredibly delicious--and also try the Avocado Margarita was unique and delicious! As well, the atmosphere is very pleasant (semi-outdoor/indoor and on the nice/formal side with table clothes and purse hangers, yet still casual/comfortable), and the service staff incredibly delightful! We all said we would be back next time we are in Puerto Vallarta--and can hardly wait!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    64
    22
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Need improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Interesting menu. Good portion size. But all the plates where incomplete.
Very bad bread. Service not there. Useless ceiling ventilators cooled our plate quickly.
Don't think I will return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Upscale and Flavorful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went for dinner here Christmas Eve. My husband ordered the Chile Relleno (pork stuffed) and said it was the best he ever had. I had the Red Snapper Vera Cruz and it was wonderful. The wine list was very nice, although you can also order by the glass. We enjoyed our dinner so much, we went back two nights later and brought two other couples. Everyone left very satisfied and we all said we would be back next time we are in Puerto Vallarta.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just Love this Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Love the new location. Food is so yummy. A must have is the chilles in nogato. Service is incredible. Love the outdoor patio setting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Vallarta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife & I have been coming to Puerto Vallarta for years and have our favorite restaurants that we frequent regularly. We live in Chicago and are accustomed to great food and an endless variety of cuisines. You can find some great restaurants in Puerto Vallarta that offer great food, service and reasonable prices. Bistro Balsamar is one of those great restaurants. The food is delicious, prepared by a truly gifted chef. The atmosphere is perfect for a romantic dining experience and the attentive staff is friendly and genuinely interested in making your dining experience special. Everything I have ordered from the menu has been fantastic and the presentation of all dishes is an added bonus. On my last visit to Bistro Balsamar, I had a craving for a dish that was not on the menu. I asked Chef Alex I if he could prepare a special dish and he created a steak and shrimp special that I now dream about. Bistro Balsamar has become one of my favorite restaurants - not only in Vallarta, but anywhere. I can not say enough about Chef Alex and the great staff at Bistro Balsamr. By the way, do not leave without trying the chocolate lasagna for dessert. You will not be disappointed, except when you leave Vallarta and can not find it anywhere else.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Balsamar also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Bistro Balsamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Balsamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.