We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceed Expectation for 1st All-Inclusive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av de las Garzas 3, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceed Expectation for 1st All-Inclusive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked this 2 mos in advance on Alaska Airlines' package deals. The adult-only part was the biggest draw and the pics and reviews on trip advisor were decent. We've done a lot of big ship cruises and expected that type food and service--just above okay. Our room was nice, we upgraded to ocean front for $30/ night. We were on the ground floor right by the beach palapa bar. Score. Not a far walk for drinks. The food was fair, better than I expected, actually. We ventured to the family side buffet and preferred the selection as there was more to choose from. The staff was all friendly and attentive. The only bummer we're the hawkers on the beach every 10 minutes. The hotel was well kept and clean. We would visit again. The music needs updating...

Room Tip: We liked room 2109
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    450
    478
    241
    135
    84
See reviews for
66
656
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My friend has been here 6 times before and convinced me it was a great trip, and wow the GCP didn't disappoint! We were upgraded to an oceanview room on arrival for no real discernable reason (maybe this being my friend's 7th stay) which was a nice start. We were greeted warmly. Our room was spacious and kept incredibly clean all week long, even with two messy girls staying in it. Our room was so close to the beach and was beautiful to wake up to in the morning! We ate well, there is a fantastic assortment of restaurants, not one of them served me something I didn't like (and I'm very picky about food). There is a nice breakfast buffet in the morning that serves every kind of breakfast you can imagine...freshly made omelettes and waffles, pancakes, cereal, fruit, mexican food, you name it. You can also eat on the family side of the resort which also has some nice restaurants with fantastic food (but if you aren't into children you'll want to get out of there quickly). Fortunately the French restaurant doesn't allow children under 8. The pool isn't big but it's big ENOUGH for the size of the resort and was never overcrowded. You can always get a lounger but not always a cabana.....be prepared to get up at six in the morning to get one. Jerks like to go and put down a towel or a water bottle to 'reserve' it and then go back to bed until 10 am. I advise the resort to come up with a better system because I witnessed a few altercations over this. Otherwise, the poolside drink service was FANTASTIC (thanks Antonia), and occasionally they would break out some volleyball or tequila volleyball, or water aerobics.......often led by some eye candy (wink). There about 3 bars on the GCP side (incl pool bar), and then Club Nitro across the street that belongs to the resort. Its not really busy in there usually unless they have one of their shows on, which is usually family entertainment that draws a lot of locals and kids who all drain out by 9:30 or 10:00. However the staff there are great and kept our drinks coming and allowed us to take stupid pictures with them constantly lol. It's a good place to start drinking and meet people that you can go out with later. The one great thing about this resort is that it is small so you constantly run into the same people and so if you're a social person it's a great place to be. I met a lot of cool people on this trip just from being at Club Nitro or in the pool. The staff really do remember you and your name and the service was always friendly and prompt, and often they go above and beyond. Our server Jose at Bella Vista noticed my friend was sick and brought her chamomile tea and honey without her asking. So awesome! I could write about how impressed I am with GCP all day but just know I'm already booking a return trip for a longer stay!
Criticisms? A couple. The cabana issue for one, they need a better system to reserve these. Club Nitro needs to do something to get people to actually go over there AND want to stay and have a good time. Its a bit further from downtown but it's not the hotel's fault....just know that you're paying about 60 pesos in cab fare everytime you go down. Also you can only get into some of the restaurants by reservation and if you haven't reserved by 9 am on a busy day, forget about it. If you do get in though, the food is worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We enjoyed our seven day stay at this resort. We were prepared for all the vendors based on the reviews we read on trip advisor. Most of the vendors were very nice when you said no. Some came back several times during the day to ask again which got annoying. The vendors did not come into the pool area so if they annoy you go to the pool. This resort was all adult and we really enjoyed that! We could and did go next door to the sister resort for breakfast and meals. They did a good job of keeping the resort clean. The salsa served on the buffet for lunch and dinner was really good. BEWARE they will try to sell you a time share and they are really sneaky about how they go about it. You can do as much or as little as you want here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean front had lovely views of the ocean and the beautiful sunsets. Everyone had to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Over the past 12 yrs. we have stayed at the GCP 5 times. We were first attracted to this property because it is" adults only' and that was a blessing. The sister hotel, next door, the Crown Paradise allows children. It is amazing that when you arrive as a returning client the bellmen staff recognizes your face and in our case even calls me by Spanish nickname, Lalo. The GCP is certainly not the fanciest hotel in PV. Those are located in Nuevo Vallarta, but because of the location and value it is certainly one of the best all enclusive resorts to consider when planning a trip to Puerton Vallarta.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to an ocean front room as opposed to the main hotel highrise with a partial ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakaw
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

When we first arrived, I confess we were a bit disappointed. Our impression was that the Golden Crown had seen its day and we questioned the cost (roughly 4500.00 flight included through WestJet) of our 2 week vacation. The cost was equivalent to other resorts that were much more secluded with larger rooms, better grounds and better amenities. This was our first time at Puerto Vallarta and we were not prepared for a busy city of its size. Over the 2 weeks, we have come to value the resort for a number of reasons, but first, I would like to talk about its limitations.

The resort is old and shows its age. We missed a walk in shower as opposed to the crawl in one. The bathroom is rather crowded. Unless you go really high end on your room at a cost of more that an additional 60.00 per night you will not have a fridge. One large pool means it is difficult to find a quiet place. There is a very limited drink service around the resort. I did not see any staff cleaning the pool during our stay. The rooms are not sound proofed and so depending on your floor and others, you may end up sleep deprived.
There is no buffet in the Golden Crown, but the sister resort has one with a very definite Spanish/Mexican menu.

So where is the value?
In general, the staff is very friendly and any maintenance issues we had were delt with promptly.

The al le carte's made the difference for us. The food and service was as good as we have experienced at 5 star resorts. Our favourite's were Salvador's and the French. The French is located at the sister resort and you are limited to 3 visits over the 2 weeks, which is unfortunate. The reservation system is very simple. you are allowed to reserve daily or one day in advance by phone during a 6 hour period and we had no difficulty getting a desired time.

The beach, weather and ocean were fantastic. It was undoubtedly the best we have been at with a wonderful view and good bottom for swimming. Unfortunately, expect to be swarmed all day with very aggressive trinket venders that can get to you after a while. We have never experienced anything like it.

Into week two of our stay the hotel started to grow on us and we forgot to miss some of the amenities we had missed. The weather certainly helped with that.

I know trip advisor rates this as a 4 star, but i have difficulty with that. We would rate it generously as a 3.5

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a great time here! The view from our room was great and we thought the food was also good. The server Benji was very helpful and attended to our needs. Lots to do and the staff always have events happening. One tip, Stay clear of the information desk! They are not there to help with anything but selling you a time share. The deals are not worth it! Go down the street to see Victor at Vallarta Adventures, he will help you without trying to sell you anything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was MY first time there, but I was with a large group of people that have been going there for years. I thought it was very nice, except for the sewer smell in the rooms and the beds that were hard as a brick. The majority of the staff was very kind and attentive, however... The "Manager" needs some serious training on people skills. One of the people in our group went to her room to find other guests in her room. They had packed up all of her items and cramed them into her suitcase. This was clearly an error at the front dest, as they gave this other couple the key to a room that was already occupied, but all the Mgr. would say is, "oh, I'm sorry." REALLY??? That's it?? The pool was wonderful, the bar and wait staff were wonderful, except for the guy at the front desk that tries to sell you a timeshare (annoying). We loved PV, but not sure that we would go back to this specific hotel.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are great. You can still see the ocean from EVERY room. I would not pick the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta

Address: Av de las Garzas 3, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Crown Paradise All Inclusive Resort where our unmatched personalized and friendly service are a cut above the rest with a great location just 10 minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the International Airport. As an adults-only all-inclusive resort, our focus is on pampering, tranquility, and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Golden Crown Paradise Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.