We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best All Inclusives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av de las Garzas 3, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #62 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“One of the Best All Inclusives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Golden Crown Paradise Resort over New Years. The resort itself was very nice and we had a studio suite on the 8th floor overlooking the pool and the beach. The rooms were a little older and could have used some updating in the bathrooms but were fine all the same. The best part was that this resort was adult only and there were no kids splashing around and screaming in the pool. It was very relaxing. Also there was a good selection of restaurants French, Italian, Japanese as well as 3 International. Our favorites were the French and the Paradise Restaurant. The service was excellent as well as the food. Also having New Years Eve down there and having the dinner, drinks and night of entertainment included in our all inclusive price was a bonus. They had the tables all set our around the pool and had a wonderful buffet dinner, drinks, entertainment and fireworks at midnight. Also had dancing as well. We stood on the beach in our bare feet after midnight and watched the fireworks happening around the bay and in the town. What a great way to spend New Years! The staff at the resort were very accommodating and we also really enjoyed having drinks down at the beach bar and watching all the happenings on the beach. All around it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    495
    264
    142
    88
See reviews for
73
695
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg manitoba
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

polo abd rogerio were great when i celebrated my birthday and great bartenders that acknowledge the customer...jose was a fun bartender and inelda was a great bar server with a big smile...the resturants had great food and servers.....the activity staff were great......the cook in the bella vista was great...our room was ecellent and always spotless ..........our room was in a excellent location....the only down fall was no shade and i need shade because of skin cancer..great 3 week sbecause of the service of all employee's that kept us smiling............thank you for a great stay ...........enjoyed every minute..........ed and linda.
.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Something is wrong at a resort when guests are going to Walmart to buy beach umbrellas, hanging sheets and towels to obtain shade, or getting up at 5:30 in the morning to claim one of the 6 remaining shade providing cabanas. Recently all but 6 of the open cabanas were removed. They have been replaced by 4 post structures with translucent strips of material interwoven on the top (almost a canopy bed top). Sun readily comes through the openings on these strips of material as well as through the material itself. These structures serve no purpose.
While there are plenty of palapas at the sister resort next door, none at the Golden Crown. Many people were complaining and hopefully management will realize their mistake with these these new structures.

The quality of the food seems to have fallen a bit since we were last here 4 or 5 years ago.Bacon is now rationed out and has to be requested. However, overall, while the food is not great it is good. By far our best meal was at the French restaurant next door. The phoning for reservations is certainly an improvement over standing in line. Service at the outside restaurant for lunch was bad. On two occasions our meal was delivered only after repeated inquiries.

The resort is on the older side, but kept up well. However, some amenities available in newer resorts are missing. The rooms are on the smaller side, no refrigerators, room safes still use keys, and no Wi-Fi. We booked an ocean front room and it is well worth the extra cost. The ocean front building is closer to the water than most resorts, providing stunning views and amplified crashing wave sounds.

The hotel has a promotion where they give you a voucher for a free lunch or dinner at one of two restaurants downtown. The voucher states that you can order from a set menu only and that drinks are not included. When we arrived at the Blue Shrimp restaurant we found the set menu had only 4 items and none of them shrimp dishes. "Bait and Switch"? (Yes, we ended up ordering off the regular menu. The food was good, but we have had much better dinners in PV.) Downtown PV has had many improvements over the last 4 years and is a must see , especially in the evening.

But for the shade issue, I would have given this resort a "3." Will not return unless the shade issue is addressed.

Room Tip: Ocean front room on the 5th floor had great views and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just returned this was our first visit to PV and we were not disappointed with the Hotel or accommodation. The staff was wonderful and the rooms and hotel was very clean. The hotel is not new, but they are maintaining the property and they really make you feel comfortable and welcome. We were very happy that we stayed on the adult only side and felt it was worth the little extra so you had access to all the restaurants and you did not have to dodge running children. The restaurants were decent only poor service was at the Paradise but excellent everywhere else. Nice smaller resort in a great location and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlock
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We enjoyed our vacation. Polo and Roger were great as Polo introduced me to Donkey's milk. The service was good with the meals. Christian took such great photos, we get nothing but great comments about them..The only disappointment was the free city tour. The tour guide could have told us more about Puerto Vallarta. We were taken to a place that were owned by his friends, we were taken there at 2 -3 in the afternoon (both my husband and I are diabetetics) and we left at nine in the morning. The food was expensive with music ( tip please) one waiter(tip please) on a patio over their house. The tour guide slept on the way home. FREE!!!!!! all the staff were great. Oh! the sand and the water, we even saw whales from shore. Rthymns of the night was the best way to celebrate a birthday! and the sexy coffee!!!! Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is our third stay here, and while it's not the poshest or best service we have had at other resorts, we keep coming back. Food is good, and had outstanding meals at theme restaurants.We like the small feel but still have options for food, beach, pool, and entertainment.
Imelda was our beach barmaid and kept us entertained while still tending to business. We loved her!! The waiters and bartenders all were pretty attentive, and were seldom left waiting as can happen in Mexico. I don't recall the names of some these guys, but cudos for their service. We'll be back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view,and this trip we had ocean front, where waves are loud at night, but what a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, MX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Having Puerto Vallarta so close to home (Guadalajara, Mexico) my partner and I decided to have a couple of days away from the hectic traffic and colder weather at home and indulge ourselves with great food and booze and relaxation.

Our first choice was the Riu Jalisco in which we had previously stayed and that we enjoyed a lot even though that resort had its downs for being all-family. I tried to book the adults-only Riu Vallarta but we were strongly advised by our travel agent to spend the equivalent to 10 USD more (about 100 pesos) for the "far better" Golden Crown Paradise. Probably not the smartest decision.

We arrived at around 1 pm and we were immediately given our wrist bands to enjoy the hotel and its services. It was great being able to use a lounge with a full-bathroom and dressing room to change and get ready for the beach while we left our belongings in "custody" at the front-desk -sitting at the lobby- (we would have preferred to have them stored and locked at a more appropriate place such as a check-room; our advise, take wallets, electronics and other valuables off your bags and keep them with you until you get assigned your very own room; we did not have any security concern but that seems to be a smart choice anywhere in the world).

At 3 pm sharp our room was ready as stated in the check-in policies. Our suite had a small kitchenette (not really useful for an all-inclusive), living and dining room. I think that was not the standard as we booked "anniversary" or "honey moon" so they might have given us the suite because of that. A bottle of white wine and a greeting card from the Front Desk Manager welcomed us to the resort. Good for that!

The staff is VERY friendly. From front-desk to bar tenders. Waiters at the buffet restaurants were just okay, answering petitions and trying to accommodate requests (not giving the extra mile though). My coffee cup was empty several times. Any food served at the free-seating restaurants which was not presented in buffets takes slightly more than comfortable waiting time to be served. But, come on, it's vacation after all and we were not bothered much by that.

I'd like to point out that we did not have the chance to try any of the RSVP restaurants, we pretty much ate at the buffets, free-seating restaurants and snack bars. Food is not that great and seemed that the ingredients used were among the cheapest in the market. We are not very extravagant or demanding when it comes to eating and therefore we were not expecting five-star meals and knew that in an All-Inclusive we were going to be safer by requesting simple food. Well, somehow, even with a burger at the snack bar, the Golden Crown Paradise managed to missed it.

Pastries and bred at breakfast were not the freshest in the world, the ham and cheese selection, quality of beef (more fat than anything else chewable) sort of reminded me of my experience at an all-inclusive in Cuba (don't mean to be politically incorrect, it's just that in Mexico we have far better "average" food than what we got served).

One thing we didn't like neither was that the restaurant both at the Golden and the sister hotel Crown Paradise to which you can access to for being in the upgraded resort, closed at 10pm or so. The only option available for a late dinner or a snack is the room service (which in a 1-10 scale I'd rate 6).

Our advise when it comes to food: For breakfast and lunch you are pretty much stuck with my descriptions, for dinner try to book any of the available restaurants at the Golden and its sister hotel; try yourself and then post a review here.

Drinks were also a notch below of what we expected and what we have had received at other resorts. I had three different types of Whiskey Sour served across the property's bars each of them tasting good (well, alcohol no matter how expensive it is, usually does that). If you are a connoisseur, sommelier (or however you spell the person who KNOWS about wine and spirits), please just stick to rum and coke.

For GREAT dining and to enjoy better-quality alcohol, leave the hotel for a day, ask a local outside the hotel and be prepared to pay for it. Remember that not necessarily the most expensive is the best; do a quick survey and go where it looks clean and where your heart beats faster. Also, remember that good Mexican restaurants don't have sombreros in the entrance; just like we don't use them to go to college after we finish serving you a Margarita.

Enjoy Puerto Vallarta, and welcome to Mexico.

Room Tip: If you are in a honeymoon say so. Get a free cheap bottle of wine and an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROWNPARADISEPVR, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for share your comments with us, it definitely help us to improve in our services.

We reiterate our commitment to your satisfaction; we hope to see you again in our resort.

Best Regards

Dulce Ramos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta

Address: Av de las Garzas 3, Puerto Vallarta 48333, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Crown Paradise All Inclusive Resort where our unmatched personalized and friendly service are a cut above the rest with a great location just 10 minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the International Airport. As an adults-only all-inclusive resort, our focus is on pampering, tranquility, and rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Golden Crown Paradise Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Puerto Vallarta
Crown Paradise Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Crown Paradise Resort Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.