We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jose Clemente Orozco #131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Laramie, Wyoming, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cute and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently stayed at the Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach with another couple and our 4-month old as part of a timeshare exchange. Our overall impression:

Pros:
Smaller resort-no giant towers and easy to get back and forth between room and amenities
Extremely helpful staff
Gorgeous grounds and pool area
Comfortable (not luxurious) rooms

Cons:
As an all-inclusive property, the daily and evening entertainment can get pretty loud. Traveling with a 4 month old, it was sometimes difficult for her to nap or go to bed at night. That being said, we had a room overlooking the inner courtyard. If you are traveling with young children, I would get a room on the exterior.
Narrow beach area
Food isn't the greatest

Room Tip: Rooms on the exterior (facing away from the pool/courtyard) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanosManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers! It was a pleasure to serve you during your recent vacations at Puerto Vallarta, since our main priority is always give nice moments to all our customers. We also appreciatte your feedback, it will help us to focus more in those details you described.

The staff of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort will be more than glad to serve you once again! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    442
    158
    127
    83
See reviews for
314
369
31
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visit every year, as we are timeshare owners (Paco and Lolita), and every year the Resort gets better.

The Grand Beach portion is smaller boutique hotel, with a great location directly on the ocean. The sea wall is about 20' from the balcony.

Although we don't do the all-inclusive, we do enjoy ordering the food and drinks from time to time. And every person that we met that was on all-inclusive indicated that they really thought the food was great.

However, the best part of the resort is the cleanliness (and beauty) of the resort. Combined with excellent customer service, you will be pleased to stay here.

The bellboys are wonderful - Artenio, Manuel Porter, and all the guys. They are very friendly and do a great job of making you feel welcome.

Can't wait to go back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanosManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment.

We are very glad to know that we have filled your expectations this time you visit us, the opinion of owners like you that comes back every year to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort are very important to us too, since you would be able to notice the changes we have done right away. All the improvements we have done are focus to provide a better service to all our customers & members like you who have chosen our hotel for their vacations.

Our staff will be also very happy to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corunna, ont. canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach resort Dec. 8, 2012 for 1 week and Jan.26, 2013 or 2 weeks. As usual everything was great. They greet you like you are an old friend. Checking in was a breeze. Rooms were clean and spacious. Drinks were abundant and cold. service was impecable. Food was good and a fairly good selection. The place was not full. Maybe 50% on the weekend. 30% through the week. So it was nice and quiet. The place is getting a little bit dated but it is clean and well kept. I have been coming to this resort for 22 years and always look forward to returning. The time share people are there but if you politely tell them you are not interested they leave you alone. The Specialty restaurants are good especially the Mexican one. Try it you might like it. It is a great place for a nice pleasant vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanosManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for having the time to share your experience with other travelers!

We are very glad to know that you had a pleasant stay in Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, our main priority is always to offer the best service possible & keep working to improve amenities and facilities that would help the gues to enjoy more their vacations.

It was a pleasure to serve you, hopefully we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale MI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! Suites are great for families or groups, very clean and comfortable. Excellent service at the restaurants. Resort is in a great location, shopping out the street side door, short cab ride downtown or to the marina. Very impressed with the fabulous staff, not just the managers but each and every staff person, super friendly, helpful and professional...always smiling! Victor the restaurant manager was outstanding, Victor at the pool, Claudio, Luis Angel, Saniago just to name a few. They really made our vacation a special one! Folks at the Vacation Club...Gus, Tavo, Ernesto,Gabriel, Mary, Grace became fast friends too. Many activities each day for every personality, water aerobics to black jack! We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We were in the Vacation/Time Share Wing. We had a pool view room for the first week which was super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanosManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for you comment!

It was a pleasure for the staff of the hotel to make your stay a pleasant experience. We are doing our best everyday to please our customer and be able to make your stay like at home away from home. Your positive experience encourage us to keep going in the right direction.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We love this place. It was our second time there and each time we have felt like we were family. The staff is great - Claudio, Antonia, Victor, Luis Angel, Paloma- all super kind and helpful. The pool can get a bit warm in the sun, but that's better than being freezing. The swim-up bar is great. The rooftop bar has great views for pictures. This is more of a family place, wouldn't recommend for a group of college kids looking to party.

We like to eat out, we so don't eat a ton at the resort itself, but when we do, we're not disappointed. The breakfast buffet is always full of fresh fruit, pastries and made to order eggs and pancakes, etc.

The rooms are spacious, a bit dated, but we don't spend much time in there anyway. They are very clean, and our housekeeper Claudia was fabulous.

This hotel is sweet, def not fancy, but tidy. The hotel staff is very warm and kind. We love it there. Great value and great experience.

Room Tip: We love the first floor rooms with a patio facing the pool. Room 1111, 1109, 1103-05 are great. It c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Yes, the view is beautiful & the resort grounds are nice, it's conveniently located, but that's where is stops. The service at the pool, restaurants, front desk, etc... was the worst service I've ever experienced! It was so bad, by day 3 I went & had a chat with the manager. She did absolutely nothing to make our stay more enjoyable. I would not stay here again if someone else paid the way! The food was not good, breakfast was the only meal we ate there after day 2.
Where you stay makes the vacation and this was very upsetting to us. I stayed at the Holiday Inn last year and wish I would have paid a little more and went back there! If your not down at the pool by 7:30 am, you will not get a pool lounge. The rules say if a lounge hasn't been occupied for an hour, the security agent will go around and remove towels. That never happened, even when MANY guests asked for a lounge and showed the rules to him. He refused to help. This resort caters to local vacationers, & it's apparent they get the "good" treatment.
We spent most of our time away from the resort for the lack of getting pool chairs & service. Also, if you like the sun and plan on tanning, be prepared to move your chair constantly because of too many palm trees planted all around the pool where it's very shady. Not the place for someone who likes to lay in the sun! If you do not tip the cleaning ladies daily, your room won't get cleaned until late afternoon and you will not get your refrigerator restocked. Unless you ask for clean sheets, you won't get them. We realized on day 5 that we hadn't had clean sheets yet. So I paid our maid to put some on. This vacation was just one incident after another. I fell in love with PV last year and this time I was heartbroken as to how we were treated at this resort. Thank God the locals are so kind! I would strongly advise anyone not to stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cushendun,N Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

On arrival we were given a room with the kitchen on one side and the main laundry on the other.. Phew , what a smell.... Front desk changed the room without any delay. We waited 3 days for someone to fix our safe, in the end they had to replace it with a new one. The staff, no matter where they work are friendly and go out of their way to help you. The resort is well kept and very clean. On the down side ,the pool chairs were a distaster!!! Everything was taken by 7am..... every day!!! Towels were left on the lounge chairs with nobody using them at all. When you read the resort rules and regulations it states very clearly that nobody is allowed to reserve pool chairs. When I asked one of the pool boys , they just said they there was nothing to be done. The resort really needs to follow up with what they state in their handouts. !!!! Management needs to look into this as there were a lot of people who were upset.

Breakfast was the best meal, well, I suppose it is everywhere in the world. Lunch and Dinner were the same most days , but we were there only for one week and did not starve!.

Would I return to this resort ?? No.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco #131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#33 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#35 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort situated on beautiful Las Glorias, surrounded by colorful tropical vegetation. facing the Pacific in Puerto Vallarta, close to shops, Teatro Vallarta, Malecon, Caballito, restaurants, and attractions, only 15 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport (PVR) and 7 minutes from downtown. The layout offers private and quiet areas, as well as active areas for recreation.The hotel offers amenities like outdoor pool, a childrens pool, two aerial Jacuzzis with bay view, a health club, and a childrens club, concierge desk, Spa, Bali beds, wireless Internet access (surcharge) is available in public areas, wedding services and complimentary guest parking is limited, Sky lounge Bar, tennis court, karaoke room, game room, a buffet restaurant and two a la carte restaurant for dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Hotel
Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Plaza Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.