We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC STAFF” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jose Clemente Orozco #131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC STAFF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Check In: Upon arrival we received a cold, tasty juice beverage and cold towel which was nice. We stayed for one week January 4-11, 2013 and went to celebrate our anniversary. It was noted on our e-ticket request to have a king bed and terrace or balcony, but we ended up with a room with two double beds and a huge balcony with a fairly decent view of the ocean (Room 1255). They were willing to move us the next morning but we didn't bother. Check in was a breeze and quick with English speaking hosts. Not once were we pressured for a timeshare either.

Room: The room is basic, dated, and fairly clean. The sheets are white and starched, they will change them daily or every few days to be environmentally friendly but it is entirely up to you. If you are over 5 feet tall you may have trouble using the toilet as the space is EXTREMELY limited. Our safe was not attached to the closet, although I doubt anyone could easily walk away with the safe I'm sure it could be done. We had no trouble with loss at all. We tipped the cleaning lady each day and received great service. Mini bar is refreshed every few days with a couple of beers, pop and waters. Beds are soft which can be unusual in Mexico!

Food: We ate at the buffet a few times and it is your standard Mexican all -inclusive fare. You get a choice of salads, hot chicken, pork, beef in red or green sauce, re-fried beans and soups.
Breakfast can be an excellent meal with fresh made omelettes, fried eggs, hot pancakes or French toast made by the cook. Lots of options for your omelette but we didn't see bacon or sausage, not really a big deal as I can get that at home anytime. The only thing I missed was fresh warm tortillas??? Hotel please add them to your menu! The pool/snack bar has your regular formed burger patties, hot dogs, FF, salsas, veggies and YUMMY fresh Cerviche on Tostados.

Alcohol: My husband and I drank Coronas, tequila and whiskey most of the week. The booze is of the cheap, lower end alcohol but you have an option to upgrade to premium (but then the choice is not really premium, no grey goose, high end whiskey or tequila) If you are dying for your own name brand there is a liquor store right across the street. Bring a travel cup and the waiters will wash it and refill for you as required. There is also a pretty funky roof top bar that has a couple of jacuzzis and great for taking photos!

Beach: very limited beach, rocky and the waves were wickedly powerful with a strong undertow.
We were only able to swim right in front of the resort a couple of times during the week. We are travellers and check out different beaches of Vallarta so I'd recommend venturing out if you are looking for a decent swim. Mismaloya is a great option about half an hour away and you can get there by bus or taxi.

The Fabulous Staff:

There are two staff members at the hotel that took care of us all week long. MUCHOS GRACIAS to Rigo & Victor who worked in the pool/snack bar. Both men are a delight, speak English and were always there to give us drinks, coffee and snacks including fresh fruit and popsicles. They have such a great demeanour are were always happy and joking. We tipped daily for the great service we received as we barely had to get up! On the whole all staff were eager to please and were helpful when needed. No complaints at all. The concierge (little lady forgot her name) booked us a car too which arrived 20 minutes later and we had a great day trip driving up the coast.

Location: Excellent, close to downtown by walking or cab. There is a Mega, Walmart, bank machines and many, many Mexican restaurants around. If you get sick of tacos and stewed meats and are looking for comfort Canadian food try Blake's at the end of the plaza street. You can get a real beef cheese burger with fried onions, soups and ribs; the restaurant is owned by a former Winnipegger. It is pretty safe to walk around here and the hotel is just off the main strip (5 minute walk.)

Clientele: Lots of Canadians, a few Americans and locals during the week we were there. This isn't a party hotel for 20 somethings who may be looking for a party week. Lots of families and couples. Limited entertainment but all in all a great week.

Recommendations: Head into town, try other beaches, tip for great service and experience the food, drink and culture. You'll love PV, the people are AWESOME!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    468
    170
    128
    84
See reviews for
358
378
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I love the resort! The staff is great ,very friendly!! They have activities all day long!! Even I didn't have the package all- inclusive because I didn't want it (I prefer to eat in the town a lot tacos and mariscos hahaha) they gave me free drinks !! The location is great there are some stores (drugstore, restaurants,massages etc) around, and for going to the malecon, is not that far, you can take a bus with a cost of 6 pesos or a cab for 50 pesos or walk to the malecon that will take around 30 minutes. The resort isn't that big but has the necessary to feel comfortable and have a nice time. The activities at night are really great and fun!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were staying here for one night before taking off from Mexico. For a mediocre hotel resort (nondescript room, small & somewhat clean pool), it was surprising that the staff and ambiance had some unexpected charm. Every person on staff was nothing if not incredible nice- maybe it's just true what they say about Puerto Vallarta being the friendliest place on earth.

Heads up for adult travelers, its definitely a family-oriented hotel. You do get a rooftop bar with lukewarm hot tubs and a view, but otherwise you are not the intended audience. On the flip side it would be a great place to bring kids--they have bingo, kayaking, arts-and-crafts etc running throughout the day, plus a game room. For a night this place was pretty good. Wouldnt go here for an extended stay. ps Its also a bus or cab ride to downtown or a 40 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno, california
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We just returned from a week's stay here, and we were very happy! We traded our timeshare thru Interval for New Year's week at this resort. We had a two bedroom, three bath unit on the third floor and also rented a hotel room for two more of our family members. The two bedroom unit had a great view of the pool area and ocean. Having a third full bathroom was so nice! The kitchen was plenty adequate for our breakfast cooking and snacks & cocktails. The hotel room was spacious, also had a nice patio and pool, ocean view. We did not choose all inclusive, as we love to try different restaurants of the area and had fantastic dinners out each night. We did eat the breakfast buffet one day - it was tasty, but quite pricey for what was offered. We also ate at the pool bar for a couple lunches. More selection needs to be offered at the pool bar restaurant - it's fries, hamburgers, hot dogs or ceviche - that's it! It was good but more variety is needed.

The pool was chilly, especially on the rainy, cooler days. Too darn cold for me!!

Everything & everyone from our check-in (loved our room, thank you Gabriel!), to the pool bartender, the "host/greeter" at the front of the resort, bellhops and our housekeeper was handled efficiently and with a big, genuine smile!

Pelicanos Grand is close to the Malecon - only a 50 pesos cab ride away. It's walking distance to the Mega grocery store and shops and a place we had two great breakfasts - Alcatrances. We walked down the beach a few times to enjoy the sights and beers at a beach bar.

We'd love to stay here again. Pelicanos Grand isn't a huge resort, and we liked that. It was cozy (though not too small) and had a great authentic, warm feel. You know it's been a wonderul, memorable vacation if you're already thinking about when you can return before you've even left to go home!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed at Plaza Pelicanos Grand for a week the middle of this month, December 2012. I had room 1775 (seventh floor in the new tower -- 8 years old, so they tell me). Great views from the hallway windows and the two elevators were quite efficient.

I LOVED my room. It was a large studio with everything I needed ---- dining table, with a storage unit, separating the dining area from the bedroom area. Kitchenette, with granite countertops and a huge microwave and a two-burner stove. Large fridge. Lovely marble floors and a marble-tiled bathroom. The only thing of note that might not suit everyone is that the bath tub is fairly high, so if someone is mobility-impaired, it would be difficult to get into the bath/shower.

Also had a large safe (digital), iron/board, tons of storage (very large closet) and an EXTREMELY comfy king-sized bed. Decent-sized terrace, with a couple of chairs and a lounger. Being on the end of the building, my view was well over 180 degrees, from mid-Bay to the mountains.

The staff (front desk, bell staff, check-in staff --- through RCI, etc.) were wonderful. Extremely friendly and helpful. I didn't eat on site too much but did eat at Pergola for breakfast three times and the food is excellent and reasonably-priced, and the staff there was efficient and friendly. I did not eat any other meals on site. No dinner meals at the other on-site restaurants.

There is a member area in the tower where you can get on the computer for 20 minutes, with a free password, or get a code from the membership staff to use your wireless. Worked well for me.

Periodically, there is entertainment down on the patio (music) and there is also sometimes music up on the top floor of the tower. Awesome view from there!

There is something about this area that I really enjoy (next door to Canto del Sol, being in the cobblestoned area which feels like a village). I always enjoy going down to Blake's Sports Bar nearby, as well as having easy-access to the bus and little restaurants and boutiques and massage shops in the area. Also, the area is directly across the main drag from the Versalles colonia, which is real Mexico and offers options for small restaurants and wandering.

There is a swim-up bar in the pool at Plaza Pelicanos Grand. There are also plenty of options for relaxing on the pool deck, with the day beds. The beach is fairly narrow. Sure do love the views of both, from up on the 7th floor. I would definitely return to this resort. It works for me.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the tower on a top floor. I was on the 7th floor. Perfect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

There were 11 of us on this trip and that being said it was decent enough. The food was alright (nothing to write home about) but the staff was very friendly which made for an enjoyable experience.

Our room's toilet busted on day two, and started to smell like sewage. We complained and they moved us to another area of the hotel very quickly.

It was not very busy at all when we stayed (at least in the Grand section) but was busier later in the week.

The beach was very rocky, but they had nice canopy bed things that we were able to lounge in. The girls all went for a walk down the beach and purchased beach dresses and jewellery from the local vendors and they were not overly pushy as you sometimes hear about.

Its not that long of a walk into town (or cab ride for that matter, as long as you dont scare easily by "talented" driving from the locals....)

Overall it was a decent vacation for the price, especially since they were able to accomodate a large group of us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clarita, california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is our first stay at this resort through our timeshare exchange. We've stayed at many other resorts in the Puerto Vallarta/Puerto Nuevo area over 20 years and for the most part have had enjoyable experiences. Our one bedroom condo is OK but very sterile in the decor area...and has a beautiful view of the bay...which us a shame because the extremely loud and constant music and screaming from the pool area in the center of the resort has caused us to ask for a room on the street side of the building which is actually quieter. We love music, we love laughter but when it's bam, bam, bam, bam, bam, bam,bam,bam,bam,etc, unless you;re 20 years old, it gives you a headache. We opted out of the all inclusive so we paid ala carte for our lunch - if you can call it that - it was a chaotic run on poorly displayed food that was not that good. I;ve NEVER given a bad review before, but I had to with this place. We still haven't heard back on a room change, but this is going to be a very loooooong week until we can go home,

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

Address: Jose Clemente Orozco #131 | Zona Hotelera Las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#35 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort situated on beautiful Las Glorias, surrounded by colorful tropical vegetation. facing the Pacific in Puerto Vallarta, close to shops, Teatro Vallarta, Malecon, Caballito, restaurants, and attractions, only 15 minutes from the Puerto Vallarta International Airport (PVR) and 7 minutes from downtown. The layout offers private and quiet areas, as well as active areas for recreation.The hotel offers amenities like outdoor pool, a childrens pool, two aerial Jacuzzis with bay view, a health club, and a childrens club, concierge desk, Spa, Bali beds, wireless Internet access (surcharge) is available in public areas, wedding services and complimentary guest parking is limited, Sky lounge Bar, tennis court, karaoke room, game room, a buffet restaurant and two a la carte restaurant for dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Hotel
Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Plaza Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Pelicanos Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.