We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and nice, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #56 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Basic and nice, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nice little resort. Key word is little, which also makes it manageable. Staff is helpful. Property is clean. Rooms are clean and nice, but nothing above average. Buffet is sub-par - not really a good selection of food compared to other all inclusives. Pool area is really nice with a swim up bar. No hot tub. Beach area is nice, but small. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Very nice location and easy to get into downtown or the city.

This is a very family (kid) friendly resort. Activities are geared towards to the kids also. We would recommend it for families with kids, but if you are going on an adults only trip, you may want to avoid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    738
    365
    162
    125
See reviews for
847
501
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN JOSE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. Very attentive staff in all the restaurants and always great service. We arrived Christmas afternoon. The travel agent booked through Apple Tours. We were shuttled in a van from the airport to the hotel. We got our rooms and then went to check the place out. The resort is bit run down and showing age and wear, but the grounds are beautiful. Our room looked nice, but there was this strange smell and there were a few issues with it. First off, the refrigerator did not work too well. We had terrible water pressure with the hot water and too much with the cold water. It seemed like we never had hot enough showers unless we left the cold water off...then we had not pressure. Probably the biggest problem with the room was the toilet. We had to have it plunged one to two times every day during our stay. The next morning we got a call from one of the "vacation planners" (I am not sure what they are called). She told us to come to her as early as possible so she can tell us about the resort and what there is to do. So we went to see our "vacation planner" and it turned out that it was just a time share or some type of vacation ownership package they were selling. For the next two day, I was pressured every time I went by the area. Did not like this at all! I didn't like the dinner reservation system at all! I didn't like that I could not make a reservation until 9 am the morning the day before I want to dine in one of the 3 restaurants. The food in all three of the restaurants were very tasty but not the best quality. The presentation was beautiful. I wasn't a big fan of their desserts. I don't think I will stay at this resort again should I return to PV.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just came back from another great week in Puerto Vallarta. I am writing this review to praise the staff the the Melia but at the same time to point out that as others have pointed out, the property is showing its age. Many beach chairs broken, the sink in the bathroom not draining properly, gunk coming out of the faucets, no hot water in the evenings (we took showers around 7pm when I guess everyone else wanted hot water) and things overall looking worn. We stayed on the Club Melia side. This hotel gets a lot of traffic so it's to be expected; however, with so many options on where to stay, it's important to keep up. We just got back last night. While we there the resort was full. They seemed to be short staffed, we had to wait multiple times for a table and at times were not even asked what we wanted to drink. On numerous times, there wasn't a host waiting to seat guests, none of this had been an issue in the past (we've been going there for 5 years in a row). The staff that is there works their butts off so we are happy to tip them for their services. Thank you for that. Our next stay is in April 2014 but after that, we'll definitely explore other options.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We enjoyed the location of the Melia and our daily walks to the marina, we would liked to have walked along the beach in the evenings but it was not a really good section of beach for that. The staff were excellent, we cannot say enough about the friendly, helpful workers at the front desk, restaurants and bar. The food was very good and the hotel was not full during our stay so we never had any problems getting a table and always had excellent service. The pool and beach chairs could use an update as they need new covers and a lot of the chairs were broken and therefore uncomfortable. The rooms are average, be careful, if you are not a late night party person look for a room far away from the lobby as the music is loud and goes steady until midnight and it is absolutely impossible to sleep until after the bar closes at 1:00 am. The grounds are really nice and well kept.

Room Tip: Rooms in the towers are extremely loud but provide a good view. For an extra fee the west rooms, oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Melia Puerto Vallarta for a Christmas vacation. We arrived on December 19th and left on December 26th. We had wonderful time but the Hotel needs a lot of updating with the rooms. The air conditioning did not work properly in our room and it smelled terrible. I did let the front desk know and asked them to bring a fan and they did accommodate us by bringing a fan but did not offer to get us a different room. Also, whatever you do, do not bring travelers checks. The Hotel cashed them one day and then the next day they would not. One manager would say yes and the next day the next manager would say no. Very inconsistent. The pool area is beautiful and the food was good, but they are not very good with putting ice in your drink or even serving water or anything cold. The refrigerator in the room did not work properly either, everything was warm. This resort definitely caters to kids with shows and activities which was great. All in all it was a great vacation, but I would definitely look for a better place to stay the next time I visit Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Tell the hotel you want a room that the air conditioning works well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great resort. Staff understand and speak English. Beach and pool were awesome. The resort is showing its age but still nice. Would recommend more washrooms around the resort. Food was great. I never went hungry. Shows were well done and fun. Free wifi was great in lobby. Really appreciated being able to stay in touch with home. Vendors on the beach were very bothersome. They pretend they don't know the word no and don't mind calling you cheap when you don't buy. The worst was before we got to the resort. Being attacked at the airport by timeshare (now referred to as clubs or point systems). They promise you so many free things to come and check it out with no obligation. DONT GET INVOLVED. They will strip all your dignity from you if you don't get sucked into their sales pitch. You never get anything for free. It's not worth it. Musty smell in the rooms is annoying but not intolerable. Maybe fans or vents in the bathrooms would solve the problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great Christmas week at the Melia Puerto Vallarta. Staff are friendly and a tip goes a long way. The rooms and amenities are nice but the hotel is showing its age. There are a LOT of Mexicans at this resort and perhaps 10% Canadians and 1 or 2 American families. All the activities were in Spanish and English and the wait staff all speak English well. A couple things to beware of: 1. Don't let the timeshare gang "get you" at the airport. They'll grab you and have you in their grip with 'free' stuff. They are VERY smooth. 2. This hotel has a fabulous beach but if you choose a chair in the beach vice pool area, you are bombarded continually by the vendors selling jewelry, cheap clothing,tattoos, etc. they are relentless and don't take no for an answer.
Overall, a nice vacation but we won't be back. Too much of the world left to see.

Room Tip: 5th floor and above. All ocean-view rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Puerto Vallarta is a paradise for families and couples, where there is something for everyone and where everything is included. A wide variety of snacks and meals, domestic and imported drinks and recreational activities for all ages, spectacular evening shows performed by professional dancers, with a different program every night, and swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpool. The Flintstones have found the perfect place for their holidays: they are staying with your family in one of our first theme hotels: Yabba-Dabba-Doo bazaar, Roca Flash, RocAdventure, Baby Rock Club, Bamm Bamm Club and Cool Club. Let yourself be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.