We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most relaxing vacations I have ever had.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 120 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the most relaxing vacations I have ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a wonderful way to spend your vacation. Rain or shine we had a lovely time. The staff could not do enough to make us feel at home. The food was five star and the accommodations were perfect.
Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to let us know your experience in Melia Puerto Vallarta.

Your Comments are our goal, we work everyday with all our best to create phenomenal memories for all our guests.

Thanks again for the time and the intention to exhibit on tripadvisor the great time you spent with us.

We will waiting for you with open arms.

Best Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    614
    273
    127
    92
See reviews for
657
392
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Puerto Vallarta where we stayed at Melia for 5 nights. The staff was super nice and friendly but that's about the only good thing at Melia. This hotel is in serious need of some remodeling. Our AC barely worked and several of the things in the room we're falling apart. Yes, the price is good but I would have rather paid a little more and stayed at a better hotel. The buffet was average but I've had better. The hotel is in the perfect area - close to everything. Another thing to know about Melia, is a lot of their guests are locals so don't expect to see many people from other places than Mexico. Not a bad thing, just something to be aware of.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to let us know your comments about the Hotel.
We would have liked to know about your inconvenients the moment of your stay to give us the chance of change some aspects that were in our hands.

Again, Thank you for your time, all our staff work everyday in the quality of our products and services to give you always the best. We expect that you give us the opportunity to change your perception.

Best Regards.

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanillo, Mexico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My partner and I spent 8 amazing nights, service really friendly, food was really good, The front desk team was Amazing in special Gaby Bahena, at la palapa Restaurant Simon, at the pool area Angel, our room was really clean and nice every day! Im sure we were ready for our trip, but also I'm sure that Melia Puerto Vallarta its a nice all inclusive resort!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write about your last stay in Melia Puerto Vallarta. Most of all, that your experience with us was pleasant. We work everyday to create good experiences, our work full us of joy and know that remembers the names of employees who had the pleasure to serve you makes us even happier. With all the pleasure we'll let them know your gratitude.

We hope see you soon in your house Meliá Puerto Vallarta.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We recently returned from a 5 day stay at the Melia Puerto Vallarta. As new Club Melia members we were not impressed. We have come to expect more from Melia properties. While the service was consistently excellent and the staff more than friendly, the hotel is dated and simply run-down in some areas.

Let me start with some of the positives. The lobby is very welcoming. We liked how it incorporated the reception, store, spa, bars, and restaurants in one large two-storey area that felt both open and contained. We found the front and serving staff genuinely friendly and helpful. They were always enthusiastic. There were also a lot of activities throughout the day. Although we did not have kids on this trip, the kid's area and playground looked fun. In addition, the pool has two zero-entry areas.

As we were there the first week of October (very low season,) we essentially had many activities to ourselves, including the tennis court. It was also very easy to borrow the equipment. Keep in mind, only one of the two courts was actually equipped and maintained, as the other was in need of repaving. (This seems to be representative of the resort in general: some parts are well maintained while other areas seem to have been abandoned.) There is also a well-equipped gym but it lacked mats and smelled of mildew. Archery was fun, the nightly shows were entertaining and amusing, and the kayaking was also good. It is convenient that you can arrange a number of different off-site adventure activities directly with the resort staff.

The food was adequate: consistently acceptable but never exceptional. Since it was very low season, the restaurants were only open on a rotating basis and reservations were hardly necessary. The wait staff was very attentive.

We had a one-bedroom suite that looked updated. It was small but very well-maintained and comfortable. The room was nicely appointed, the bed was in good shape, the bathroom was very clean (and looked like it was renovated within the past few years), and our balcony had a nice jacuzzi-tub.

The buildings themselves do not look like they have been well maintained. It looks as if the exterior hasn't been painted in a while, and the walls were scarred black and cracked in many places. Some of the stairwells smelled of urine and mildew. The elevators also appeared old and were not reliable.

While the grounds were nicely maintained, the pool area and its design are outdated. At the same time, it is large with some nicely shaded areas. However, numerous missing tiles and a tired color scheme detracted from the attractiveness of the setting. Although the pool chairs were comfortable, it looked as if the cushions were very old. Many of them were stained by bird droppings! The pool towels were also in bad shape, sometimes threadbare.

The beach is also fair. A cement wall separates the beach from the pool area but it was not landscaped or decorated. The cement landing/walkway to the beach is just functional, not attractive. Kayaks were available at the beach and the attendant was very helpful. There was debris on the beach.

Overall, I would not return to this resort until it is updated. I do not think it lives up to the standards I expect from Melia. One nice thing about the resort is that it is nestled between some nice looking and well-maintained properties, allowing one to plan a better stay at a neighboring (non-Melia) resort for one's return to Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Beachfront one-bedroom suite was small but nicely appointed and appeared updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Don't be deceived by the hotel pics, the grounds are not nearly as nice. I stayed 3 nights at the Westin($54/night not including meals) and 3 nights at the Melia ($280/night all inclusive). I would have rather stayed at the Westin the entire time where our room/meals/drinks averaged out to about $175/night and the property is much nicer. While the Westin kindly upgraded us to an ocean view room due to low occupancy (low-season), Melia had a nice sign at the front desk with "special" pricing to be upgraded to a better room. Just upgrade your guests if you have empty rooms! Did I mention that upon check-in we were asked if we wanted to do excursions (which we did) and we were then handed over to timeshare people within the hotel? I've been at your hotel 10 min. and you're already harassing me?? When we declined the presentation, they didn't help us with the excursions. And while Westin had heavenly bedding...Melia had 3 scrawny pillows on the bed which looked like they belonged in a baby's crib. Go to the Westin!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poco
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is NOTa 4 star hotel as they list it. This is an old hotel, the mattresses are old and pillows are low quality and the beds are uncomfortabel, the water pipes are old and nosie and the tap water smells really bad , the air conditioner are all old as well and dont work all the time, the rooms have a damp feel and smell.. The activites on the property are not maintained, or repaired, the beach is unswimable, the pool temperature is way to hot and needs to be repaired. The restaurants are not 4 star quality and the only afternoon one is a hamburger stand. The night entertainment is for children ages 2 - 10 not for adults. The bar inside does not open till 5 pm so getting water or pop or beer you have to go to the pool area. Was very disappointed in our stay at the Melia and will not recommend it to anyone. I

Room Tip: Stay at a new hotel, one built in the last few years, not the old ones, and photos can and will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I arrived at the Melia and was not impressed by anything! We upgraded our room to the M level for an additional $80 and found that there were no additional services provided. You could not get a drink before 11:00 and the only bar that was open was the pool - almost fell in while walking down the stair because they were slimey. You only had a choice of 8 mixed drinks at the pool - I had a mojito which had moldy mint in the drink. The Lobby bar opened at 5:00 which was not air conditioned - this was the only bar that you could order tequila or any other shots. Although the bar people were friendly, the rest of the staff barely understood english. The first night we made a reservation at the only restaurant open and when we arrived we were told that we did not make a reservation. We insisted so they sat us. This hotel caters to local mexican-speaking families - not americans. We did spend the evening in the only bar open, sweating our butts off while listening to music and being the only Americans in the hotel. When we woke up our bed and counters were covered in ants. We got a taxi and decided to buy a day pass at a hotel elsewhere. After a wonderful day at the Barcelo - highly recommend - we checked out of the Melia and truly started enjoying Puerto Vallarta.

DO NOT STAY AT THE MELIA!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Melia Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Puerto Vallarta is a paradise for families and couples, where there is something for everyone and where everything is included. A wide variety of snacks and meals, domestic and imported drinks and recreational activities for all ages, spectacular evening shows performed by professional dancers, with a different program every night, and swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpool. The Flintstones have found the perfect place for their holidays: they are staying with your family in one of our first theme hotels: Yabba-Dabba-Doo bazaar, Roca Flash, RocAdventure, Baby Rock Club, Bamm Bamm Club and Cool Club. Let yourself be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Melia, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.