We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place To Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I went there for the first time for Spring Break. I did a lot of research to pick the right hotel. I studied abroad in Mexico but had never been to Puerto Vallerta. The hotel is very close to the airport. We did not pay for a ca rot pick us up at the airport. When we got there we walked outside and there were so many taxi's there. Each zone has its own rate and the drivers gave us good prices. When we got to the hotel we were greeted and had to wait a little for our room to be ready. We went and got something to eat and checked out the hotel. Our room was really nice and the staff was very friendly. Don't pay for the excursions through the hotel. The marina is right across the street and there are a ton of companies that are way cheaper if you want to do excursions. When we had to leave we had the hotel call a taxi and we had to wait about 10 minutes but I think that was because we left at about 4am. Overall great vacation and we would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to know that your stay was enjoyable for you and your couple, in Melia Puerto Vallarta Hotel we aim to make your stay a memorable one, full of comfort and happiness.

Thanks for giving us their views known. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Puerto Vallarta.

Best Regards

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    713
    352
    154
    118
See reviews for
823
474
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel to have our first destination vacation with our two young children (4 and 1). We also traveled with our parents.

I will start with what we loved. The resort was very clean and staff was extremely friendly (especially Angel, bartender for the pool). The kids club really caters to babies, or over 6. My 4 year old wasn't old enough for the fun club and had no interest in sitting inside with the babies. But having a place for my youngest to nap was awesome. The meal and drink quality is what you would expect. Beach was clean, spots available but we did not receive drink service on the beach. (not a big deal). The other guests were very friendly as well, when we arrived one family that was leaving left their pool floaty toys for our kids. When we left we did the same.

The things that were not so great. When checking in we were approached by a lady in a Melia staff outfit with name tag and all, but she was begging us to do a timeshare meeting. She kept telling us this is how she makes a living and please just let her sign us up.. it was awkward and uncomfortable!

The main thing that was hard for us to get around was the restaurants (including buffet) did not open for dinner until 7PM. My kids are used to eating much earlier, and are usually in bed by 7PM. Add swimming in the pool all day and sunshine.. they were melting down by dinner time every night and there was no way around this. (attempted to get extra naps but it just didn't work). This also goes for the 9PM entertainment show, we didn't see even one since the kids were in bed by this time.

The hotel is "all inclusive" but many things that you see actually come with a charge. If you want the wine they feature, you pay (and not a reduced rate, the full price). If you want a lobster tail as shown walking in for dinner, you pay for that too. My daughter would nap twice a day so sometimes we would miss room service. When I called down to ask them to come back and re-stock my fridge she told me there would be a fee for that. There is a coffee bar, and this costs money too. Even the small run down mini golf costs money.

We really did enjoy your time at the Melia but we would most likely go somewhere a bit different for our next vacation. Good value for what we paid though and no real regrets in staying here.

Room Tip: We requested to be close to my in laws and they gave us a room with an adjoining door. Very helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest.

We are glad to know that your stay was enjoyable, all your comments are being taken into account, our goal is always to provide you quality services.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your experience in Melia Puerto Vallarta Hotel. Look forward to your return with us on your next vacations to Puerto Vallarta.

Best Regards

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went there to relax and it was perfect. The weather was very nice, we met a couple from New york and together we went to visit many places and have dinner. For me, the Yoga, under a mango tree was very peacefull and the teacher, Francia , she is very good teacher, very nice person and prefessional. At night we enjoyed the show with very good dancers.
The restaurants and the buffet could be beter. We went out many time for dinner and lunch. Close to the hotel is plenty of good restaurants.
People from the hotel are helpful and friendly

Room Tip: The only problem about the rooms was about decoration, the fabric of the sofas are old and not for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Its a pleasure read comments like yours, we are glad to know that your stay with us was pleasant. We invite you again to enjoy of our services in your next visit to Puerto Vallarta.

Thank you again, for taking the time to let us know your experience


Best Regards

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Club Melia Master Suite is enormous and beautiful. It meets the standards you expect from being a member. The service from the Club concierges is excellent with Maria a standout! The restaurants are average. La Palappa and the italian restaurant are very good. The mexican is good. The buffet is poor. The pool and beach are beautiful, and hotel location is excellent. Plenty of very good to excellent restaurants nearby or in the Romantic zone 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to let us know your experience in Melia Puerto Vallarta, especially because was a good stay for you. Your satisfaction is our goal, so read comments like yours makes us feel very happy.

Thank you again, We'll be waiting for you in your next visit to Puerto Vallarta.

Best regards

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our first time to go to a all inclusive resort and I was very pleased. The food and drinks were great. The service was great and the ground were wonderful. This is a "club" so they wanted to give their talk but they accepted no with a little persuasion. The only thing that I found I was unhappy about was that they did not provide coffee in the room. There was a coffee pot but if you wanted coffee you had to pay $40.00 peso or $4.00 for a kit but the frig was full off beer, water and pop all free. There were many activities but she just wanted to sit and relax but many families were there having a great time. It is hot and humid this time of year so be prepared for that.

Room Tip: They have entertainment every night with a band to follow in the lobby that plays until midnight so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for letting us know your opinion about our services, creates in us a great satisfaction to know that your stay was enjoyable. We appreciate your time and intention to share this with potential future customers.

Thank you again and We'll be waiting for your return.

Best Regards

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very Peaceful. Relaxing. Staff where friendly and welcoming. My husband and I had a great anniversary vacation. We will go there again and are sure to stay at the Melia. They have lots of activities. Be sure to go Wale watching in February.

Room Tip: You can sit on you balcony and watch Iguanas and Ducks around the ponds. Staff where friendly and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very happy to know that your stay at Melia Puerto Vallarta was pleasant, and even more being on a date so important to you. Your satisfaction is our goal, so it is exciting read comments like yours.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We'll be waiting for you with open arms.

Kind Regards

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm staying at the resort. I've been here with my family day and a half. My personal perspective, since I have stayed in another Meliá before, is that the Meliá Puerto Vallarta All-Inclusive is poor compared to the one at Los Cabos. And poor compared to the Regina Resort too, which is two resorts away from this one. The paint on the outside of all buildings is falling down, half the tiles on the roofs are broken, it looks extremely old.

We wanted a king side bed room and got one with bunk beds ( perfect cause we are traveling with two kids ) However, we left a cleaning notice card to the cleaning personel to change only the lower bunk bed sheets. They removed the sheets but left us the clean ones on the bed; folded! We came back around 7, tired, with crying, tired and irritated kids, to find out we had to do the job. I wonder what would have happened if I had asked for all the sheets to be changed?

About the room, the bathroom stinks, the furniture is old, the air conditioning fan is very noisy and the WiFi is not free like the Lobby.

There are some special night dinners every day. You need to make reservations a day before. and honestly just a few people attended. Thats why we also didn't make the reservation for the next day special dinner night (Italian dinner, no kids after 7, formal or casual dressing).

Food is great, the personnel attention and disposition are over my expectatives, the pool is clean but my wife hurt herself with the bottom pool flor because its broken in several places.

I'll post again when we leave in a few days to complete my experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much to sharing your experience with us, we really sorry for do not except your expectation, it is not good to know that our costumer have not a good time, we take very seriously your check points, since they are the tool to improve our quality and service levels and also to highlight the opportunity areas that you as our important client observed during your stay.

We hope so, that you give us another opportunity to change your experience.

Best Regards

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Puerto Vallarta is a paradise for families and couples, where there is something for everyone and where everything is included. A wide variety of snacks and meals, domestic and imported drinks and recreational activities for all ages, spectacular evening shows performed by professional dancers, with a different program every night, and swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpool. The Flintstones have found the perfect place for their holidays: they are staying with your family in one of our first theme hotels: Yabba-Dabba-Doo bazaar, Roca Flash, RocAdventure, Baby Rock Club, Bamm Bamm Club and Cool Club. Let yourself be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Melia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.