We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view but HORRIBLE food!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful view but HORRIBLE food!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

If you go to this resort be prepared to eat somewhere else. The food was awful. Breakfast was the only food that was tolerant. We ate at the seafood restaurant the first night and the portions of food were small and it was very bland. If you stay here be sure to ask for room 1807 because the view is amazing. This was the only part of the hotel that we truly enjoyed. The minute you walk in you are given a sales pitch for a tour of a new property that was not a "time share." (that is what the lady kept telling us anyway.) We were not the only ones who complained about the food. My husband led the revolution for people to eat at the marina because that was the place to get food that was actually good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear AmyDBT,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to describe your experience. Your feedback is very valuable to us, and we deeply regret not having met your expectations, it is never pleasant to hear one of our guests has encountered dissatisfaction during their stay.

For all our staff, your comments are very important, since they are the tool to improve our quality and service levels and also to highlight the opportunity areas that you as our important client noted during your stay.

We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future so that we can recover your trust.

Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    659
    308
    136
    104
See reviews for
749
420
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just got back yesterday from the Melia PVR. All in all we had a very nice time. First time to an all inclusive resort and were quite impressed the resort overall. We didn't get harrassed even once by a time share rep, and we found the hygiene standards to be very good. I've seen worse here at home. The food was good, with a decent variety but my wife complained that some of the items could have been hotter. My son and I eat anything so we were happy with the variety. We didn't try any of the a la carte restaurants. There was a Mexican Fiesta on two nights and we really enjoyed them. Live mariachi guitarists, artisans and vendors set up (no pressure) and different Mexican food than what we had been having all week. The service at the pool and in the buffet restaurants was excellent and the waiters very pleasant and quick. We brought single US 1$ and would use them as tips.

Our rooms were very nice and spacious with a nice view of the ocean and the main courtyard, where they set up the tables for the fiesta. We were in rooms 1408 and 1409. Each room had a nice flatscreen, although we didn't really watch TV except for a show or two at bedtime. There were music channels too. Not many English TV channels though.

The hotel and grounds are very well kept and spacious. There is a little store, a beauty salon and spa and lots of sitting areas. There are two pool tables as well for a late night game or two. The pool is huge and there are daily activites for young and old. My wife and daughter really liked the aquarobics in the morning and my son and I played water volleyball, basketball and even Bingo. There are many other things to do such as archery, air rifle target shooting, a rock climbing wall, shuffleboard and free kayaks and boogie boards for the beach. I even played in a blackjack tournament (free chips). The nightly entertainment was good and we were impressed with the level of talent and variety.

The beach isn't huge but there are plenty of chairs and palapas (sun shade). The water was comfortable and the waves were pretty decent on the windier days. The beach vendors are not aggressive, and go away with a simple, "no, gracias". If you are in the market though, you can bargain for a good deal for the most part. The view of the mountains ( I think the Sierra Madre), and the town of PVR is beautiful while sitting on our balcony or on the beach.

The city bus stops outside and for 7 pesos (40 cents) you can take the 20 minute or so ride into PVR. We took the bus there and an 80 peso ($7) taxi back after dark. Make sure you set the price with the taxi driver before getting in. The marina is a 5 minute walk away and there are many shops and restaurants to choose from.

Oh, one last thing. When you get to the airport and you've got your luggage and are now in the narrow hallway with counters on each side, don't be fooled by the guy who tells you that you have to go over and register for your hotel shuttle. Just keep going. Those counters are where the time share reps are and they are pretty pushy, offering all sorts of deals to get you to a presentation. If you want to go to one however you might be able to get a free excursion out of them.

Anyway we had a great time and enjoyed the Melia very much.

Room Tip: When you check in try to get a room NOT in buliding 2. This is near the lobby bar area and is closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Satisfied49,

It is a pleasure to know that we fulfilled your expectations for being your first time to an all-inclusive resort, since they help us improve day by day and motivate us to continue to provide a quality service.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your holidays and our multiple facilities, as well as the comfort and view of our beautiful rooms.

We hope you come and visit us gain, it will be our pleasure to serve you.

Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Though the staff seems genuinely ready to assist you in any way possible when you arrive, the closer you get to leaving the less "enthusiastic" that assistance becomes. Better have the taxi waiting when you check-out or you'll be reminded of exactly how little you mean to the resort in short order! Thinking about the $200 "resort credit" if you book the resort? It's NOT A CREDIT! It is a broken up series of $25 discounts off resort offerings above and beyond your limited all inclusive package. By the way, the discounts WILL NOT be applied when you checkout as there seemed to be an exclusion for nearly every application. In short, it was a rip-off!
Food was consistently horrible with general hygiene being the least of the worries of those preparing the food. On the other hand, this "kid friendly" resort will definitely serve you liquor until you pass out, provide access to their favorite taxi service, and everyone has a kick-back built into their suggestions of where to go.
When you check in, before you can see your room, walk to the beach, or get a glass of wine, you are immediately taken to the side for your first of many sales pitches!
In short, believe the stars (or lack thereof) 3 1/2 stars for an "All Inclusive" is equivalent to one star service. BEWARE

Room Tip: Good luck! We had an electrical "buzzing" in our bathroom and our friends did as well in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Namon H,

Thank you very much for your review after your recent visit to Melia Puerto Vallarta. We will take under very serious consideration your comments which will help us to constantly improve. We are deeply sorry for your situation during your stay, and for not fulfilling your expectations, of course it is never pleasant to hear one of our guests has encountered dissatisfaction dring their stay.

We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future so that we can recover your trust.

Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Dear reader: This is a perfect place to stay. Their staff is knowledgeable, friendly, courteous and the cream of service. I would like to praise the management of this hotel for selecting and investing in training on individuals that want to give their very best, Individual that are people oriented. You will find them excellent, thoughtful and beyond their call of duty. I would like to highlight some individual that exemplify this: Caption of all restaurants, David Cisneros, who made sure all my business dinner engagement were at the right place. Captain of Italian restaurant Jonathan, who made my guest feel so special and treated with the utmost care and respect. Wait staff Juan Guerrero, Simon, Pedro and Roberto. Not to mention our special lady, Sylvia who every day clean our room so neatly and then left special detail to make the room warm and inviting. Thank you for making our stay a delightful and restful experience. I would like to mention it was such a neat site to see whole families stay at the Melia... I see why there is something for everyone and every age and all the enmities that a family would need. While on the elevator I meet the doctor in residence. It sure was good to visit with him.... While on this trip we had no need of it, I can see how this becomes essential for any traveler, older individuals, young adults having spring break having fun or families. I will whole heartily will recommend this Hotel to anyone. They will make you stay a memorable experience. Again thank you Melia staff for kind and thoughtful actions. Until next time. Norvi M

Room Tip: Just express you particular need to the staff, they will listen and will meet your need
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Norvi M,

I would like to start saying thank you for your warm words, every comment, every detail are important for all Meliá staff, we are very grateful that you have had a great time, just imagine how important is for us that memorized all employer names, for them will be important, I am going to let them know.

See you next year.

Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Pleasant, friendly resort. Never had to wait for anything ( bar/buffet etc,).....you don't have to get up at 6am to save a seat like many places......always a pool or beach chair available..Enjoyed our stay.....Everything was just fine. 3 1/2 or 4 star I would say. Physical plant is a bit worn. Great for families and the middle aged crowd....if your lookin to party....not the place for you. Food average but the service staff fast and friendly...wow Angel at the pool bar runnin serving drinks all day...outstanding. Only complaint was at checkout they took our wrist bands and our shuttle did not arrive for 3 hours.....when I said we planned to have lunch to kill the time the front desk said we would have to pay extra for that....$10.00 each??? Been to many resorts and that is a first for us.....we were very disapointed with that policy!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Brian R,

We really appreciate the time that you took to share your experience with our future guests.

Regarding your disappointment, I really sorry this caused a discomfort in your last day, it wasn´t an intention, but the all-inclusive service finish a specific time.

It will be terrific that you visit us the next year and this point doesn´t affect it.

Regards,

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, B.C.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Took this trip as a last minute - book Monday, depart Saturday. Had never been to either the Melia or the Marina area before.

#1 - People. Have nothing but positive things to say about the staff and that includes the front desk. Had a couple of minor issues that were expediously resolved. On one occasion my safe stopped working. Advised the desk who said I would have to be in the room when the repair person arrived. Resolved myself to a lengthy stay but he arrived and fixed things within 10 minutes.

Outstanding individuals - Rosie and Angel around the pool. These people just never stop. I am sure they are repeat employees of the month.
- Sylvia at the omelette station. Start your day with custom ordered food and a bright smile. She remembered your order by day 3.
- Juan in the Buffet. Mr. Personality.

#2 Location- As a person who enjoys walking I found the Marina to be fascinating. Lots and lots of fancy yachts including the INVADER which is listed as one the 100 largest yachts in the world.

#3 - Pool - lots of lounges which means despite the towel savers there are ample for everyone anyway. Big enough so the activity people could enjoy their thing without drowning out normal conversation elsewhere.

Can't really comment on the overall food because we did not take the time to do the a la carte restaurants. The poolside snack bar though is amongst the best I have encountered. Be quick to get the onion rings because they go fast.

Sampled only some of the evening shows. Nice to see something different and not the usual rehash of pantomined Grease and Michael Jackson shows.

Enjoyed the evening cocktail lounge. Music on many evenings but not trying to be a dance club. Those wanting that type of thing could head downtown PV for 80 peso's in a taxi.

Our room on the 7th floor of building 2 was pleasant but the view was outstanding. Could see the cruise ships coming and going as well as the lights of downtown PV plus fireworks some evenings.

All in all it was a most pleasant experience. Met people who are repeat visitors up to 10 times so that tells you something.

They do have time share/vacation club promoters in the lobby who introduce themselves as vacation concierges. They are not especially high pressure but its just not my thing. The people sitting at the "public relations" desk seemed to provide assistance without any kind of "will you go to my presentation" factor. For instance when I inquired about renting a car, they quickly called two different companies to provide me with two quotes without me even asking.

Over the years have been to resort Mexico 25 times and usually to a new location. Having said that there is nothing that would preclude me from returning to the Melia and I would certainly have no qualms about making it a family vacation with children and grandchildren.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear BCBERN

Thank you for the time that you took to analyze every detail.

Rosie, Angel, Juan and Sylvia are excellent employers who work hard every day to make an extraordinary work, our staff always will be happy to give you the best service to have a good experience.

We look forward for your next visit, all Meliá staff we will be waiting for you and your Family.
Regards.

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

honestly? this resort needs to be brought down to dust then rebuild to a new updated resort version to compete other resorts in the area. It has that old musty smell already. People are nice (but then, everyone in PV are nice anyway). Food quality are minimal in quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear 24k60763,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is a great pleasure to know that our Staff was nice.

Your comments that help us to improve those areas that you mentioned.

Regards
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#50 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Puerto Vallarta is a paradise for families and couples, where there is something for everyone and where everything is included. A wide variety of snacks and meals, domestic and imported drinks and recreational activities for all ages, spectacular evening shows performed by professional dancers, with a different program every night, and swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpool. The Flintstones have found the perfect place for their holidays: they are staying with your family in one of our first theme hotels: Yabba-Dabba-Doo bazaar, Roca Flash, RocAdventure, Baby Rock Club, Bamm Bamm Club and Cool Club. Let yourself be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Melia, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.