We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It grows on you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 120 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Delta, B.C.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It grows on you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Took this trip as a last minute - book Monday, depart Saturday. Had never been to either the Melia or the Marina area before.

#1 - People. Have nothing but positive things to say about the staff and that includes the front desk. Had a couple of minor issues that were expediously resolved. On one occasion my safe stopped working. Advised the desk who said I would have to be in the room when the repair person arrived. Resolved myself to a lengthy stay but he arrived and fixed things within 10 minutes.

Outstanding individuals - Rosie and Angel around the pool. These people just never stop. I am sure they are repeat employees of the month.
- Sylvia at the omelette station. Start your day with custom ordered food and a bright smile. She remembered your order by day 3.
- Juan in the Buffet. Mr. Personality.

#2 Location- As a person who enjoys walking I found the Marina to be fascinating. Lots and lots of fancy yachts including the INVADER which is listed as one the 100 largest yachts in the world.

#3 - Pool - lots of lounges which means despite the towel savers there are ample for everyone anyway. Big enough so the activity people could enjoy their thing without drowning out normal conversation elsewhere.

Can't really comment on the overall food because we did not take the time to do the a la carte restaurants. The poolside snack bar though is amongst the best I have encountered. Be quick to get the onion rings because they go fast.

Sampled only some of the evening shows. Nice to see something different and not the usual rehash of pantomined Grease and Michael Jackson shows.

Enjoyed the evening cocktail lounge. Music on many evenings but not trying to be a dance club. Those wanting that type of thing could head downtown PV for 80 peso's in a taxi.

Our room on the 7th floor of building 2 was pleasant but the view was outstanding. Could see the cruise ships coming and going as well as the lights of downtown PV plus fireworks some evenings.

All in all it was a most pleasant experience. Met people who are repeat visitors up to 10 times so that tells you something.

They do have time share/vacation club promoters in the lobby who introduce themselves as vacation concierges. They are not especially high pressure but its just not my thing. The people sitting at the "public relations" desk seemed to provide assistance without any kind of "will you go to my presentation" factor. For instance when I inquired about renting a car, they quickly called two different companies to provide me with two quotes without me even asking.

Over the years have been to resort Mexico 25 times and usually to a new location. Having said that there is nothing that would preclude me from returning to the Melia and I would certainly have no qualms about making it a family vacation with children and grandchildren.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear BCBERN

Thank you for the time that you took to analyze every detail.

Rosie, Angel, Juan and Sylvia are excellent employers who work hard every day to make an extraordinary work, our staff always will be happy to give you the best service to have a good experience.

We look forward for your next visit, all Meliá staff we will be waiting for you and your Family.
Regards.

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    614
    273
    127
    92
See reviews for
657
392
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

honestly? this resort needs to be brought down to dust then rebuild to a new updated resort version to compete other resorts in the area. It has that old musty smell already. People are nice (but then, everyone in PV are nice anyway). Food quality are minimal in quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear 24k60763,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is a great pleasure to know that our Staff was nice.

Your comments that help us to improve those areas that you mentioned.

Regards
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Melia for the last 4 years, it is a wonderful hotel. The people are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious, the food is great, I had no problem finding something to eat :) The bar staff at the pools were great also, they remember us each year. We have been bringing friends with us to the Melia the last 3 visits and they have also enjoyed the hotel and people. Thanks again and hope to see you in December again :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear TJE83854,

Thanks for be your option for the last 4 years, we liked to receive your comments and better at you recommend us, that mean you trust us to have a great time with your family.

It will be terrific that you visit us the next year.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I (61 & 59) returned from a week at the Melia March 10/13. We had a wonderful holiday and were impressed with the location, pool, and with all the staff with the exception of some of the staff at the front desk. We had requested a king bed and were given a family room with 2 double beds. When we asked at the desk they told us they would do what they could but said the hotel was almost full and we never did get a change in room. Later we were told that the hotel was less then half room. The grounds were beautiful and the pool and beach areas were lovely. We found all the servers very friendly and always helpful. We also appreciated having bar service around the pool and no spring breakers! The pool activities were fun as were the dance classes. The evening entertainment was fantastic, better then we have ever seen. All the guests we spoke to were friendly. There was a nice mix of ages. The location is great, 5 minutes from the airport. The marina is a few mintue walk with lots of shops and restaurants. We enjoy the downtown area and went down a couple of times. Take a chance and take a cab ride to The Red Cabbage Cafe for some amazing Mexican fare and some great photos of Frida Kahlo. We highly recommend this resort and hope to return.

Room Tip: We were on the main floor of tower 3, nice location to pool, the room was clean, they have lovely wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager. at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear flywaySaskatoon,

We really appreciate that you recommend us and very important know that you had a good time
In reference with you room I am so sorry to heard about your king bed request but I appreciate that your reconigzed how our front desk work in this.

It will be wonderful that you visit us for the next year.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My family of 5 (with kids, ages 13 months, 3 & 6 years) stayed at this lovely resort at the beginning of March. We were originally booked to stay at the Barcelo, however we asked Sunquest to move us about a week prior to departure because of the horrible reviews being posted about the Barcelo (illness, hospitalizations, etc). Sunquest moved us without a fight and without a fee - which in my mind proves that something nasty was happening at the Barcelo. Regardless, we knew nothing about the Melia and actually expected a 3 star with screaming kids everywhere. Thankfully we were wrong and the Melia exceeded our expectations! The resort is convenient to both the airport and a quick ride to downtown PV, extremely clean and the staff were amazing. The pool was perfect for my little ones - with 2 beach entries so they could just sit and play in the shallow water. The beach was nicely kept and the vendors never harrassed us.

We were given a Kids & Co room, which we found out included some great perks. The sandtoys, milk, bubble bath and nightly cookies were such a plus. The resort is very family friendly, but this doesn't mean that it's over run with wild, screaming kids. The opposite is actually true - you see kids and their families, but the parents are actually 'parenting' their kids, so everyone is enjoying everyone's company! The Kids Club was great for my older son - they had water balloon fights, went swimming, painted and fed the fish (but didn't thankfully stick the older kids in a room for long periods of time just playing video games). The evening shows were some of the best I've ever seen at an all inclusive - every entertaining for all ages. My kids especially loved the pirate show with real sword fights!

I can honestly say that the only few downsides to the resort were the front check in staff (quite aloof and boarderline rude) and the fact the the evening buffet didn't start until 7 pm, which for my kids was just too late. Thankfully the snack bar stayed open until 6, so we just usually grabbed a hotdog or burger there. All in all, the food was ok - nothing great, but not bad either, typical AI food. The drinks on the other hard were fabulous! A great selection of drinks, from mamosas for breakfast to caesars, to mojitos, etc - all were good and all were 'strong', not watered down like other resorts I've been to. A huge thank you to Angel at the pool bar for being my ray of sunshine every day - amazing service, all with a smile!

We loved our holiday so much that we're already looking forward to going back next year, but hopefully for 10 days!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear HooGirl1,

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our facilities, every great moment that you share with us it is very important for Melia Puerto Vallarta and know that we exceeded your expectations it is amazing.

Thank you again for shared with us your valuable comments and we hope to see you soon, we are going to let know Angel your comments about how was your ray of sunshine every day.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I took out two daughters (5/8) to the Melia from February 28th-March 7th 2013. We did a lot of research as we have been to Mexico a number of times but not with the kids. We decided on the Melia for a few reasons: 1. very close to the airport 2. small resort with around 300 rooms 3. on the beach 4. family friendly.

We were not disappointed with any of these points and the staff were amazing! From Oscar at the front desk who remembered our daughter's names every time he saw them to Rossie who was waitressing everywhere! Another special gem of a staff member was Angel whom controlled the pool side serving drinks and memorized everyone's orders. The kid's went to the kid's club once and really enjoyed it. We also had a family room with bunk beds which were great and the room was quite up to date.

All in all this was a very good place to go for the money and we would go back with the kids. The only thing I noticed that wasn't as positive was parts of the resort seemed a little dated but it was amazingly clean and tidy.

Room Tip: We stayed in building one in room 1117. It was close to the lobby and the pool and was a family roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear powelj1,

Thank you for your preference, as you mention this resort is thinking always about being Family Friendly oriented.

Our staff cares about every detail to make a difference and be very professional like Angel, Oscar and Rossie, they are going to be very happy to know that they are doing an excellent job and being recognized.

We work hard every day to kept our resort in the best condition.

We look forward for your next visit, all Meliá staff we will be waiting for you and your Family.

Regards.

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvr
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Travelled March 02-09, was hesitant after booking as then noted it was a total kids zone and being single expected screamig brats everywhere, the exact opposite was the case. Many older couples and well behaved families everywhere, all very relaxed and fun to be around. Cannot say enough about all the staff, smiles and all hard working, and looked to be enjoying their functions. What I really liked was that you actually never saw the bldgs., I stayed in M experience room, ocean front and when I went down onto the grounds the mature foliage masked
any bldgs, whoever designed this property did a great job. After more then 45 trips to Mexico and
many of those to Vallarta, never stayed in the Marina before, once again surprised, such so never left the property as there wasn't anything I hadn't experienced in the past, so totally enjoyed the time spent at the resort, the views are great, the different areas of the grounds are also great and all very clean. I would suggest this resort to anyone that is looking for an above average but not over the top resort...friendly guests and staff abound. Melia management you should be very proud to have such wonderful people working for you, see you in May...Cheers!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear suntanning,

It is a real pleasure that your stay was a great experience and we really appreciate that you recommend us, as you notice in the M experience room has a beautiful view beautiful view besides other benefits and attributes.

Our staff really cares these points; we want happy costumers like you,

We´ll see on May.

Regards.

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Melia Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Puerto Vallarta is a paradise for families and couples, where there is something for everyone and where everything is included. A wide variety of snacks and meals, domestic and imported drinks and recreational activities for all ages, spectacular evening shows performed by professional dancers, with a different program every night, and swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpool. The Flintstones have found the perfect place for their holidays: they are staying with your family in one of our first theme hotels: Yabba-Dabba-Doo bazaar, Roca Flash, RocAdventure, Baby Rock Club, Bamm Bamm Club and Cool Club. Let yourself be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Melia, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.