We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off for MeliáRewards
Ranked #55 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Saskatoon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I (61 & 59) returned from a week at the Melia March 10/13. We had a wonderful holiday and were impressed with the location, pool, and with all the staff with the exception of some of the staff at the front desk. We had requested a king bed and were given a family room with 2 double beds. When we asked at the desk they told us they would do what they could but said the hotel was almost full and we never did get a change in room. Later we were told that the hotel was less then half room. The grounds were beautiful and the pool and beach areas were lovely. We found all the servers very friendly and always helpful. We also appreciated having bar service around the pool and no spring breakers! The pool activities were fun as were the dance classes. The evening entertainment was fantastic, better then we have ever seen. All the guests we spoke to were friendly. There was a nice mix of ages. The location is great, 5 minutes from the airport. The marina is a few mintue walk with lots of shops and restaurants. We enjoy the downtown area and went down a couple of times. Take a chance and take a cab ride to The Red Cabbage Cafe for some amazing Mexican fare and some great photos of Frida Kahlo. We highly recommend this resort and hope to return.

Room Tip: We were on the main floor of tower 3, nice location to pool, the room was clean, they have lovely wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager. at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear flywaySaskatoon,

We really appreciate that you recommend us and very important know that you had a good time
In reference with you room I am so sorry to heard about your king bed request but I appreciate that your reconigzed how our front desk work in this.

It will be wonderful that you visit us for the next year.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    723
    356
    157
    119
See reviews for
832
484
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My family of 5 (with kids, ages 13 months, 3 & 6 years) stayed at this lovely resort at the beginning of March. We were originally booked to stay at the Barcelo, however we asked Sunquest to move us about a week prior to departure because of the horrible reviews being posted about the Barcelo (illness, hospitalizations, etc). Sunquest moved us without a fight and without a fee - which in my mind proves that something nasty was happening at the Barcelo. Regardless, we knew nothing about the Melia and actually expected a 3 star with screaming kids everywhere. Thankfully we were wrong and the Melia exceeded our expectations! The resort is convenient to both the airport and a quick ride to downtown PV, extremely clean and the staff were amazing. The pool was perfect for my little ones - with 2 beach entries so they could just sit and play in the shallow water. The beach was nicely kept and the vendors never harrassed us.

We were given a Kids & Co room, which we found out included some great perks. The sandtoys, milk, bubble bath and nightly cookies were such a plus. The resort is very family friendly, but this doesn't mean that it's over run with wild, screaming kids. The opposite is actually true - you see kids and their families, but the parents are actually 'parenting' their kids, so everyone is enjoying everyone's company! The Kids Club was great for my older son - they had water balloon fights, went swimming, painted and fed the fish (but didn't thankfully stick the older kids in a room for long periods of time just playing video games). The evening shows were some of the best I've ever seen at an all inclusive - every entertaining for all ages. My kids especially loved the pirate show with real sword fights!

I can honestly say that the only few downsides to the resort were the front check in staff (quite aloof and boarderline rude) and the fact the the evening buffet didn't start until 7 pm, which for my kids was just too late. Thankfully the snack bar stayed open until 6, so we just usually grabbed a hotdog or burger there. All in all, the food was ok - nothing great, but not bad either, typical AI food. The drinks on the other hard were fabulous! A great selection of drinks, from mamosas for breakfast to caesars, to mojitos, etc - all were good and all were 'strong', not watered down like other resorts I've been to. A huge thank you to Angel at the pool bar for being my ray of sunshine every day - amazing service, all with a smile!

We loved our holiday so much that we're already looking forward to going back next year, but hopefully for 10 days!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear HooGirl1,

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our facilities, every great moment that you share with us it is very important for Melia Puerto Vallarta and know that we exceeded your expectations it is amazing.

Thank you again for shared with us your valuable comments and we hope to see you soon, we are going to let know Angel your comments about how was your ray of sunshine every day.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I took out two daughters (5/8) to the Melia from February 28th-March 7th 2013. We did a lot of research as we have been to Mexico a number of times but not with the kids. We decided on the Melia for a few reasons: 1. very close to the airport 2. small resort with around 300 rooms 3. on the beach 4. family friendly.

We were not disappointed with any of these points and the staff were amazing! From Oscar at the front desk who remembered our daughter's names every time he saw them to Rossie who was waitressing everywhere! Another special gem of a staff member was Angel whom controlled the pool side serving drinks and memorized everyone's orders. The kid's went to the kid's club once and really enjoyed it. We also had a family room with bunk beds which were great and the room was quite up to date.

All in all this was a very good place to go for the money and we would go back with the kids. The only thing I noticed that wasn't as positive was parts of the resort seemed a little dated but it was amazingly clean and tidy.

Room Tip: We stayed in building one in room 1117. It was close to the lobby and the pool and was a family roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear powelj1,

Thank you for your preference, as you mention this resort is thinking always about being Family Friendly oriented.

Our staff cares about every detail to make a difference and be very professional like Angel, Oscar and Rossie, they are going to be very happy to know that they are doing an excellent job and being recognized.

We work hard every day to kept our resort in the best condition.

We look forward for your next visit, all Meliá staff we will be waiting for you and your Family.

Regards.

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvr
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Travelled March 02-09, was hesitant after booking as then noted it was a total kids zone and being single expected screamig brats everywhere, the exact opposite was the case. Many older couples and well behaved families everywhere, all very relaxed and fun to be around. Cannot say enough about all the staff, smiles and all hard working, and looked to be enjoying their functions. What I really liked was that you actually never saw the bldgs., I stayed in M experience room, ocean front and when I went down onto the grounds the mature foliage masked
any bldgs, whoever designed this property did a great job. After more then 45 trips to Mexico and
many of those to Vallarta, never stayed in the Marina before, once again surprised, such so never left the property as there wasn't anything I hadn't experienced in the past, so totally enjoyed the time spent at the resort, the views are great, the different areas of the grounds are also great and all very clean. I would suggest this resort to anyone that is looking for an above average but not over the top resort...friendly guests and staff abound. Melia management you should be very proud to have such wonderful people working for you, see you in May...Cheers!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear suntanning,

It is a real pleasure that your stay was a great experience and we really appreciate that you recommend us, as you notice in the M experience room has a beautiful view beautiful view besides other benefits and attributes.

Our staff really cares these points; we want happy costumers like you,

We´ll see on May.

Regards.

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Olive, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had the privilege of visiting the end of February, before spring breakers, and truly enjoyed the hotel and the city. There were 6 of us, all adults. This is our third Melia property to stay at (we are members) and while this is the oldest and smallest of the ones we've been to was well worth the trip. The staff was exceptionally friendly and provided great service. Our breakfast waiter had our coffee pouring as we were being seated and knew what juice everyone drank. Food was very tasty with few exceptions. We found the service at the non-buffet restaurants to be a bit spotty, with courses served at odd intervals but the food itself was very good. And what more can be said about Benjamin and Angel at the pool. They kept the drinks coming and with a constant smile. The entertainment staff worked hard to amuse us during the day and put on great entertainment at night. The pool activities like water aerobics and volleyball. Bingo was a big favorite also. We ladies and a husband had massages, two by the ocean and tow of us in the gardens, they were amazing! Haven't had a better one.

We were lodged in Bldg.3 which contains the member accommodations. We had a master and two junior suites for the family. They were very clean with very comfortable beds. Some of the furniture could stand a bit of a redo but everything was very clean. It is nice to have daily maid service and the mini fridge restocked daily for free ( no extra charge like some VC's). The private jacuzzi was also a nice treat.

It was an easy bus ride into the city and we were found it to be very pleasant. The Malecon was beautiful wit it's sculpture and shops. We never felt afraid walking through the city and enjoyed the restaurants, shops and the flea market. We felt that all the vendors we encountered both in town and at the resort were extremely gracious. They didn't push too hard and would leave if told no thank you. A change from some other areas we have traveled to. Also, saw many Humpback whales and their calves in the bay.

We would definitely consider returning to Melia Puerto Vallarta. The accommodations, the pool and the nice beach were all positives in our book. Thanks for a great family get together.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the suites. Try for one that faces the ocean but the others have a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear mbb1023,

We really appreciate the time that you took to share your experience with our future guests, the priority for all the staff is give you our best attention, Benjamin y Angel are going to be very happy know that they are doing an excellent job, this comments motivates them to be better.

It is also a great to know that you got to experience the magical whale watching.

It will be wonderful that you visit us the next year.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just spent another great week at this hotel. Yes, it is a little dated as are many, but the staff is stupendous and the facility immaculate. There is constant cleaning activity, from the pool to the grounds to the landscaping. My husband didn't like the bed, but I found it fine and the bedding seemed to be top quality. Good shower pressure and temperature- a must for me !
Food is so-so, but better than some. Great family activities. Very close to airport and not far from downtown or other shopping. Be sure to order "blended Bailey's" to watch the sunset as the view is perfection.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear sunLOVER4156

First at all, I would like to start saying thank you for your opinion, our priority always is that our guests enjoy every time of their vacation.

I could see that you come frequently that mean that you pass a good time with us, please receive from our staff a warm greetings.

Cordially

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, BC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I just got home from having spent a week at this hotel. When registering we were upgraded to a junior suite which had a spectacular view of the ocean. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was also quite comfortable.
I found the service to be very friendly and hard working.
The buffet food was good but not excellent. The salad bar could have been bigger with more selections of fresh vegetables and fruit at every meal. This hotel caters to a lot of Mexican travellers so I think that they tried to focus on making sure that the meals appealed to both Mexican and international travellers.
The lobby staff makes an effort to have you sit down and listen to their presentation on "Club Melia", which I didn't do. Some people may find that annoying but it didn't really bother me. I did consider listening to them to take advantage of the perks but in the end decided that I didn't want to waste 1 1/2 hours of time in my one week of holiday.
I think that this time (Mar 2 to 9) is the beginning of the US spring break. The hotel beside the Melia had a loud speaker on the edge of the beach that was annoying at times. I will try to make sure that I go one week earlier next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servici0_al_Huesped, Guest Experience Manager. at Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear kpshuley,

Thank you for the time to share every moment with our futures guests, each point that you mentioned is helpful to be better every day.

In reference about de Food will be transmitted to our Food and Beverages Manager, I will like to mention it that always we are trying to change our menu to please all palates.

It will be wonderful that you visit us for the next year.

Regards

Guest Experience Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Puerto Vallarta is a paradise for families and couples, where there is something for everyone and where everything is included. A wide variety of snacks and meals, domestic and imported drinks and recreational activities for all ages, spectacular evening shows performed by professional dancers, with a different program every night, and swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpool. The Flintstones have found the perfect place for their holidays: they are staying with your family in one of our first theme hotels: Yabba-Dabba-Doo bazaar, Roca Flash, RocAdventure, Baby Rock Club, Bamm Bamm Club and Cool Club. Let yourself be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Melia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.