We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

You get what you pay for. Hotel rooms comfortable, recently updated and clean. All staff courteous and helpful. Hotel was only at about one third capacity so service was never a problem. Food below average in both buffet and ala carte restaurants. Only one bar open at a time. The evening shows were way above average, some of the best I've seen in any hotel, obviously professional dancers with exceptional choreography. Pool badly in need of repair but it was clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    666
    315
    140
    106
See reviews for
763
426
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for a week and everyone was great. Hector, Jesus,Little Carlos, and the waiters Ben & Angel at the pool bar. Aberham at the Lobby bar also. The place was spotless and always people were cleaning.Someday our towels were replaced twice a day in the room with surprises at night. We would stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: The rooms we had 1422 & 1424 were great and I think any room in the 1400's would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

OK, just to get it out of the way, everyone has different standards and expectations. One man's palace is another man's shack. I gave this resort a 5-star rating not because it's the most luxurious place we've ever stayed but because it exceeded the expectations we had for it. Just keep in mind that this is Mexico and like many other countries, health standards aren’t quite the same as in the US.

What we were looking for in this vacation was a place where our family could take a break from life and just do nothing for a week. We wanted to get away from house projects, checking email, work, making meals, ... the normal treadmill of life. Melia ended up being perfect for us.

Hotel room:
The room itself was a very typical hotel room, the biggest difference being the bunk bed in our Kids & Co. room (there were two full size beds plus the bunk bed). We have a 3- and 5-year-old and they loved it. Their only complaint was that the bed squeaked when they moved around. I stuffed some Kleenex under where the ladder/railing hung off the bed and that stopped the squeaking.

Amenities included a mini fridge stocked with some pop, water, beer, juice, and milk boxes, a safe, air conditioner, and a 32" (I'm guessing) flat panel TV. The TV didn't have a remote but we hardly watched any TV so I didn't bother asking about it. I was a little surprised to see a hotel room without a microwave or coffee pot, but I guess they aren't really necessary at an all-inclusive resort. The other thing I found odd was that we had a family/kids' room and there was no bathtub, just a shower. It ended up being fine and the kids enjoyed playing with their beach toys in it, but it might be more of a problem if you have younger kids. There isn't much to say about the air conditioner. It worked like it should have and kept us very comfortable.

As far as noise levels go, I can see how people would have mixed experiences. We were toward the end of the west wing (room #1123), so the noise from the nightly shows and lobby bar music didn't bother us at all. But it might get loud if your room is closer to the lobby. I'd recommend bringing earplugs or a white noise machine or whatnot just in case.

One thing that baffled us was the number of times people came to our room. We had a minimum of three visits each day. First, they would come and clean the room sometime in the morning. Then they would drop off a couple little bags of cookies in the afternoon or early evening. And then someone would come around every evening asking if we needed any additional towels or blankets. The hilarious thing was that we had four people staying in the room and they started us out with three towels. So every night we would get a 4th towel and every morning the cleaning crew would take away the 4th towel. It was no big deal but their processes would make an operations manager pull their hair out. We also got a note one day saying they needed to fumigate the hotel the following day and we should stay out of our room for 1/2 hr. after they fumigated. However, they never told us what time they were fumigating and they never left us a note saying the fumigation had been completed, so I'm hoping we didn't go in our room when we weren't supposed to.


Staff:
We were very impressed with the staff at Melia. They were all very friendly, helpful, and quick with the smiles. We had never stayed at an all-inclusive before, so it was weird (in a good way) to have someone walk up to us while we were sitting by the pool and ask if they could get us something to drink, then return with it and we didn't have to spend a dime. The lobby bar was the same way - they encouraged us to try new drinks and were also very friendly.

We didn't encounter any time share representatives as I had heard we might but the people running the dinner reservation desk gave us a spiel about coming to a 90-minute breakfast presentation about the Melia hotel chain and they would give us 40% off everything at the spa plus a few other perks. We weren't interested so they left us alone. The spa prices weren't great to begin with so you'd almost need the 40% off for them to be a good deal.

Nearly everyone we came across spoke English to varying degrees. We like trying to speak foreign languages though so it was fun practicing our Spanish there.


Restaurants:
Food is another place where one man's palace is another man's shack. We came to Melia expecting typical mid-level restaurant/buffet fare and that's exactly what we got. Some things were great, some things weren't so good, but most of it fell somewhere in the middle.

It took us a little bit to figure out the restaurants and schedules but once we got into the swing of things it wasn't bad. There are basically 5 places to get food and 3 places to get drinks. Quetzal is a buffet and the only place that serves breakfast. Then they close for lunch and open again for dinner. Some of the food remained constant from day to day (made-to-order omelets, cereal, and fruit in the morning; bread, pasta, and fish in the evening), but a lot of the others changed each day. Vitrales and Azulejos are Italian and Mexican sit-down restaurants that require reservations and are only open for dinner. Their menus were pretty short and we had been finding something we all liked at Quetzal so we didn't bother going to these.

La Palapa is the main place for lunch, with a buffet that typically included pizza, pasta, fish, various/rotating Mexican dishes, salad, etc. For dinner, it changes to be a sit-down seafood restaurant that requires reservations. We wanted to try it for dinner one night but didn't make our reservations soon enough and all the time slots that worked for us were taken. Oh well. For lunch and throughout the afternoon there's also La Palapita. This is a little snack shack near the pool. Every day they had hot dogs, hamburgers, nachos, tacos, french fries, chips, and popcorn. It was great for grabbing an afternoon snack when the kids needed refueling.

On the hotel information card there was a reference to "Midnight Snack" and the hours it was available, but no other information. We finally figured out they re-open Azulejos each night with a limited selection of food. It looked like it was mostly left over from other restaurants earlier that day.

As far as the bars go, the pool bar and La Palapa were open during the day and the lobby bar was open for a good chunk of the night. We never tried the bar at La Palapa but the pool and lobby bars were great. My wife and I don't typically have mixed drinks so we initially had a hard time coming up with things to order. But once we found out they had a drink menu we were golden. The Snowball (Bola De Nieve) and Mayan Sacrifice (Sacrificio Maya) were a couple of our favorites. Tequila shots seemed to be pretty popular in the lobby bar but we're not into getting drunk so we stayed on the lighter side.


Activities:
Melia offered a number of activities we didn't take advantage of. We mostly played in the pool, on the beach, and in the ocean. They also have a nice little playground that our kids took advantage of on several occasions. Melia's kids club looked like it would be good but we were there to spend time as a family so we never used it. We checked on taking out the kayaks but were told the minimum age was 8 so we scrapped that. If we go to PV again in the future we'll probably plan an excursion or two, but I'm glad we didn't on this trip. The pool and beach were all we needed and they were wonderful.

A couple things about the beach and ocean there: I'm not sure if this changes throughout the year, but the waves and undertow were quite strong. We didn't go much deeper than our waists and never let the kids in on their own. I'm not sure how to properly describe it, but there's a big rock/cement/block/thing that breaks the waves really well and creates a nice little spot where several fish tended to congregate. Also, the vendors who walked up and down the beach were a constant sight but they were never pushy or obnoxious. A simple "no gracias" or even just shaking my head "no" usually kept them walking on by. If you want to buy something be prepared to either haggle or over pay. My wife needed a new pair of sunglasses and the beach vendor initially said it would be 370 pesos. I told him I only had 150 pesos with me (which I did) and he agreed on the price. I'm sure I still over paid but it was a heck of a lot better than 370.


Well, that ended up being a much longer review than I was expecting to write. If you made it all the way through, I'm impressed!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that isn't too close to the lobby bar. We were in a Kids & Co. room towar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Melia in PV. This was our second time at the Melia, and we were very impressed with the service we received as returning customers. We were given different bracelets,identifying us as returning guests.This seemed to bring some additional service from the staff. We received an upgrade to an oceanview room, at no charge. Room was spectacutlar. Quiet, away from the crowd, with an excellent balcony for watching then sunset.
Carlos was instrumental in arranging restaurant reservations in town (The Blue Shrimp, Le Kliff), transportation and deals on activities.
We spent one day in a Bali bed, which was fantastic. Quiet and private, we had a great personal waiter who was always there when we needed something but was never intrusive. This was a great way to spend a lazy day.
The buffet was average, but certainly always had some decent dishes for each meal. We enjoyed the seafood and italian restaurants as well.
The service was exceptional all week. We would go for breakfast in the morning and when we returned our room had been cleaned already. Front desk and Customer Service reps, were also great. After being asked once on the first day if we were interested in the time share presentation, we said no, and we were never asked again.
We also enjoyed going over to the marina, 5 minutes away, in the evening for drinks and shopping.
Bus to the Malecon was right outside the front door for 6.50 pesos, or a cab will take you there for 80.
There are a lot of kids, which was a little annoying at times, but we learned to go to the buffet later in the evening which was much better.
It would be nice if there was some area that was free of children, perhaps the lobby bar after 8:00 or something. We quite often saw small children in the bar at 11 or 12 at night, but that probably says more about the parents than the hotel.
Overall we had a great time and the price was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a choice of 2 hotels with our vacation package, one in Puerto Vallarta and one in Nuevo Vallarta, there was a difference of $400 per person but we chose the Melia and paid the higher price as it was closer to town and billed as a 4.5 star All-Inclusive Resort. We also upgraded to an Ocean View room ($150 pp) which put us on the 7th floor.

Unfortunately our experience with what the hotel offered did not meet our expectations. We have stayed at other all-inclusives in Mexico so we do have a frame of reference for comparison.

First, there were 4 elevators in our building, 2 service elevators for staff and 2 for guests. There was only one elevator working, there are 9 floors in the building, and once a staff member had a cart in the elevator there was no room for anyone else. It could take 10 minutes or more waiting for the elevator to get to the 7th floor, and the hope was that once it got there, there would be room to get in. Taking the stairs was not an option as my husband could not manage 7 flights.

We were there for 10 days and the other elevators were out of service the whole time.

Our key cards would stop working every afternoon. With the ongoing elevator issue it got to the point where we got tired of going up to our room only to find we could not get in, my husband started going to the front desk to get the cards reset at the end of every day to avoid a 20-30 minute ordeal.

The biggest disappointment was the food. The buffet in the evening had 11 hot trays in it, not very many to start with, but there was never anyone cooking at a food station. When was the last time you went to a buffet and there wasn't someone serving at least a roast or something? Breakfast was marginally better as there would be an egg station. The a la carte restaurants were equally disappointing, food was either undercooked or overcooked. The lunch buffet was the only decent place to eat, they did have a wider variety and people cooking at several food stations.

The pool was not clean, and it was cold until several people complained and then it was warmer. There was a platform in the middle of the pool which you could rest on, the grout in the tiles was black with algae or dirt.

We specifically went to an all-inclusive beach resort in Mexico for the weather and for the convenience of amenities being in one place as my husband was recovering from surgery that left him less mobile than normal. Puerto Vallarta and the weather was wonderful, unfortunately for us the Melia was not, it appeared to us that the hotel was going through cutbacks. From our experience it was overrated and overpriced and we wouldn't recommend this hotel.

PS. Did I mention I gave this trip to my husband for his 50th birthday? (Which he had down there). Guess I should have researched a bit more first :(

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander, mb, canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We are currently still at the Melia luckily we only booked a week vacation. The resort is more family based with screaming kids all over. We have a little guy but left him at home for a reason.. Once we had travelled 7 hours to get to PV we had to wait for 3 hours for our room to be ready. This was very annoying considering we had barley slept and just wanted to shower and rest for a bit. The hallways from our rooms to elevators smell of rank smelling sewer! Once in the elevator which is usually a wait considering their one is broken AGAIN! It also has a little bit of a strange smell to it. The one night we went for supper we had to eat at the mexican buffet outside because the one inside was closed for some reason? It said 5 restraunts when we booked however there is about one or two you can go to open at certain times Also no matter where you eat its the same food which gets old after a week!.. There is one bar open at night which is upstairs so if you are at the entertainment which is very poorly done and lasts only half hour you have to keep taking 5 minutes to go get a drink upstairs.. At night time you will find many people sititng around playing cards because there is nothing to do at the resort. Very disappointed and a very bad first impression for our first warm vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

just returned home from a wonderful vacation at Club Melia. From the moment we checked in untill the time we checked out, we had exellent service. We were a family of four celevbrating my mothers 75th birthday. The girls at the RCI check in Minam, Ale,Bety went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay! Rosy the pool waitress was just like a long lost friend. The bartenders were outstanding Victor and Raymundo treated us like champions! All the waiters in the dining rooms were like family. I wouls strongly recommend this resort to anybody young couples, and even middle age people with families. Thank you club Melia for a wonderful hliday hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josefina T, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We enjoy reading the positives aspects of the hotel. We value your opinion and it inspires us to give a better service.

Thank you for your preference to Club Meliá by Meliá Hotels International, also for the great comments about Bety, Ale, Miriam, Raymundo, Victor and Rosy. We will notice them.

Happy Birthday to your mother! And we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Puerto Vallarta is a paradise for families and couples, where there is something for everyone and where everything is included. A wide variety of snacks and meals, domestic and imported drinks and recreational activities for all ages, spectacular evening shows performed by professional dancers, with a different program every night, and swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpool. The Flintstones have found the perfect place for their holidays: they are staying with your family in one of our first theme hotels: Yabba-Dabba-Doo bazaar, Roca Flash, RocAdventure, Baby Rock Club, Bamm Bamm Club and Cool Club. Let yourself be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Melia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.