We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort to your Saves list
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were attending a wedding of a friend and they recommend this hotel. The stay was very good. We enjoyed the property. Melia is a resort geared more towards family. If your without your kids you may want to stay at other hotels. Service was great. Staff made every effort to make sure the stay was good. Food was average, not the best, but not the worst. The location is good if you are not planning to get off the resort. We were going to downtown everyday so the cost of taxi's adds up. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    685
    336
    146
    113
See reviews for
800
454
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We came here on a United Vacations Package & our expectations were not set too high but, I have to say that the Melia exceeded our expectations & left us with a satisfied experience. Of course satisfaction doesn't come without excellent service of the staff. Giving all the credit to Gaby (management @ the front desk) & Tony (@ Public Relations Desk), we felt very welcome & the both of them went to the EXTREME to make sure we were very happy. I say this because we had several issues arise when we checked in but, they quickly solved them & compensated as well.
The pros: rooms & buildings are kept clean. Food was great(especially the restaurants needing reservations), something for everyone! Service by all the staff was exceptional! Lots of kids activities; rock climbing wall, batting cages, pool games, archery, etc...
The cons: hard pillows, wifi only free in lobby (have to pay for wifi anywhere else on resort), fee for renting coffee maker in room, no hot tubs, pool bar closes early, many mosquito bites( bring repellent!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My 6 year-old daughter and I stayed at the Melia Puerto Vallarta in mid-November for a week. This was our fourth visit to the resort in the past three years and we have not seen a lot of changes, which in the Melia’s case …. is a good thing!

As repeated in other reviews, this would not be my first choice for a romantic couple’s getaway, but it’s definitely the place for young families. That being said, they had a couple of weddings while we were there and everyone I spoke to praised the onsite wedding planner and they were highly recommending ‘Fabiola’.

The kids club is a safe, clean, and caring environment for the kids. The women working there truly care for the kids and ensure that every child is included. It is because of the quality service that these people provide that we continue to recommend the Melia in PV.

As for the facilities…our room was very clean, modern, and comfortable. The restaurant food was average, nothing stands out, but nothing made me run away either. There were specialty restaurants available every night and the staff in the lobby was helpful in making reservations.

The one thing that I felt has improved was the customer service. It seemed that each and every staff member wanted to ensure that we were happy and cared for. Lesson learned…if you need something, just ask before you get frustrated☺

Unfortunately my daughter had to make a visit to the onsite doctor. He conducted a thorough examination and then prescribed medication that got my daughter back on her feet almost immediately. The staff were genuinely concerned and continued to check in with us throughout our stay to see if we needed anything☺ I do NOT blame the illness on the Melia…kids get sick.

I would recommend the Melia PV to families with children 10 and under, and to couples who are not annoyed by having children around. At no point during our stay did I feel that the kids took over the pool or the restaurants.

Based on the high quality of customer service that we received on this past trip and how easy the staff makes your holiday, my family will return to the Melia. We’ve stayed at other resorts in PV and keep coming back to the Melia. Please feel free to message me if you have any questions specific to our experiences at the Melia in PV.

Thank you Melia.

Room Tip: M-Experience rooms are ocean front. Our room was 1907..high corner with two balconies and amazing vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoyed our week at the Melia. The staff was attentive and fantastic. The activity staff provided lots of enthusiastic options for fun filled activities. The aqua aerobics was my favorite and the music they played was great. The evening DJ at the bar should take some lessons from the pool staff.The food is great, there's always something for everybody. Every night there was a different place to eat with a wide variety of food. I am gluten free and it was very easy to eat at all meals. It's a short cab ride to the Malicon and the Maritime Marina. We went with friends and I think it's a fantastic place to vacation for couples, families and friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josefina T, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is a great pleasure to know that our Hotel exceeded your expectations.

We will continue to improve our personnel, service and installations to give you the best experience.

We look forward towards welcoming you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The grounds and hotel were spotless and very nice. We stayed in the Melia Club section and our room was also very nice and kept very clean. No problems there at all. What put the biggest damper on on vacation was that we went with a group of friends and in the evening we would gather in the lobby for drinks before dinner. The problem was it was so hot and humid and no breeze what so ever and the lobby was open air and no ceiling fans. It seriously felt like a oven there. So needless to say one or two drinks was all we could stand, so much for all inclusive when it is the only bar on the resort open in the evenings. Now lets get to the food....None of us are picky eaters but come on, pork every single night in the buffet ? The food was boring and tasteless, we truly had a hard time finding something we liked. We only got to eat at one reservation resturant because every time we went to make reservations they said their computer was down and they wont let you in without reservations. Breakfast was fine, enjoyed that one. Most of our group ended up going to the marina to eat, what a shame.

Now for the pool.....loved the pool, nice and big to float on our air mattresses. The only problem there was the 'pool police'. No eating or drinking in the pool. I can see the part about no drinking, but who doesnt want to sip on a cocktail in the pool on vacation ? And speaking of drinks, you better order a double if you want alcohol in it or you drink beer which is Modello and pretty good beer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josefina T, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
First of all thank you for share your comments and your positive notes. Regarding the food, our chef is working on it to provide a new, varied and best service.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope you can give us the opportunity to have you with us in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I spent my honeymoon here and it was by far the worst service at a hotel I've experienced in Mexico thus far. I've been vacationing in Puerto Vallarta since I was a little kid and this was ridiculous. Nice room. Decent Location and views. Service subpar. Restaurants either not open or not available to eat at. Not up to American service standards.

Room Tip: Not for Honeymooners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josefina T, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
First, I would like to thank you for visiting Melia Puerto Vallarta. Please accept my sincere apologies for not covering your expectations.

Your opinion is very important for us, and you have our commitment, from both the hotel management and all the staff, that all of your comments will be used to improve our services and make sure that all of our customers has a pleasant stay with us.

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at the Melia in October. This was our 3rd visit to the Melia in the last 4 years. There was a much larger group this time. We had 3 rooms. The "M" Family Suite (awesome for a family of 5) an "M" regular suite (only problem is the beds are doubles in this one.....Not big enough they need to increase to Queen) and the third room was a Junior suite (Fabulous room wow). Now let me say this. The management went ABOVE AND BEYOND for our group. We got to know some of the staff quite well in the time we were there. They treated us like family (royal family) Simon and Arturo in Quetzel and LaPalapa were outstanding. Jonathan in Vitrales went so far as to send someone out to a liquor store and get us some Frangelico (just because we asked nice) Amazing service. Patricia in the Executive Office will forever be a friend to all of us. She was a Rock Star. What a great team. What a fantastic holiday. We celebrated our Daughters 18th Birthday while there and the Hotel brought her a cake first thing int he morning to get the festivities started. She had the most memorable day ever. Thanks in part to the Melia Staff and Management!

Room Tip: Choose the "M" Experience SOOOOOO worth the extra few dollars. In non peak times you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josefina T, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you share your comments, We are much honored to receive this type of comment because it encourages the company to keep offering an excellent service and to have our guest completely satisfied.

We look forward towards welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: Paseo De La Marina Sur 7 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Puerto Vallarta is a paradise for families and couples, where there is something for everyone and where everything is included. A wide variety of snacks and meals, domestic and imported drinks and recreational activities for all ages, spectacular evening shows performed by professional dancers, with a different program every night, and swimming pool with children's section and 2 whirlpool. The Flintstones have found the perfect place for their holidays: they are staying with your family in one of our first theme hotels: Yabba-Dabba-Doo bazaar, Roca Flash, RocAdventure, Baby Rock Club, Bamm Bamm Club and Cool Club. Let yourself be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sol Melia Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.